We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jamaican Jill's.”
Review of Buffalo Bill

Buffalo Bill
Ranked #12 of 96 Restaurants in Neath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a family run business with a passion for excellence and amazing food! Nothing is too much for us to do for our customer's happiness. We do not aim to satisfy...we aim to amaze!!!
South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Jamaican Jill's.”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Went to Jamaican Jill's in Neath last night after reading a review in SwanseaLife. How can I put this? If you've been to Jamaica and want to relive the sounds and food of the country or just want to experience the tastes of this fantastic country for the first time, get down to Jamaica Jill's.
We are lucky enough to have been to Jamaica a few times and I can say from experience the food has that authentic taste we love. My wife started with Ackee and salt fish (she just loves this dish) you could tell by her expression after the first mouthful it transported her straight back to Negril. I started with Jerk Chicken wings and they were fantastic. One thing Jill if you read this, it would be nice to have the option for Chef Rasta Colin to really step it up a bit with the Scotch Bonnets if requested lol.
Main meals brought back fond memories of last year. My wife had Jerk Chichen with Plantain, Rice and Peas with extra jerk sauce. She just loved it and I must say she must have had half a chicken on her plate. There was an option for strength of jerk sauce but again would like the hot to have been stepped up a little. Saying that all that was left on her plate was bones lol. As for me, I went for the Curried Goat. OK, I'm guessing some people would turn their noses at the thought of that. All I can say is give it a try its fantastic. This again came with Rice, Peas and Plantain. We were given the option to swap out the Rice and Peas for chips but declined. Again portion sizes were excellent and true to the taste of Jamaica.
Deserts were ice cream with a choice of Rum and Raisin, Coconut, Pineapple and one other that escapes me. Great tastes of the Caribbean. Again Jill a tip for you, you could charge the same but reduce amount to three scoops as after the main meal four scoops was to much (even though I did manage to finish it lol).
To sum up. Great restaurant, great feel of Jamaica, great music and staff. Special thanks to Chef Rasta Colin for transporting us back to our second home away from home. If your looking for a great tasting meal or something from the norm, get yourselves down to Jamaica Jill's for a great night out. One last thing, we learnt last night that the last Friday of each month they have a Steel Band to make that evening out just that bit extra special.
Jill, I will pass on what we talked about to our Daughter as promised. See you again soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ETF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieDavies, Owner at Buffalo Bill, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Wow! What an amazing compliment to hear that our food has the authentic taste of Jamaica! That's exactly what we have worked to achieve as we realise that many ethnic restaurants tend to lose authenticity in an attempt not to alienate locals. We might have compromised on the peppers but we don't want to risk a medical emergency by the food being authentically hot! LOL! Thanks for detailing the reasons for enjoying your night as we couldn't pay for better advertising really! It was an absolute pleasure meeting both of you and we look forward to serving you and yours soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    33
    14
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jamaica Jill's at Buffalo Bill's”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We just arrived on a Saturday night and not much was open in the area for dinner. Were surprised to find Jamaican cuisine but were welcomed in so gave it a go. Really friendly staff found us a table and we both had the spicy jerked chicken. Delicious hot well presented and timely attentive service. Loved it and would recommend it to others looking for something better and more interesting than pub grub.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Owen_and_Katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieDavies, Owner at Buffalo Bill, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thanks for your very generous review. We hope to see you again soon! As always it's such a pleasure to know that our efforts are being rewarded!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, South Wales
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Salt Fish fritters were to die for, Jerk chicken that was hot and tasty but didnt blow my head off and the best peanut ice cream for desert. Jill was the hostess with the mostest. she went out of her way to please. very relaxing atmosphere. dont go here if your in a ruch though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jukes66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieDavies, Owner at Buffalo Bill, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thanks for your very kind words and honest feed back. We do agree that our food doesn't arrive very quickly as our chefs pride themselves on cooking fresh and to order most of delights. We do try to make it easier by having pre-orders for groups when possible. We will continue to work on a quicker service however as our customer's satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us. We are pleased you took the time to feed back and look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wonderful experience”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and i had an amaizing night at jamican jills, the food was very tasty and well presented and plenty of it, my husband and i like to take our time when dining and have a break in between courses, this was no problem , we were able to go upstairs to chill and was shown around by stuart who was only on his 2nd shift, he was very confident talking about the restaurant and said he was looking forward to working there in the future, all the staff were fantastic berni and mark the owners are very passionate about their restaurant and love feed back and ideas from customers.
They even have happy chefs which is unusual, as i have worked with many a chef and this is a bonus for all the staff.
nothing is too much bother for the staff and they are all happy and focused.
Will definately be visiting again in the near future, and look forward to the steel band nights to have a boogie. Wicked place love it .

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ijogsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieDavies, Owner at Buffalo Bill, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
It was so good having you and your husband with us for the evening. We enjoyed serving you and take on board all the positive comments! See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Lovely atmosphere great food lovely owners and staff. The best bit is the back of the restaurant which has a Jamaican theme really different and value for money

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 765kelJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffalo Bill also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Neath, Neath Port Talbot
 
Neath, Neath Port Talbot
Neath, Neath Port Talbot
 

Been to Buffalo Bill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing