We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected to find!”
Review of The BlueBell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The BlueBell Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Neath
Certificate of Excellence
Folkestone, Kent
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not what I expected to find!”
Reviewed July 23, 2010

As much as I love Neath, I must admit - it's not the first place I'd imagine to find a classy, comfortable, fully featured yet reasonably priced hotel like the Bluebell!

Room was clean tidy and spacious - and despite being on a noisy road we didn't hear a thing from outside (or neighbouring rooms).... bed was so comfortable we were looking for the mattress brand name - shower was lovely.... while fast internet as standard and full cooked breakfast (with choice of continental) was the icing on the cake.

Really, I can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard_East
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    88
    22
    9
    8
See reviews for
53
140
8
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

This hotel is probably the best I have stayed in, although the location is not ideal. From check in to departure the service was excellent. The breakfast sets you up for the day, so much choice and all very good quality. The rooms are very modern and the hotel is quiet at night, even given that we overlooked the main Swansea to London railway line. Easy access to the railway and the M4.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreeandEasy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2010

The Bluebell Hotel really stands out in Neath for it's luxurious surroundings and excellent food. It's a gem! Right from booking in with Sam on reception through to evening meal and breakfast the staff were very helpful and friendly. The evening meal was delicious, no menu just walk up to the counter and choose your piece of meat, fish or whatever takes your fancy. Very varied menu and caters well for vegetarians and special diets. good wine list and again service from the Spanish waiter was attentive.
The rooms ........... well what can I say! They were fantastic. We had booked a twin room (Room 302) as it was the only one offered by Laterooms but the beds were pushed together to form a very comfortable six foot bed and there was also a double sofa bed made up as they thought we were bringing two children. Even with the bed up there was loads of room and it would be ideal for a family. The bathroom had a separate bath and shower and all furnishings in both bedroom and bathroom were of a high quality, as were the linen and towels. They supply a ironing board as well which is always useful. Although I was there for leisure my husband had to work from 11am and as breakfast finished at 10 am it was ideal. We'll certainly be revisiting. It made a pleasant chnage from the normal hotel chains and if anything the photos on the website don't do it justice. Just one thing ..... we drove past it twice and had to go back round the one way system. Easiest way to find it is to go past the railway station on the one way system then there is a row of shops and takeaways and it's the first sharp left and the hotel is in front of you with the small car park to it's left. Don't miss this gem if staying in the area!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Folksinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

A very modern hotel in a very old town. Staff efficient and friendly, room and public rooms bright and very clean. Food very very good and chosen from a deli-type display and cooked to order in a kitchen you can see for yourself.

Railway line very close by but rooms air-conditioned so closed windows limit the noise.

A very good experience all round

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fisher-and-friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath - South Wales!
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Me and my partner have stayed @ this hotel 3+ times and have eaten here several times!
The rooms are modern with all the facilities you expect of a 4 star hotel! Beds comfortable and bathrooms big.........the best of the rooms are the superior as there is a seperate shower (which is big). The shower output itsnt the best but hey ho!!
The restaurant is lovely, we have eaten there endless times and will keep going back, the staff, food, and wine are 5*+!! the menu isnt the largest but its sufficient.
The only downside is he weird parking......they say theres underground parkin, there is.... but -as you go underground your suddenly hit with only 3 parking spaces!! There is a big car park close by for a quid so not too bad.
I would recommend staying here or eating here!! thanks bluebell :)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h0lidayfreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed her on New Year's eve and really liked this hotel. Our room was huge and tastefully decorated, and we loved the finishing touches. Service was excellent, and the breakfast the next morning was excellent. This was really good value for money and I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2010

Limited parking, small outside area and small underground. Trendy boutique feel, carvery-ish restaurant that served ostrich. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flourite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neath
0.0 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 3 in Neath
250 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
4.8 mi away
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
985 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Dillwyn Arms Hotel
The Dillwyn Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pontardawe
48 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Towers Hotel & Spa
The Towers Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Jersey Marine
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The BlueBell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The BlueBell Hotel

Property: The BlueBell Hotel
Address: 14 The Parade, Neath SA11 1RA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Neath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Neath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The BlueBell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acquaint yourself with the Bluebell, Neath's only four-star boutique hotel, located in the heart of the town centre, within walking distance of the town’s key amenities and attractions. Our hotel is perfectly situated for exploring the stunning Neath Valleys, with its many scenic walks, and celebrated waterfalls. The hotel offers guests excellent hotel accommodation, superb dining facilities and secured on-site parking. The Bluebell Hotel is the perfect choice for those looking for something a little bit special in which to celebrate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The BlueBell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebell Hotel Neath
The BlueBell Hotel Neath, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing