We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely surprise”
Review of The BlueBell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The BlueBell Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Neath
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Bluebell in Neath after a day of canyoning in the Brecon Beacons: Smart, clean room; great cooked breakfast; tasty meal in La Mancha restaurant; really friendly staff, and comfy bed and lovely bath (much needed)!

Room Tip: Hotel parking was a bit limited, so might be worth calling hotel to see if you can pre-reserve a spo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma_and_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    88
    22
    9
    8
See reviews for
53
140
8
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were visiting family in the Neath area and needed somewhere central. This hotel is just down from the railway station and we thought that could be a problem but the bed was so comfy that after the train around 11 pm we never heard a thing. The staff were all very welcoming and friendly and the room was clean and modern with good quality fittings. The breakfast was served in the restaurant and was lovely, as were the surroundings. Would definitely stay here again. Just one drawback is the very small car parks (one at the side and one underneath) but there is on street parking which we had to use but we had no trouble.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back. We had room 203
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We booked with The Bluebell Hotel in Neath as it was the only hotel within the Swansea / Mumbles area which would accommodate the large group we were travelling with, 12 people. The hotel photos are a good representation of the hotel, the rooms were very nice and the beds comfortable. All of the staff were exceptional (including those working on reception, in the bar and the restaurant), very accommodating, friendly, helpful and very attentive. Upon arrival, very late Friday night, we were a little shocked by the area in which the hotel is based. Neath late on a Friday night is not to everybody's tastes. It was very busy with a lot of drunken antics, however once inside the comfort of the hotel the noise was blocked out and we had the option of staying in our own bar rather than venturing out into the Friday night chaos. One of the great benefits of this hotel is the 24hour bar for use by patrons of the Hotel. We all enjoyed the food and drinks which were available, all of which were served with great customer service. If you are planning on staying at the weekend we would definitely recommend getting there early as there is very limited car parking outside and very limited underground parking in the hotels basement. Parking is allocated on a first come first served basis and parking outside on the roadside with all the drunken chaos was less than desirable. The staff were very accommodating and moved cars around so we could fit ours in and also allowed us to reserve spaces for the next day. Although Neath was a shock to the system arriving when we did, in the morning it was a very different place, tidy and quiet. Also the Saturday night was equally quiet and we were informed by the locals that it tends only to be the Friday nights which are a little hectic. The Hotel is a great base to explore the surrounding areas but there isn’t a great deal in Neath itself.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordMrB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel but the nightclub a few doors up plays incredibly loud music until midnight at the weekends. I would love to recommend this hotel but would not advise anyone to stay on Friday, Saturday or Sunday nights. If the managers of the hotel read this you must get on to the council to put audio limiters on the night club PA system.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calculatedrisk0359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have stayed at the Blue Bell on many occasions while visiting from Australia, and its one we always remember, the rooms, the breakfast,and the evening meals are all top class. This hotel compliments the lovely town of Neath, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting South Wales.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffmorgan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

A lovely hotel with very helpful staff,situated in Neath town centre ideal for train station,shops,bars and restaurant. room was huge with a comfy bed,and all mod cons.bathroom was lovely spacious with a lovely shower, breakfast was great they even had a vegetarian option, which was very tasty, i would highly recommend this hotel for location and also convinience and good value for money.only negitive is the car parking which is too the side and very small or the underground parking!! which you have to reverse into!! we arrived back late which meant having to leave the key with reception in case it had to be moved, which it did, but was fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as room overlooking the front of the hotel can be subjected to noise from local...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed for a night for my Wedding Anniversary.

The hotel is right in the centre / main Parade in Neath about 100m from the train station.
Reception was really friendly as were all the staff I spoke to.

The room was amazing!! Comfy bed, large seating area TV and all the usual facilities. The bathroom was superb with a good shower and a separate bath with TV , not my thing but the wife was taken by it!. Everything was spotless throughout the whole hotel.

The only thing that could be improved would be to put blinds on the Velux roof windows, a small gripe for what is an excellent hotel.

Definitely will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigsy116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neath
0.0 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 3 in Neath
253 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
4.8 mi away
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#5 of 22 in Swansea
987 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Towers Hotel & Spa
The Towers Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Jersey Marine
609 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#4 of 22 in Swansea
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The BlueBell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The BlueBell Hotel

Property: The BlueBell Hotel
Address: 14 The Parade, Neath SA11 1RA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Neath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Neath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The BlueBell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acquaint yourself with the Bluebell, Neath's only four-star boutique hotel, located in the heart of the town centre, within walking distance of the town’s key amenities and attractions. Our hotel is perfectly situated for exploring the stunning Neath Valleys, with its many scenic walks, and celebrated waterfalls. The hotel offers guests excellent hotel accommodation, superb dining facilities and secured on-site parking. The Bluebell Hotel is the perfect choice for those looking for something a little bit special in which to celebrate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The BlueBell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebell Hotel Neath
The BlueBell Hotel Neath, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing