We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find..”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Neath
Reviewed August 18, 2014

As we were travelling from London to Glasgow, we wanted to experience as much as we could and this village was the find of our trip.... As was this hotel.
When we go back over our holidays, Neath is the first place that comes up.
This hotel, while looking a bit older from the front seems to have gone thru some reno's.
Walking in it has an antique feeling to it but when you get to your room, it is all modern.
Getting to and from the room is fun as the hallways are like a rabbit warren.... But so much fun...
Except for the multitude of stairs.
Brekky was delicious as was our meal in the restaurant the night before.
Bar is warm and friendly and a great place to meet the locals or you can sit out the front of the hotel and watch the world go by.
Room is warm, inviting and very airy.
Village has many stores to keep the shopaholic busy. Also, there is a great little mall that has some quirky stalls.
Being a pub, it can be quite noisy at night.

Room Tip: Getting up and down the stairs can be difficult so if you have any knee issues, request a bed close...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank nannynofriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
There are newer reviews for Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 261 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

This is an old coaching hotel with a lovely wood panelled foyer and large bar. There is a secure car park and large lock up for cyclists. Rooms have very large bathrooms with fast flowing hot water. The outside area catches the last of the sun and is a great place to people watch.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Castle Hotel. Our room was not very big but was adequate and very clean. We have had smaller rooms in NYC that cost much more. The first night there was a problem with the shower but the problem was taken care of while we were at dinner. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We had dinner both nights at Green’s downstairs and found it to be a good value. Our only complaint would be that our room (room #8) window opened near the fan for the kitchen below and it was a bit noisy, but it did get turned off about 9:30 so sleeping was not a problem. We would stay here again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: room 8 is noisy when the kitchen fan is running.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Had my wedding here on the 2nd August what can i say the staff could not be anymore friendly food was fab I would like to say thanks to ceri Anne our wedding planner she is a credit to the hotel even when there was a couple of issues with the rooms they have felt with this since and all parties are now happy with the outcome only thing I felt could advise on improving is the heat of the rooms but apart from that myself and my wife were very happy of the service thanks again to all staff involved

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danthornhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I organised a get together for 14 for mountain biking at Afan Forst. The Castle Hotel is a good spot to stay for Afan, it is close to Swansea for a big night out, or you can just have a beer in Neath with the fairly friendly locals. They have a garage for all your bikes too.

Beer and food at the hotel are good value and if you have a good sized group you will get a deal on the room rate.

Good, friendly, clean hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GuyJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

I came for Sunday lunch now 2 weeks in a row whilst the food is of good quality the service is appalling the restaurant staff need training PROPERLY at least know what starters are on offer before you get to the table

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alijoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I booked for the ale festival and this was the nearest hotel with parking. Car park is about 100yds from the hotel, but there is limited on street parking for dropping your bags. Hotel is poor on accessibility, no lifts and steps everywhere.
Room decor is dated and could do with refreshing, I saw two rooms (first was unsuitable due to access, despite my having made my needs clear when booking) both of which had cracked and grubby tilework. The second room was more suitable but had not been adequately cleaned, there were drinks stains on the bedside tables and long hairs stuck to them! More long hairs in the basin. The shower was poorly designed, only a tall person can lift the head off the non-adjustable fitting, this is important when trying to turn on/adjust temperature.
The bed was large, clean and very comfortable. Windows ok, except one is right by some kind of extractor system which is noisy and limits fresh air (not great in hot temperatures).
I didn't eat at the hotel, breakfast at £9 was too much and there were plenty of nearby alternatives (NRG Cafe is great)
Some staff were very helpful, especially duty manager Gary who was exceptional.
Prices vary so it is worth discussing when booking. I had seen £54 but when I rang they wanted £84 (no way) however they accepted the rate I'd seen advertised.
Overall, the stay was ok and mostly acceptable for the price apart from the cleaning issues for which there was no excuse.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank budgetstayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neath
0.0 mi away
The BlueBell Hotel
The BlueBell Hotel
#1 of 3 in Neath
318 reviews
4.8 mi away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Port Talbot
498 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Towers Hotel & Spa
The Towers Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Jersey Marine
625 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
8.2 mi away
Travelodge Swansea M4
Travelodge Swansea M4
#10 of 22 in Swansea
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: The Parade, Neath SA11 1RB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Neath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Neath
Price Range: $87 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Neath, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing