We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centre of Town”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Neath
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in July. The room was positioned at the back of the hotel which was quite apart from the bar staff deciding to put the evenings bottles into the rubbish bin after the bar closed, this woke me up. The room I stayed in was number 3 the mattress was very hard, it was like sleeping on a plank of wood, in fact, I actually dreamt I was sleeping on a plank of wood; I awoke in the morning after my dream and checked to see if it was a 'plank of wood' incredibly it was a mattress I was sleeping on, strange dream. The room needs modernising, the bathroom shower was a challenge, if you stay in the room you'll understand what I'm talking about, needs upgrading.

I Intended to have breakfast at the hotel but decided against it after seeing what was on display, and the cost way to expensive. I paid only £5.00 for a full English with coffee at a local cafe opposite the bus garage, excellent value.

Would I stay at this hotel again, probably, the parking was a bonus. The reception and bar staff were friendly and polite.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariox1us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 273 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

stayed here last Saturday night . very old world hotel staff very friendly which makes you ignore the little thing
Had dinner and the food was excellent the only bad point is the cleanness it really could do improvement it lets it down as it has old world hotel with lots of offer and this is the only down side

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed for one night whilst working in Swansea.

Really friendly staff in reception and bar. Good food and welcoming environment.

Rooms were a good size and clean.

Like the old furniture and the old fashioned stairways, lovely character.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

A lovely looking frontage in an unlovely street. The staff were welcoming and friendly, and the lock-up parking for my motorbike was a really nice touch. Once in the room, we were fairly pleased, it was clean and nicely decorated. The window was a bit small and the view was a flat roof and walls. For dinner, the bar and restaurant area looked homely and pleasant, but the menu looked uninspiring: please read my review of La Mancha. Into the night, the pillows had all the firmness of hand towels, but the mattress was nice and comfortable - something that I struggle with sometimes at hotels. The noise from fans or aircon units was constant though, and spoiled it somewhat. Don't take room 11 !! Breakfast was ok, but not particularly good value at an extra £7.50. Overall, I've stayed at a lot worse, it's clean and welcoming , but nothing to shout home about.

Room Tip: The Ambassador opposite has loud music so be wary of front rooms. Room 11 suffers from air con unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruudsking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Booked online at the last minute and ended up in the bridal suite (alone, sadly) due to this. Lovely room with great amenities, well appointed bathroom, and Greens restaurant/bar within the hotel provided great value food and drink, served by courteous very pleasant staff. Overall, a great experience and terrific value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreyWelshWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

had a lovely couple of days there. hotel staff were so lovely and polite. really friendly atmosphere. food was amazing. very clean and tidy. beds were soooo comfy actually got some decent sleep as i suffer with insomnia. definately coming back for our anniversary. :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k5ls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Ceriann and her staff did an excellent job at looking after us for our wedding day ,June 22 2013. She took the stress out of the planning and organization of everything .fabulous job.thank you very much ! Hotel is a perfect place for an all day wedding/reception/evening do.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wedding2262013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neath
0.0 mi away
The BlueBell Hotel
The BlueBell Hotel
#1 of 3 in Neath
324 reviews
4.8 mi away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Port Talbot
514 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Towers Hotel & Spa
The Towers Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Jersey Marine
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
4.9 mi away
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
5.0 mi away
No photo provided
Dynevor Arms
#2 of 4 in Pontardawe
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: The Parade, Neath SA11 1RB, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Neath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Neath
Price Range: $85 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Neath, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing