We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a little TLC required”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Neath
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The Castle Hotel is very nice and with just a little attention it could be first class. My room smelt fusty on entering although it was very clean indeed. The wallpaper was lifting on the seams, and just a little effort could make all the difference. On the landings the paintwork was damaged by trolleys etc, a pot of paint and a little time would upgrade with little investment. Although overall a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the main street and was still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewAndDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 273 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

I booked this hotel last minute on the internet, as it was conveniently located to where we were going. I phoned ahead to see what time we could book in and was pleasantly surprized, that we could book in @ 1pm. Everywhere else I have been the earliest has been 3pm. The staff were courteus and attentive, a great team. when we accesses our room it had twin beds and I had booked a double but it was sorted out within 5 mins. The room was cosy, clean and well furnished and we did not have to check out until12am. This was another bonus and the price was very good @ £49 for the night.

Room Tip: the rooms we had were excellent the first one ( except for twin beds) and the second even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

our sons wedding was held here april 2012, we cannot thank the staff enough for their friendliness and hospitality, nothing was too much trouble. the room was set out perfect, food freshly cooked, hot and plenty of it :). the room was quickly changed to accomodate the evening party and a lovely buffet followed. we hired a few bedrooms and they were all very clean and comfortable, followed by a lovely breakfast the following day.. i would fully recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank di-swansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I have stayed in the Castle Hotel many times and always look forward to returning due to it's great location, food and friendly service. Our latest visit was at the end of May 2012 when a group of 10 of us booked in to attend a wedding evening party at a different venue. The staff were very helpful in arranging us two extra rooms which we had to book at last minute, even though they were very busy, and went out of their way to arrange us transportation to and from the wedding venue. They even set a table for 10 of us at breakfast without us even having to ask. Breakfast was excellent, with locally sourced ingredients. As usual all staff were friendly and helpful, and the rooms were very good at a competitive rate.

The main reception, bar and restaurant areas are extremely well presented and give a real sense of the character of this historic town centre hotel. If you didn't already know the Welsh Rugby Union was founded in the hotel over 130 years ago.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bud-cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Work related trip took us to Neath so it was a few drinks with colleagues food and head down before starting next day.

Reception: Excellent friendly reception by 'Tina', made sure all was in order for us and very helpful in giving directions for the next day, unusual for a female ;-)
Penblwydd Hapus by the way.

Room: Clean, large, very basic room & bathroom. Usual bits and a big wall mounted flat screen tv.

Food: Only had breakfast the following morning, decent clean and tasty. No issues, Sorted!
Green's Restaurant in the hotel was shut on the Sunday night so meals served in bar. However due to a few beers we ended up eating while out...had a pint at a bar/mediterranean restaurant as last stop before returning to Castle Hotel. The wall mounted food award, interior & menu lured us into staying for food. Food came out looking good...HOWEVER, a child could have produced what we had, anyway that's for another review.
If we need to return next time, from what we experienced looking around town, and having eaten in some apparently 'Best of Swansea' mediterranean not a 100yds away, we would eat in Green's at the Castle Hotel.

Bar: Nice little bar area, open 24hrs to residents. Has that 'old boys club' looking around. couple of stairs drop down into 'Greens' Restaurant.

Staff: Nothing too much from what we saw. Nice people.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blacksheep-Gourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I needed a room for one night only. I booked late in the afternoon and chose the hotel primarily because it had a 24 hour reception and was with in budget.

I arrived at 1.00am and the reception was excellent. The room was 1st Class and the breakfast was to die for!

I will definitely stay at the Castle again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

After having our sons wedding at the Hotel we have kept in touch with Ceri-Anne and the staff. We have used the hotel for our monthly get togethers for Sunday Lunch. Our groups have varied from 24 to the last one on Sunday being 71 so I think that will tell you how much everyone enjoys the food and service.

The food has always been first class, plenty of choice and reasonably priced.

The staff have always been very helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. We have had our own room and have been able to stay as long as we want.

This is an ideal hotel for all your get togethers - knowing that all will be organised well.

I would like to thank Ceri-Anne and all her staff and we will certainly be back again.

Room Tip: Can't comment on the bedrooms as haven't slept at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janlangton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle H, Owner at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is always a pleasure to have you and we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neath
0.0 mi away
The BlueBell Hotel
The BlueBell Hotel
#1 of 3 in Neath
324 reviews
4.8 mi away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Port Talbot
514 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Towers Hotel & Spa
The Towers Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Jersey Marine
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
4.9 mi away
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
5.0 mi away
No photo provided
Dynevor Arms
#2 of 4 in Pontardawe
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: The Parade, Neath SA11 1RB, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Neath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Neath
Price Range: $85 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Neath, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing