We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An over night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Aberdare Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cwmbach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We made a quick trip to Aberdare and needed to stay for the night. The reception staff were friendly and informative and the room was clean with a comfortable bed. Great value for money. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamSq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 259 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

This Premier Inn was average, but does require some improvement/refurbishment to be excellent. In particular the heating system appeared to require a service as it was very noisy with gurgling and other sounds whilst in operation. The gurgling was not constant but was annoying. In addition the light was very dim when I first went into the room.

The receptionist changed the lamp and the light output was much better after this (the original lamp was clearly failing). We discussed the heater issue and the management were to look into this. Hopefully it has now been fixed for future guests.

The location of the hotel was ideal for me, and the bed was comfortable. The soap dispenser over the bath/shower did not work very well at all, but this seems to be a common problem across all Premier Inns (usually either the bath/shower or sink dispenser is poor) - perhaps the design should be reviewed?

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, and the free car parking and 24 hour access was ideal for me.

I did not eat at the adjacent restaurant so cannot comment on its quality or service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idleauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at the Premier inn out of choice as we have stayed in them before and have always found them comfortable and friendly places. this time it was an even special as we were stopping off here to visit family on our way to the canaries, and my wife had a flare up of an old back problem, the day staff imediatley contacted a doctor who was able to prescribe medicine that controled the problem and we were able to travel on. If she had not proveded that service we would have had to cancell our holiday, I'm only sorry that I did not get that member of staff's name, but I did get Lauren's name as she made our early morning departure very easy. There was a heavy frost and she was out defrosting my car making sure it was safe for us to travel, top marks all around, so yes 'WHAT IF'. we will definatley stay again

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffrey64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We were attending a family wedding locally so stayed here for convenience. We took room only as we had family nearby. The room was very large as we were in a disabled room and no one in a wheelchair would have problems getting around it. The staff were more than helpful and we were very impressed by the fact that when we inadvertently left the key in the door the second night security removed it to reception and pushed a note under our door so we wouldn't think we'd lost it. There is secure chain lock inside so nobody would have been able to walk in but it was very reassuring to know there were security checks especially as we are seniors. It was very convenient to town and family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kath4989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at the premier Inn Aberdare in September and found it most clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful with printing maps etc if required. Good check out times. A typical PI of course but a great spot to use as a base to explore South Wales and the Brecon Beacons.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

very friendly hotel, situated a mile from my daughters house. Ideally located to meet them & my grand sons & son. The hotel is very friendly, well situated off the main road so noise is pretty good. Hotel staff could not be more helpful. Look forward to next trip

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

The staff are great, the rooms are spotless, the price is half the amount of the other hotels in the area and much better value. They do offer breakfast and you can book a table to have a meal next door. The checkout time is the most reasonable of all the hotels in Aberdare (12:00)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraftyMoomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cwmbach
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
#1 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
330 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
7.2 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Tregenna Hotel
Tregenna Hotel
#2 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
115 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bessemer Hotel
Bessemer Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dowlais
143 reviews
7.0 mi away
Llechwen Hall Hotel
Llechwen Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Pontypridd
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Aberdare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Aberdare Hotel

Address: Ffordd Tirwaun | Riverside Retail Park, Cwmbach, Aberdare CF44 0AH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Rhondda Cynon Taf > Aberdare > Cwmbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cwmbach
Price Range: $61 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Aberdare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walking, waterfalls and whisky... The Premier Inn Hotel Aberdare has all the ingredients for a fabulous Welsh getaway. You're just 40 minutes from Brecon Beacons National Park or an easy 35 minutes from central Cardiff. Tackle the legendary Pen-y-fan horseshoe or watch tackles fly at the Millennium Stadium. Chill out in the beautiful National Park before warming up with a shot of Penderyn's award-winning single malt. Then return to our tasty Brewers Fayre restaurant and deliciously comfy beds. Leave the M4 J32 at the roundabout take the 5th exit onto the A470 signed posted Merthyr Tydfil. After appox 10 miles take the A4059 signed posted Aberdare, continue over the roundabout and at the next roundabout take the 3rd exit onto Fffordd Tirwaun (signed posted Riverside Retail Park), the hotel is on the retail park. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: CF44 0AH Hotel Parking: Free on-site parking is available at this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Aberdare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing