We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Premier Inn, Aberdare”

Premier Inn Aberdare Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Aberdare Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cwmbach
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Premier Inn, Aberdare”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

A nice little Premier Inn Motel(?) in a lovely part of South Wales. Accommodation was everything you would expect from a Premier Inn (standard box), but very comfortable. The attached Brewers Fayre provided a reasonable evening meal and a fabulous cooked (to order) breakfast. WiFi was expensive, so used 3G on my phone instead, although the attached Brewers Fayre offered unlimited free WiFi.

Room Tip: A room to the back of the Motel is a better bet, as the nearby road can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Anderson_1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    81
    21
    6
    1
See reviews for
80
79
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Recently stayed at the Premier Inn, Aberdare for a long weekend. I wasn't expecting much just a comfortable bed for a couple of nights. What a pleasant surprise, we received a very warm welcome, the staff were friendly, helpful and very willing to give advice on the surrounding area. The rooms were maintained to a high standard and very clean. The booking was perfect and we had a super stay. The only downside was the torrential rain on the first day, not that the staff could have helped with that. The location was very good, providing easy access to some beautiful areas of Wales. Also the Whisky Distillery at Penderyn is close by and well worth a visit (advance booking recommended. An excellent short break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayfa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2012

PI is a budget chain and pretty much you know what to expect. Aberdare (South Wales) provided the usual reassuringly bland good service that is perfect when all you need is a nice quiet room.

However I found the price per night quite high given the location, and i'd expect such a price in a mid-large city, not 'the sticks'. The room was lovely and clean (aside from a couple of dark patches on the sofa) and appeared quite new. The bathromm and furnishings were well appointed and lacked the all too common 'well worn' look of these chains. I didn't find an iron/ironing board though. I was on a liesure trip so no worries, but it would have been an issue if on a work trip. There wasn't a TV option for pay per view films either, so i was stuck with a limited selection of TV. Not a real problem as i was rarely in the room. Lacking any wifi i can't comment on the wifi provisions, but my companions in other rooms seemed to have no trouble.

The location/immediate area was nice and quiet, being adjacent to what appeared to be a rather run down mini retail park. This provided local a supermarket and fuel which was handy.

Next door was the usual restaurant/pub that was perfectly servicable and provided standard fare breakfasts and a decent evening pint. I didn't dine there other than at breakfast so can't comment, however we were advised to book a place n saturday night as it gets busy. I returned from elsewhere at 10pm on the saturday and the place was perfectly quiet, with just the right amount of patrons to give an atmosphere but no problem finding a table.

I'm not a big breakfast eater and partook of a simple fired egg on toast, cuppa and orange juice, which set me back a whopping £5.95. My companions however, took far more food for the same price so it seems you pay a flat breakfast rate - my advice is eat as much as possible to get your money's worth!

Oh and the carpark was very good even for very large cars and 4X4s.

One thing I would say to the negative isn't specifically about the Aberdare PI, but the local area in general. Its very 'run down' and while the staff were perfectly professional, polite, and pleasant (and i certainly have no complaints with them), there is a definate 'anti-English' atmosphere to the whole area. So if you're English, be careful who you talk to. The staff were certainly fine we me, but other locals I encountered were less so, and I quietly left at least one local establishment due to the 'prickly' feeling from the other patrons.

Overall, Aberdare will give you exactly what you expect from a PI hotel - unobtrusive and polite services, a good clean room, perfectly acceptable restaurant services, and a nice quite night's sleep with minimal fuss and bother.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carathras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

The hotel offers excellent value for money. The rooms were well maintained, clean and comfortable. The ladies at reception were very helpful and efficient. Premier Inn's sufficiently fast free wi-fi for 30 minutes + £3 for 24 hours was much appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanineTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

An easy scenario you would think. A friend of mine is doing a 600 mile cycle ride for a cancer charity and my contribution was to pay for one of her overnight stops. I have a Premier Inn account and made the booking and labelled it with my friends name. They even phoned me from the hotel to see if we needed a table reserved in the restaurant. Simple enough you'd think but oh no when she gets there she is asked to pay as she is not the person paying the bill. Could they phone me to confirm oh no that's not possible, although it was possible to phone me about a table reservation. To make matters worse i have now tried to phone Premier Inn's customer service department 3 times but of course they don't work weekends (although you can make bookings on the phone) and 2 tries today but can't get through. Typical faceless corporate nonsense where they put enough resources behind taking your money but little behind sorting out a problem. I don't suppose they will volunteer to apologise to my friend for giving her hassle when she is trying to raise money for charity.

Room Tip: Holiday Inn ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Aberdare Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel.

At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion you were treated rudely even before booking. Your experience was far below our usual high standards, but be assured that the incident will be investigated to ensure it does not happen again.

Thank you again for your review; we sincerely hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Friendly staff, clean rooms, plenty of parking, good value for money.
Stress free easy stay in a good location, pub & kfc next door!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth1981_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We booked to stay at the Premier Inn, Aberdare to stay overnight for a family celebration. On arrival the reception staff were extremely helpiful. We had booked a family room - on previous occasions (staying at Travelodges ) the third bed (sofa bed) has rarely been made up so it was a nice surprise to find it already made up. The little extras, shower gel/shampoo and liquid soap in the bathroom were unexpected for this type of accommodation. Also didn't expect air conditioning. Bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean. Have never stayed in a Premier Inn before and would definitely recommend over Travelodge given the choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cwmbach
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
#1 of 1 in Pentrebach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
10.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ebbw Vale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
Tregenna Hotel
Tregenna Hotel
#2 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
3.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bessemer Hotel
Bessemer Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dowlais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Aberdare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Aberdare Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Aberdare Hotel
Address: Ffordd Tirwaun | Riverside Retail Park, Cwmbach, Aberdare CF44 0AH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Rhondda Cynon Taf > Aberdare > Cwmbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cwmbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Aberdare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walking, waterfalls and whisky... The Premier Inn Hotel Aberdare has all the ingredients for a fabulous Welsh getaway. You're just 40 minutes from Brecon Beacons National Park or an easy 35 minutes from central Cardiff. Tackle the legendary Pen-y-fan horseshoe or watch tackles fly at the Millennium Stadium. Chill out in the beautiful National Park before warming up with a shot of Penderyn's award-winning single malt. Then return to our tasty Brewers Fayre restaurant and deliciously comfy beds. Leave the M4 J32 at the roundabout take the 5th exit onto the A470 signed posted Merthyr Tydfil. After appox 10 miles take the A4059 signed posted Aberdare, continue over the roundabout and at the next roundabout take the 3rd exit onto Fffordd Tirwaun (signed posted Riverside Retail Park), the hotel is on the retail park. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: CF44 0AH Hotel Parking: Free on-site parking is available at this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Aberdare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing