We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Shirenewton, Monmouthshire, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lucy S
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed August 18, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

What an absolutely wonderful and idyllic place to stay. The Shepherd's Hut is immaculate, in a wonderful location with fantastic views. Sharon looks after guests and goes above and beyond. Arriving to a welcome pack, a jar of sweets and love hearts, all of the hidden extras make this an absolutely fantastic place to stay. The Shepherd's Hut is warm and comfortable, the shower is brilliant and the bed so comfortable with the most luxurious bedding. We booked an extra night and will definitely be returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2017
Thank you for a wonderful review! I'm so pleased you Richard and Henry four paws enjoyed your stay! Brilliant guests who made the most of your stay and you left the hut immaculate and even went the extra mile and brought the bedding and towels down to the cottage! Hope to see you all again soon !!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicolaoke...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect peaceful sanctuary”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend away at the little idyll. Sharon was the prefect host and the hut was beautiful with great little features and touches like the welcome hamper. The hut was so peaceful and with absolutely amazing views especially at sunset across the Severn Estuary in the distance. There are some lovely walks on footpaths directly from the hut which took us to nearby Shirenewton and the welcoming Tredegar Arms. We also enjoyed wanders around the sites and shops of local Usk and Monmouth towns. The friendly furry neighbours (Alpacas and a pony) were great.

We would thoroughly recommend this property for couples looking for a peaceful break away with luxurious glamping in a gorgeous setting.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review you were the perfect guests and thank you for leaving the hut immaculate. I'm so pleased you ventured out by foot and found your way to the Tredegar arms. Hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradclark...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect cosy weekend away”
Reviewed July 31, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

It rained all weekend...but couldn't think of a more perfect setting to spend it. Hut is a little trek from where you leave the car, especially if it's been raining, but Sharon was lovely and offered us a lift in the Land Rover as we had the little one with us.

The hut is beautiful and compact, we spent the weekend away with our 5 month old in a travel cot, it was JUST about manageable but hut really meant for 2 people. Beautifully decorated and kitted out inside.

Didn't manage to get to use the wood burner as it was actually quite warm in the evenings, but did sit outside until the mornings with a cuppa when the sun was shining.

Only addition I'd suggest would be some sort of small awning outside meaning you could sit and relax outside, even when raining.

We all had such a lovely weekend, thank you so much!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2017
Thank you. It was lovely meeting you all and glad I was able to get you up to the hut in the horrendous rain.
I have been thinking of some sort of outdoor cover for rainy weather and will now step ahead on this idea. Hope to see you in the winter when you can cosy up with the wood burner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilliamD1...
1 review
“Recommended”
Reviewed July 15, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Booked two nights with fiancee, Sharon & Lee are a fantastic couple, always willing to help. Breakfasts were really, REALLY tasty! Worth the extra to get this. The hut itself was very cosy. Had an amazing sleep due to the silence at night. Would definitely recommend to others as much as possible. Must book again sometime. Thank you so much Sharon & Lee. Perfect hosts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. We are really pleased you both enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed the fire pit at night. We hope and look forward to seeing you both again. Thanks Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debs589
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The perfect retreat”
Reviewed July 7, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Stayed for 1 night in this beautiful little shepherds hut and instantly felt like we entered some peaceful inner sanctuary. Perfect evening spent outside around the firepit with lights twinkling and a full moon overhead. The bed was so comfy and snug we slept through till about 5 am to watch the sunrise over the magnificent views of the Wye Valley. Early morning the bbq was revved up and breakfast out on the patio watching the alpacas and Mary the pony grazing peacefully.
The hut itself had all mod cons and was so well thought out you felt that you were in a compact bijou hotel. A big thank you to our hosts Sharon and leigh for all the thought and consideration to make our stay very memorable.we will definitely be booking again. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review! We hope to see you both again x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing