We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite pub restaurant locally”
Review of The Old Ferry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Ferry Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Beachley B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We are regular diners at the Old Ferry Inn, and have never been disappointed with the food, or the service. Michelin starred dining it is not, but if you want an honest meal in delightful surroundings with a beautiful view, you can't go wrong. I especially recommend any fish dishes from the daily specials board - the last time I was there, the sea bass was stupendous. The Inn has an olde worlde charm: a friendly homely feel despite the large size of the dining area. Try & book a table by the windows.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank cwtchkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 62 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

Lovely pub,with excellent views of the River Severn.Arrived at 5pm after a wedding(Saturday).the bar was empty.The bar prices are very expensive nearly £5 for a glass of wine and a pint £3+.Booked into the room with en-suite no shower but had a bath, no shower.The basin was in the bedroom.We didnt eat at dinner,but had breakfast again disappointing full english only small portions and no fruit juice.Could be so much better oh and finally I thought it was quite expensive for what you got.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pegasus1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Arrived for lunch on a Friday lunchtime,ordered drinks and sat down to read the menu.The menu was very limited with only a small selection of main meals which seemed to be very expensive for an establishment of this kind. My partner and I ordered a chicken and bacon salad bowl each which stated "served with garlic bread". Our food arrived and looked fairly decent but on tucking in to the salad it proved to be very disappointing. It was mainly a bowl of lettuce leaves with half a tomato and some bits of chicken and bacon on top and no honey & mustard dressing as stated. I had to go to the bar to ask for the garlic bread and the landlord apologized and said that the chef was new and that he would get us the bread. When we had nearly finished our salads the landlord came over to us with a tiny saucer with 2 small bits of burnt garlic bread.I thought he was taking the mick but no that was it. The bill for 2 salad bowls was £21 which I feel was way too expensive for a poor salad bowl. Very disappointed as I am a local resident, but I can assure you I will not be returning to the Ferry inn again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chris j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Went to The Old Ferry for a last minute Sunday lunch yesterday, arrived at about 3pm and the restaurant was quite empty.
The roast beef was lovely, melt in the mouth and accompanying potatoes and veg were very nice and plenty of them. There was also chicken & pork available as well as a few other non roast options which was a good idea.
I did think the starters were overpriced at £5.20 for a single disc of deep fried camembert but the desserts were reasonable at £4.60 each, good portion sizes too.
All in all a nice Sunday lunch and excellent views accross the river Severn. One minor issue, the card machine wasn't working so we had to go out and get cash to pay for our meal.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abby1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

My wife and I had our first experience of this pub / restaurant for about 30 years. Little has changed The views remain stunning especially on sunny days when you can eat outside. The menu covers a good range of food and is well cooked. The service is quick and cheerful. All in all a very enjoyable experience. It's a surprisingly long drive via Chepstow to arrive back to the shadow of the Severn Bridge but well worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The restaurant area was almost full when we arrived at 12:15 today - a lovely sunny Sunday, great views to be had across the river Servern to England and SE under the old Severn bridge towards the Bristol Channel.
There were 5 starters available, then the roasts offered were beef, pork or chicken with 2 or 3 large roast potatoes, gravy, Yorkshire pud and small ball of stuffing. The other vegs were served separately (carrots, peas, broccoli, cauli, cabbage) with an extra sauceboat of gravy - £8.50 (Children's portions £6.50). There was also a vegetarian option and about 5 other alternative meals (e.g. sausages, fish & chips, minted lamb shank). 6 dessert choices - £4.50.
Service was good and friendly. The pub is also "dog-friendly" and there's a pleasant (but not large) garden area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Blorengia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Arrived with no pre conceived ideas but had read web description as a pub and restaurant with rooms.Recieved a very warm welcome from owner and manager (Murray) who took a keen interest in us all weekend and spent time chatting and forging a friendship.Together with his family we could not have been better looked after and no request presented any problems to them.The menu was extensive and had some delightful and unusual dishes--excellent food!!
Rooms are basic but very adequate Bar/restaurant has lovely views of Severn River and bridge and two warming wood burning stoves.Excellent value also!The experience was very much home from home--I have stayed in many upmarket hotels that can not match this relaxing homely experience-a hidden gem with lots of interesting history--was sorry to leave--Many Thanks to you all.
Best Wishes
Dessie

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dessie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Ferry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ferry Inn

Address: Beachley NP16 7HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Beachley
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Beachley
Price Range: $62 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Old Ferry Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Ferry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ferry Hotel Beachley
The Old Ferry Inn Beachley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing