We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and decor...but no waiter/waitress service.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Newbridge on Usk
Ranked #1 of 1 Tredunnock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great food and decor...but no waiter/waitress service.....”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The setting is beautiful and the quality of food is very good.

Unfortunately, the service was non existent.

I had to ask for menu's, I had to ask to order, I had to ask for menus for desert, I had to ask for more drinks when the table was full of empty glasses and whilst I have no issue pouring my own wine, I became the sommelier as no waiter/waitress ever refilled the wine glasses.

I never thought a lack of service was ruin a evening quite as much as it did.

Very disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    70
    19
    27
    11
See reviews for
34
172
Solo
0
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I was fortunate enough to have been invited to a Birthday Celebration at the Newbridge.
The service and attention to detail was absolutely excellent from the moment I arrived until our time of departure.
The food was of a very high standard and very well presented by highly trained Staff.
The lunch compared very favourably with that on my recent Queen Mary 2 cruise!!
Highly recommended.


.

Room Tip: Did not stay- only had lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EDDY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My partner and I went for a meal at the Newbridge on Usk last Friday, we have been before and it has been excellent. However, this time we were sat upstairs (which is great) and the manager took our drinks order, we were served the wrong drinks twice, and between taking the drinks back and getting new ones, there was at least a 15 min wait each time. A couple sat next to us & were clearly regulars as they were served food, bread and their drinks immediately, when we had not even been served the right drinks yet. Not a lot of choice on the menu, and we had been sat down for an hour while everyone else was being served, before we were asked what we wanted. The waitresses were lovely and very accommodating, and I understood that they were the only two upstairs, so it may have been hard to keep up with all the orders, but it was not a very good experience for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had been due to stay at the main Celtic Manor site (Manor House), but due to an over-run of refurbishment work, we were asked by Reservations to move our booking to the Celtic Manor sister hotel, Newbridge on Usk. With the offer of a complimentary dinner to cover any inconvenience, we were happy to accept the change and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is situated in a lovely rural spot, with splendid views. Attentive staff in the restaurant, which essentially takes up the main building. Good menu. Bedrooms are located in an adjacent block, which some might find a little odd, but our room was beautifully furnished.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Courtyardhydrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

A perfect Summer's evening was enjoyed as we sat by the river in the sun terrace to the rear of this delightful building. The service was superb and the food was delcious. As always; the rooms were spotlessly clean, warm, inviting and oozing with deliberate charm. I would highly recommend this gorgeous place to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma-jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here to celebrate my husband’s birthday using a Celtic Manor Gift Voucher. We didn’t realise that check in time wasn’t until 4pm and arrived around 2:30 so the room wasn’t ready. This didn’t bother us too much as we had booked to have Sunday lunch and they were happy for us dine straight away.

The Sunday lunch was lovely, not a lot of choice but the variety should suit most. The Severn and Wye smoked salmon starter was particularly nice. We had the nicest seat overlooking the river so it was a very pleasant dining experience. I would recommend the Sunday lunch as it is reasonably priced for a more upmarket meal.

After dining our room was ready. I wasn’t particularly impressed by the room, because it’s probably just not my taste. But it was clean, tidy and had all the usual things, although there was a great big cupboard containing a tiny TV which looked out of place. Also finding a suitable plug for the kettle was difficult. The beds were comfortable, but as we were on the ground floor the creaking floorboards and footsteps of the guests above were annoying. It’s amazing how much some people can walk around a small room! I was also surprised at how much the traffic on the A449 could be heard considering it’s quite a distance away.

Anyway we both slept well after the creaking above ceased. Breakfast was very nice and it was a change to be served rather than the usual hot buffet. We then headed to the Celtic Manor to enjoy the leisure facilities and topped the celebration off with afternoon tea, where once again that delicious Severn and Wye smoked salmon was served in a mini bagel.

A lovely relaxing break, great venue if you want to get away from it all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayFanWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

In December I wrote a review following a visit to the Newbridge on Usk and couldn't have been happier with our stay. With the previous stay being so lovely I couldn't wait to take my husband there. I decided to book the four poster room in the Newbridge on Usk with dinner for my husband's birthday. A week prior to the visit the Celtic Manor emailed me to make me aware of their leisure facilities etc, I phoned to ask if it was possible to have robes and slippers in the room. I was told that housekeeping would be informed and it would be arranged. When we arrived at the Newbridge on Usk I found that this hadn't been organised. We made dinner reservations for 7.30pm and were both looking forward to dinner. On my previous visit (for my Mum's birthday) we were given champagne at dinner and Mum was given a little box of chocolates, this wasn't the case on this visit. Again, on the previous visit we were also able to chose any dish from the menu as part of the dinner package.
When we were given the menus under some of the choices were supplement charges for guests on the B&B& dinner package and each side dish (chips, vegetables etc) also had a £3.95 supplement charge! My husband's main course had a supplement charge of £15!
The dinner was average and the additional supplements made me lose my appetite!
We both ordered dessert which took 20minutes and we only had our desserts after drawing the waitresses' attention to our wait. We left the restaurant fed up!

The four poster room is beautifully decorated, clean and very comfortable.
Breakfast was very nice and the waiter during breakfast was attentive and polite.

When I checked out, I was shocked to see that with the supplements charged and drinks with our meal the bill was £51, this was on top of the £217 I had already paid for the B&B& dinner package.
Since my visit in December I recommended the Newbridge on Usk to friends, family and colleagues, this isn't the case anymore. I feel really disappointed that things have changed so much in a few months. If I had been informed of the changes to the package when I was booking then at least I could have made a decision to continue with the booking or not. I really wished I had booked another hotel for this special occasion. I expect five star establishments to be excellent, on this occasion, the Newbridge on Usk certainly didn't live up to my expectations.

Very overpriced and I left feeling very disappointed. I will not be visiting again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickyrhondda2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tredunnock
3.9 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Manor House at Celtic Manor
3.3 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
364 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Newbridge on Usk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Newbridge on Usk

Property: The Newbridge on Usk
Address: Tredunnock NP15 1LY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Tredunnock
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tredunnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Newbridge on Usk 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newbridge sits in an enviable and idyllic location on the bank of the river Usk. Just ten minutes drive from the historic town of Caerleon, famous for sites such as the amphitheatre and barracks, Romany Legionary Museum and Fortress Baths. Renowned for its award winning menu and extensive list of fine wines, and with the addition of 6 beautifully appointed bedrooms makes The Newbridge the perfect setting for lunch, dinner or an overnight stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Newbridge on Usk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Newbridge On Usk Hotel Tredunnock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing