We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Wonderful Place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Newbridge on Usk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Newbridge on Usk
Ranked #1 of 1 Tredunnock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“What a Wonderful Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I took my Mum to the Newbridge on Usk for the weekend for her birthday and we had the most fabulous time. The restaurant with rooms is owned by the Celtic Manor, I have stayed at the main resort before and was pleased to see the same attention to detail and high standards have been replicated at the Newbridge on Usk. The restaurant was decorated so beautifully for Christmas with a huge tree and stylish decorations throughout. On arrival we were warmly welcomed and well looked after; following a quick check in we were taken to or room. All rooms are in a separate building from the restaurant and all look rustic and in keeping with the restaurant building and the surrounding area. Our room had a four poster bed, beautifully decorated with gorgeous soft furnishings and good quality bedding. The bathroom was gorgeous, lovely big roll top bath and good quality towels and toiletries. The weather was dreadful on the Saturday evening, we were pleased to find an umbrella in the room so we didn't get wet going to dinner!
We had dinner reservations at 7.30pm and we were welcomed with a glass of champagne for Mum's birthday and a little box of chocolates and a happy birthday note card from the Celtic Manor staff; a lovely touch that was much appreciated. I was very impressed that as part of the weekend package we could choose anything from the a la carte or chef's special menus. The service was excellent, our waitresses were attentive without being intrusive. The wine menu is varied and we enjoyed a lovely bottle of rose with our meal.Whilst waiting for our starters we were served gorgeous breads, butters and balsamic vinegar and oil. For starters we had mushroom risotto and scallops, for main course we ate chicken and garlic king prawns and a goats cheese and red onion Wellington. The main courses were served with beautifully cooked vegetables and amazing triple cooked chips. For dessert we ate sticky toffee pudding with amaretto ice-cream and Christmas pudding. All the courses were delicious and well presented; we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. I'm a vegetarian and the choice was good and the quality of the food was fantastic. After dinner we sat in the lounge area with a glass of wine, really cosy and relaxing.
We slept very well, really comfortable beds and very quiet.
We enjoyed a beautiful breakfast overlooking the River Usk. Cereals, yoghurt, juices and fruit were served on a buffet table and the cooked breakfast was served at your table. We both enjoyed eggs Benedict, delicious! Our tea was regularly refilled and toast and Danish pastries were also served at the table. Again, the quality of food and service was excellent.
Check out was very smooth and quick and the lady on reception was polite and friendly.
We both had a fantastic weekend and really felt at home at this beautiful restaurant with rooms. The only recommendation would be for robes and slippers to be provided in the rooms; these are provided in the Celtic Manor so I expected this.
I would highly recommend a visit to the Newbridge on Usk for a meal, stay or both, I'm planning a return visit already!

Room Tip: The four poster bedroom was luxurious and worth the extra supplement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickyrhondda2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    65
    19
    26
    11
See reviews for
31
167
Solo
0
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

An early Christmas dinner was spoilt by a lack of foresight. The menu was limited. What restaurant doesn't have vanilla ice cream!!! One of our party wanted beef but felt the gravy was too fancy. When asked if a normal gravy could be provided, no alternative was offered. The hotel is beautiful and the setting stunning, the decor is very stylish. Unfortunately the lack of preparation left this otherwise charming hotel a big disappointment.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Flipflopdorsnowboats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Lovely little hotel, fabulous rooms finished to a high standard. Set in breathtaking countryside - it was lovely having breakfast looking out over the river. The break fast was first class, cooked to order - couldn't fault anything. Service amazing. Money well spent.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gricey61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Booked the Dinner,Bed and Breakfast deal. Marvellous food,good choice of different foods. Perfectly cooked and presented. We picked the Pork to share option. Really enjoyed ourselves. Would recommend to anyone

Room Tip: No tips needed they all seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyweld1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

the hotel is exceptional. we booked 1 night bed and breakfast and evening meal and the food was excellent with plenty of choice.as was the service. the rooms are immaculate and very comfortable. if your looking for a special place to stay and relax you cant go wrong booking this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynn1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed in the 4 poster bed-room with roll top bath,it was so sumptious and relaxing.We had the dinner, bed and breakfast deal and you could have a 3 course meal,any thing on the menu was in the price.Often in hotels they give you an allowance, but not here you could eat anything.The food was so tasty and generous portions,we were absolutely full up.Suprised that the wine wasn't over priced and it was good wine.Would have liked to have stayed extra night but room taken. If they have the mixed platter for 2 of sea food and meats on, try it there was so much food,mussels,salmon,fish pieces in batter,salami,parma ham and bread rolls,amazing!!
And you can always work it off at the Celtic Manor spa !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CardiffJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Newbridge 4 times now and each visit has been exceptional. We booked the executive double room this time and found it to be very comfortable and clean with all the facilities you would need for a weekend stay. We were welcomed by very helpful and friendly staff who showed us to the room and offered to carry our cases. We were also offered arrival drinks to be brought to the room! The bed was lovely, the shower to die for and a roll top bath to relax in. Teas and coffees, water, biscuits and chocolate in the room. Also elemis shower and bath toiletries in the bathroom which are replaced daily. If you venture out and about for the day on returning you will find your room cleaned and made up! Lush!

Room Tip: The double room is on ground floor and a little smaller than the executive which is up a small fligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myalily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tredunnock
1.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Manor House at Celtic Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
15.4 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
3.9 mi away
Three Salmons Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Newbridge on Usk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Newbridge on Usk

Property: The Newbridge on Usk
Address: Tredunnock NP15 1LY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Tredunnock
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tredunnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Newbridge on Usk 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newbridge sits in an enviable and idyllic location on the bank of the river Usk. Just ten minutes drive from the historic town of Caerleon, famous for sites such as the amphitheatre and barracks, Romany Legionary Museum and Fortress Baths. Renowned for its award winning menu and extensive list of fine wines, and with the addition of 6 beautifully appointed bedrooms makes The Newbridge the perfect setting for lunch, dinner or an overnight stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Newbridge on Usk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Newbridge On Usk Hotel Tredunnock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing