We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llangattock Lingoed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hunters Moon Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We love this Inn! This was our second stay here and we were thrilled to see that nothing had changed. Hayden was as welcoming as ever and even though we had not booked an evening meal he was more than happy to make us something if we decided we were hungry even though the kitchen wasn't officially open.
The rooms are cosy and the breakfast plentiful. We cannot find fault with this wonderful place and can safely say if home is where the heart is we will leave a little of our hearts here.

Room Tip: Room 2 is directly above the restaurant so might be a little noisy if you are planning an early nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 107 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2011

We only stayed one night but this small inn provided all we wanted with deafening silence outside so sleep was not disturbed. The room was cosy, the bed comfortable and the peace was bliss. we ate in the restaurant in the evening with hearty portions of good quality food, but what made the stay most enjoyable was the atmosphere in the bar and the hospitality of the owners.
would i stay again? yes especially if you want to escape the August crowds.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed two nights for a wedding nearby. Had room and breakfast - which was plentiful with massive jug of orange juice and a large cafetiere full of coffee.

Room was fine, exactly what you expect in an extremely old pub. If you expect your floors to be perfectly flat this may not be the place for you!

We didn't eat dinner at the pub, purely because the wedding was catering for us, but Haydn checked with our group (of 3 x couples) whether we needed food and would have arranged to cook for us had it been required (on a night when the pub was closed).

And that is what really makes this pub good - the service. Haydn and his staff were incredibly smiley, friendly and approachable. For me, that's what I'm after when I'm only paying £65 per night at a pub miles from the city (any city).

If I'm back in the area, I'd love to stay at the Hunters Moon again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Limey78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

The nice inn is a real gem in England. We stayed there on our walk on Offa's Dyke and glad we did! The room was good with the only negative was that there was a tub with no shower. The pub was very friendly and the food was excellent. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a special night in a very unique location.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandCHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

My friend and I only ate there one evening, we were dissappointed there was only one draught ale which only 'average'. Then we both had lamb shank, it was so bad we both couldn't finish it, it was so hard it seemed like it had been re-cooked/heated, we had difficulty cutting it off the bone ( we were offered a re-fund when we complained ) I was ill that night too!

Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank DWTS123S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefElvis, Owner at The Hunters Moon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2011

We are also disappointed when our customers are not satisfied, as we strive to maintain a very high standard of customer satisfaction. Our Lamb Shanks are sourced from a local traditional butcher and cooked in our kitchens using fresh rosemary, garlic and red wine. We do not use MSG or any hydrogenated fats. This complaint is in stark contrast to the many compliments we receive in our visitors book. It is not possible to please everyone but we do listen to constructive feedback in order to continually improve our standards.
Regarding the real ale, we sell HPA in large quantities and it is extremely popular with locals and visitors. We have won awards for our real ales and indeed we have been in the Good Beer Guide for over six years, but it is not possible to please everyone.
We will however continue to keep the country pub warm, welcoming and open.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Stayed here twice before.No place like it - within easy reach of numerous heritage sites and beautiful walking country.Friendly relaxing atmosphere.Breakfasts and evening meals were superb - all using local fresh produce,prepared and cooked by Haydn himself.We were well looked after as always.We'll be back again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penfro11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

My partner and I stumbled across this lovely pub in September 2009 and have visited many times since. It is the only place we will stay at in Wales. Haydn and Jana, the owners, are the warmest and friendliest two folks you could ever meet. The food is wonderful, local meats and fresh veg. The lamb shank is to die for! The atmosphere is that of a true oldie worldie traditional pub, with wonderful locals and always a good round of friendly banter. The rooms are lovely and quaint to match the atmosphere and always clean. If you want to get away for a little piece of Utopia, do yourself a favour and try the Hunter's Moon. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jac1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hunters Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hunters Moon Inn

Address: Llangattock Lingoed NP7 8RR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Llangattock Lingoed
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llangattock Lingoed
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hunters Moon Inn at Llangattock Lingoed offers visitors a warm and welcoming traditional pub atmosphere. Good food and ale are guaranteed with a superb menu. Relax in our informal bar or eat in our award winning restaurant, either way you can enjoy the very best freshly prepared local food, wines ciders and real ales. We also offer a high standard of accommodation for those touring the beautiful Welsh Countryside or walking Offa's Dyke Path. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hunters Moon Hotel Llangattock Lingoed
The Hunters Moon Inn Llangattock Lingoed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing