We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5* - Grand, Rustic and Hi-Tech Cottage in a...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Llanhennock, Monmouthshire, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Harry C
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“5* - Grand, Rustic and Hi-Tech Cottage in a Beautiful Landscspe”
Reviewed September 11, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Woodbank is a really special home set in a fascinating location. We needed a location for a team building weekend for 20 people, the Woodbank cottage provided the perfect number, sleeping 20 people in 8 huge and charming rooms. Prior to going to the cottage communication with the family was great and they responded to any question we had. The directions to the cottage were really easy to follow and we didn’t have any issues getting there. When we arrived we were completely surprised by just how beautiful the cottage is. Each room has its own personality and character and because of the size it lets everyone share single spaces and really have quality time together. We cooked over the weekend and it was a new experience using an Aga, thanks to its 4 ovens we were able to cook for everyone in one go. I’m pretty sure cooking in an Aga makes food yummier too! The owners have combined the rustic natural beauty of the property with hi-tech new technology such as an integrated sound system. This together with the pool room kept everyone entertained when the weather wasn’t the best. Luckily we did get some good weather and explored first the grounds; these are really well kept and have a variety of trees from weeping willows to apple trees, we were exploring for a few hours and there was still a lot to see. We then explored the local area, we were completely unaware of the history nearby and were once again surprised (spent all the weekend pleasantly surprised) with how much there was to see. What was particularly memorable were the views from the patio, during the day it provides a glowing verdant backdrop, which proved very popular with the ‘selfie’ crowd. In the evening the picturesque bright backdrop is replaced with dusky undulating hills lit up by the moon light. We were lucky enough to see the night sky lit up with stars which is not something you get in the major cities we were all from.

Each and every person really enjoyed there stay at Woodbank and I would really recommend the cottage for large families and hope to return again next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ic192016
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great House”
Reviewed September 11, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A large group of us stayed at Woodbank for a long weekend and it is fair to say that it is by far one of the most beautiful houses we have stayed in. It has great views over the countryside, a huge number of rooms but still manages to be cosy. I highly recommend !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TutonC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“An incredible house with beautiful grounds in a stunning setting”
Reviewed September 11, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

An incredible house with beautiful grounds in a stunning setting. There is so much natural beauty around and the house is amazing. Couldn't have had a better stay, definitely visiting again soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
640stepha...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice weekend”
Reviewed September 11, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Had a fab weekend. The house was in perfect working order, the garden is absolutely beautiful and has an amazing view. Best bit though is the games room! Will go again for sure!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgeyia...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Would rate 6* if I could!”
Reviewed September 11, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I LOVE this place! very spacious - cosy, great panoramic view in the garden. The photos really don't really do this place justice you just need to experience it for yourself. Thank you for contributing to what turned out to be an amazing weekend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinoLon...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Weekend away”
Reviewed September 11, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Peaceful and tranquil setting with excellent facilities in beautiful grounds. Bedrooms were huge and clean, kitchen was enormous with ample large goods and great views and scenery throughout.

Wifi, in-built speakers, snooker table were all great touches, along with a veranda.

Would definitely recommend and plan to visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oh wow!!!”
Reviewed July 14, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We rented this property for my Husbands birthday so that we could celebrate with family and friends. The pictures of the property looked good and the reviews were also quite good. The pictures really do not do this place justice! It's huge and grand but actually feels homely and comfortable. The views from the patio/veranda were outstanding. All of the bedrooms were comfortable and the bathrooms amazing. We absolutely loved to be able to sit around one huge table in a grand dinning room to eat our Sunday roast. My Husband loved the integrated music system and everyone loved the very well kept full size snooker table. Do take sharp knives if you are planning on cooking which I did after reading other reviews and take extra loo roll as not a lot supplied. I hope that we will go back maybe next year as it was such a fantastic holiday with friends and family in the most wonderful house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing