We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room and very good food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bell at Skenfrith
Ranked #1 of 1 Skenfrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Beautiful room and very good food.”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife booked a night at The Bell for my birthday. Lovely location and medieval church and castle just across the road. We stayed in room Heckam Peckham which was very stylish, elegant and spacious and had a very comfy super king bed and large en suite with great shower and Victorian bath. We really enjoyed our evening meal - smoked salmon and pork belly for my wife, and pigs cheeks and rump of lamb for me. Cheese board excellent, as was the lemon tart. Very good wine list which was also good value. There was a bit of a mix- up with our bill but it was quickly sorted and the staff very apologetic. We enjoyed a lovely 2 hour circular walk to work off the Welsh breakfast. All in all a very nice place to celebrate a birthday and I am sure we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CardiffZorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    117
    67
    48
    24
See reviews for
67
299
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

This was our 3rd visit to the Bell and we chose to return to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. It is such a special place. The location is wonderful and the food is excellent. The staff including Sarah and Stuart were very welcoming and Janine and Janet sorted us out when we we had a problem. A great place to stay to enjoy this part of Wales and feel miles away from the pressures of everyday life.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sbsully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We purchased a Living Social deal for an overnight B & B stay at this most attractive hotel in a beautiful setting by the River Monnow. The Bell has a justifiable reputation for terrific food and an exemplary wine cellar, and it seemed obvious that we would include dinner in our stay.
We arrived mid to late afternoon and the initial impressions were very good.
The hotel is well presented and in a beautiful location. We were greeted by a gentleman who seemed a little flustered and somewhat surprised by our arrival. We were nonetheless taken through the check in process and, in mid flow, he asked if we would like fresh milk in our room. On receiving an affirmative he dived off with no further explanation, much to our bemusement. A lady then arrived and asked if we would like to check in. We explained that we were in the process of so-doing but that the gentleman we were talking to had suddenly disappeared in the quest for fresh milk. She had been apparently called away to change a light bulb hence the gentleman on reception. Does any of this make sense so far...?? No, nor to me !!
Anyway all eventually was sorted out and apart from the "Fawlty" welcome we were delighted with our room, its furnishings,view and layout.
All the rooms have different names and have various little design quirks which are well thought out and delightfully executed.
The decor is lovely, the bed supremely comfortable and the general ambiance of the Bell is just right for a quiet, un-hurried and restful stay.
The food and wine in the restaurant are first class and the service expert, efficient and unobtrusive.
All in all they have it just about right, but not quite, and for the life of me I can't work out what it is.

Room Tip: Check out the facilities offered by each room before you decide which one to book. Try some of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A really excellent stay at this delightfully situated small country hotel and restaurant.The service was exemplary and the dining was superb, featuring local produce. The large open fire adds to the friendly atmosphere and the staff worked very hard to make every ones stay a success. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 469JohnF469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I went here for a valentines meal, I've eaten at a few very good restaurants and this is definately up there, quality of food was outstanding as was the service, bit difficult to find but it makes up for that, definately going to go here again, would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fro90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Having dined at the Bell for the past five years and enjoyed excellent meals there, we were appalled at the poor quality and miniscule portions we were served on this occasion. The meal was rushed, portions were small, portion of broccoli the size of a pin-head, pork with no flavor, very, very disappointing. Then, to add insult to injury, we were served a large glass of red wine which was full of sediment!! On pointing this out to the bar operative, he said that he had not got time to decant every bottle of house wine!! He should, perhaps be given some training in the art of poring wine from a bottle without sediment.....
We would recommend traveling to THE HARDWICK if you require excellent food and service, but give the Bell a wide berth!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TheF0xHat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I purchased a Time out Deal that included a stay & three course meal with prosecco in a King Size room for two and the Bell hit the spot as I needed to go for a stay near by. It is an idillic setting nestled in a valley, a castle ruin to one side a beautiful river & bridge the other. The Bell Inn prides itself on attention to detail, food and customer service. We got most of the package, some details weren't quite there and the main course of our meals was not quite up to scratch (could be to do with a busy kitchen at that time). If we stay again, I wouldn't go to the attic room again (Barats Bane), it looks great and has superb views but for tall, bigger people, it's a squeeze to get around the kingsize bed without hitting your head. Overall we had a wonderful stay and I would recommend it for a perfect setting with the most friendly welcome.

Room Tip: Don't choose attic unless you are petite or other rooms not available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skenfrith
8.8 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
506 reviews
6.3 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
195 reviews
6.6 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
877 reviews
23.3 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
927 reviews
13.1 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell at Skenfrith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell at Skenfrith

Property: The Bell at Skenfrith
Address: Skenfrith | Monmouthshire, Skenfrith NP7 8UH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Skenfrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Skenfrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bell at Skenfrith 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pub/Inn, Hotel (Licensed, Offering Real Ales and large wine list with 11 luxury en-suite letting rooms in rural location. Car parking. Vegetarians, Children, Special Diets, Organic Products catered for. Eating outside and in Dining rooms. River and country views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Bell at Skenfrith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell At Skenfrith Hotel Skenfrith
The Bell At Skenfrith Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing