We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most novel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Whitebrook Restaurant

The Whitebrook Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Whitebrook
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
uk res
Level Contributor
294 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Most novel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

We have been to the Crown many times(and thru many owners). The current menu is excellent...local, and foraged food making for a most imaginative menu. A good list of wines by the glass. Can be recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank kattyukres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    39
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A meal designed to impress”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

We first visited the Crown 3 years ago when it was a Michelin 2 Star. Under the new ownership it is equally worthy of the rating. We enjoyed a meal full of wonderful tastes, textures and visual delights. The surrounding countryside is magnificent, and although it's a bit of a trek from anywhere, the Crown should be on any agenda in South Wales. The hotel side still needs some tweaking, such as showers that drain properly and mosquito nets without holes. Minor shingles on an otherwise delightful experience

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Lunch for seven family adults, including two vegetarians, all had the Tasting Menu with accompanying wines. Every course was delicious. Before lunch we had drinks and canapés in the sunny garden. The restaurant looks fresh and welcoming and the staff are all excellent. We are very lucky to have such a first-class restaurant in this area. Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 12Cally21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This could become a good habit....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

We were vacationing in the area for a week....after lunch the first day, we were hooked. Visited this fabulous restaurant 3 more times during our short visit! Looking forward to returning on our vacation next year. Food, ambiance and hospitality by the Inn Keepers was first class.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steinke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

We went to this place for a night out as a couple without the stress of Kids.

Firstly the place is a little hard to find and in the middle of nowhere but once you find the place WOW what a find. A nice welcoming smile with a great choice of aperitifs and excellent service. A great selection of food on the menu and although some have said the service is slow I don't think they appreciate the whole experience of fine dining.

This was probably one of the finest places to go for a meal, with an excellent choice on the wine menu.

For dessert the cheeseboard is out of this world and a great port to go with it.

10/10 for the whole experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whitebrook Restaurant also viewed

Monmouth, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Whitebrook Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing