We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Enjoyable family break”
other travelers have booked this property
Highlands Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Highlands Cottage
Bedroom Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Highlands Cottage
Bedroom
Kitchen
Dining and sitting room
Wet room
View from the terrace, across the orchard to the Wye Valley
Highlands Cottage, nestled in the orchard
Drinks on the terrace
Outdoor dining
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitebrook, Monmouthshire, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris W
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable family break”
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Louise and Rob are excellent hosts and we were made to feel very welcome. Fresh eggs and apple jam were waiting on the dining table when we arrived. The children enjoyed feeding the chickens and geese and exploring the woods around the area. The cottage is lovely and cosy and enjoys fantastic views over the valley. Will definitely return for another break.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2016
Thanks for the review.
We're glad you had a good time at Highlands. And that's for leaving the cottage so clean.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Rob-louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrmewing
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful nook in an orchard among the woods”
Reviewed July 17, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This is a lovely small stone cottage set in a peaceful orchard away from the road. Louise our host was very welcoming and went out of her way to arrange the furniture for our young baby so we could set up a travel cot. It was great to see the hens and geese each morning and soak up the country air.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsaCB
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Incredibly peaceful”
Reviewed July 8, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Although I live in a rural area, I didn't realise how much constant background noise there is around us until I stayed at Highlands Cottage. It is so quiet at night, and with no light pollution, that it's almost other worldly. That it's peaceful is an understatement.
A small group of us stayed there in early July, with my husband and myself staying in the cottage and the rest of our group camping nearby. The cottage is lovely - the kitchen is well equipped with everything you'd need, and there was even a box of newly laid eggs from the family's hens waiting for us. The wet room is huge and very clean, the living area is extremely comfortable with sofas, table and chairs, a TV and DVDs, and the bedroom is spacious with a double bed and bunk beds. We had the double bed, whilst our 3 year old grandson slept in the top bunk in our room which was such a treat that it pretty much made his holiday! Although I think he was also thrilled with the amount of (safe) space in which to run around - real country, not just a city park.
Outside there is a well-furnished patio with far reaching views. It's a great sun trap too. Rob and Louise were excellent hosts, in the loosest sense of the word, as whilst they checked that we had everything we needed and gave advice on walks and pubs, they were never hovering or intrusive. Talking of pubs, there are two within a short distance, walkable if you feel energetic, which do excellent value home-cooked food, so even though there are good kitchen facilities, there's no need to cook if you don't want to.
We loved the quiet and the feeling of total relaxation. We will certainly return in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing. Everything was delightful.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellatyri...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed June 24, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Spent a glorious weekend with 20 & 7 year old daughters in Highlands Cottage. Cottage is picturesque with stunning views from peaceful elevated location. I'd have been happy to sit out on the patio all day but we did some exploring too - pleasant 10K run from the Cottage as well as acres of woodland. Colocation of campsite makes for great flexibility & exciting exploring for 7 year old. Louise (Cobb) genuinely committed to ensuring a great experience. Would love to stay for longer some other time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
28GSD
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great accomodation in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed June 12, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Had a great stay at this lovely cottage which has the advantage of its own patio area overlooking beautiful countryside.Located in a tranquil position ,with numerous walks close by for us and the dog to enjoy,but still close to other facilities. We found the owners to be friendly and accommodating,even bringing us some sun loungers,so that we could better enjoy the glorious weather which we were lucky enough to have for the entire week. We hope to return.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applecrat...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, great little cottage, amazing area”
Reviewed June 4, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We've just had a week at Highland, with Grandma & Grandad in the cottage & mum, dad & kids in a tent on the campground directly behind the cottage. As a first-time introduction to camping in the Wye Valley (we are very seasoned campers), you couldn't ask for better. Its a sort of cross between the Lakes & New Forest. The area is full of things to explore & great for spending time with kids/family. We rode the bikes in th Forest of Dean & walked to a great little pub (The Boat Inn, Redbrook).

The cottage itself was perfect with a lovely sun drenched patio (we had amazing weather more or less the whole time) where which overlooks the apple orchard & the valley beyond. The wet room was really useful having two dirt-magnet little boys. The cottage also has everything you need for either a weekend or longer stay. Its not too far from Monmouth for supplies, but is far enough out to ensure peace & quiet.

The camping itself is fairly basic (rustic??) with no showers & a portaloo, but we loved it - open fires for toasting marshmallows, whats not to like?

Rob & Louise were fantastic hosts, really helpful & relaxed. Fully recommend the apple juice from their own orchard!! Was keen to try some of Robs homemade cider, but apparently there's none left ;-).

In short, great place visit, lovely people would most definitely come back again.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
666han
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“GREEN and LUSH, this place is an oasis”
Reviewed May 26, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The field is on a hill and you can see across the valley to the pine forest, so many shades of green, it was such a good view for morning rises and evening chill outs. The chalet has everything you need and a great wet room for the bathroom with a hot shower. Rob and Louise are friendly, funny and relaxed. We went on walks from Highlands cottage and the forest and tracks around are just perfect. We ate at the chalet and around the fire and picnic table in the field and on the last day we sat on the patio at the front of the cottage in the sun with a glass of wine. I'd love to go again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: going home
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing