We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llangwm
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Usk Country Cottages
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spent a month living at Pentre Farm last December before emigrating. The cottages were beautiful, cosy, comfortable and had everything a family of four needed. The setting is idyllic, even in the wind and rain!

We were joined by family over Christmas who stayed in Rowan, Geri couldn't do enough for us all. Welcome pack, christmas decorations...

It was so great to find a dog friendly place too. We will definitely be recommending this little corner of Welsh heaven!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyScriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 112 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

What a lovely warm and welcoming place. Perfect for an away from it all break. Perfect too for dog owners. Our two springers were made to feel as welcome as we were by the lovely owners Geraldine and Howard. There are hundreds of acres to roam and walk safely with your dogs.

We stayed in Oak Cottage which was warm and cosy during the inclement weather we experienced during the half term autumn break. If you can;t find what you need just ask and it will be provided. Even an anti histamine tablet for our dog who sniffed a newt and doubled the size of his nuzzle in doing so!!!

Wonderful and truly recommended.

Room Tip: if you like space go for the big one Oak Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suejpotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Steve and I had planned our wedding at Usk Castle for the 28th August 2013. This was our second visit and a group of us stayed in Oak Cottage for 10 days.Geri is absolutely so welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful. We arrived to a beautiful welcome of Welsh and Australian ribbons and flags in the garden. She organised a hairdresser, the taxi and even provided some cough medicine for the unwell bride to be. Usk Cottages is set in a beautiful part of South Wales with close proximity to Cardiff and Abergavenny. Highly recommended , thanks so much Geri and we look forward to our return. Jan & Steve Margaret River Western Australia.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janpv7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at Rowan cottage from October 31st - 3rd November. I had the best time. We came to just get away and relax for a few days and that is what we did. The weather wasn't great but we had the play station 3 and we spent some time on that but we mainly just sat there was no need to do anything just sit and enjoy the views. Rowan cottage is situated right next to the barn and their the best behaved bulls, must say we didn't here a peep just the occasional snore but that was rare. The views were amazing looked right onto the countryside and that was just spectacular to see your covered in it countryside that is. It is so peaceful and enjoyable. Rowan cottage looks petite from the outside but once you are inside it is very spacious, open plan kitchen, living room and diner which was well thought out and and the attention to detail is amazing. There is two bedrooms which are also spacious, one being a twin bedroom with an en suite and the other being a double bedroom with an en suite. There was free Wifi which we barely used only getting in touch with family every night to see how they were doing but we also had a land line which was useful for phone call homes considering none of us had any signal which didn't bother any of us (nor me being a 15 year old) I had everything I needed to keep me occupied for the four days so my mobile wasn't needed anyway. I slept all night with no problems the quilt was lovely and warm and the cottage holds its heat after the heating was put on which made our stay very snug. The hosts Geraldine and Howard were very helpful and very friendly. I am very thankful of this stay I can't wait to come back i have had a fabulous time thank you for making this stay so enjoyable its been the best so thank you :) Didn't want to leave but just going to count day till next time. Once again thank you it was second to none and outstanding views and hosts like previously mentioned but people need to know if they want a fabulous stay with outstanding hosts with picturesque view this is the place!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ursula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at Rowan cottage for four amazing, relaxing and peaceful days. The quality of the cottage is second to none and our hosts Geraldine and Howard were phenomenal. We were shocked at the interior of the cottage as from outside it looks very quaint but once inside the space and layout are incredible. The open plan kitchen and living room is huge with a very thought out and fitting decor. On top of that there are two bedrooms both with en suites which were very spacious and comfortable. The position of the cottage is perfect with a very quaint church behind and an idilic lake in front. There is a barn also in front but is not visible from the front door. When we were there the bulls were in residence but there was very little noise from them apart from the occasional bit of snoring!!! Having the landline in the cottage was great as none of us had a signal in or around the cottage and the wifi helped greatly to keep us in the loop with the outside world (not that any of us were really bothered). All in all our stay was cracking and we'll definitely be back next year. All though we didn't want to leave. Cannot praise and thank Geraldine and Howard enough. If you ever want a peaceful holiday with amazing, welcoming and helpful hosts and of course beautiful cottages and surroundings Usk Country Cottages is the place to go!!!

Room Tip: Any of the cottages as they are all amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We wanted to find an ideal venue for a large family get together and boy did we find it! All the cottages at Pentre Farm are of top standard and are furnished to a beautiful level. The owners are so friendly and even showed our children how the farm works. This is a wonderful place and I would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic2216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at Rowan cottage for 5 days and enjoyed every moment, Geraldine was attentive and went beyond the norm. Much to do in these lovely parts; long walks in Brecon, golf at Raglan Park, Spa at the renowned Roman Baths, and local museums rich in history. Definitely a place to visit at least once a year. A big thank you, Geraldine!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAKS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Usk Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Usk Country Cottages

Address: Church Road | The Pentre Farm, Llangwm, Usk NP15 1HA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk > Llangwm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Llangwm
Price Range: $67 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Usk Country Cottages, quality welsh holiday lets for relaxing farm holiday, short break or commuter stay in Usk S. Wales. BOOK NOW DIRECT COMMUTER STAYS FROM £60 PPPN. FAMILY COTTAGES FROM £450 A WEEK. Visit our website for individual properties on our farm and more details . Nestled between the Vale of Usk and the Wye Valley lye's the peaceful rural village of Llangwm, Usk.This tranquil oasis awaits you just minutes away from the M4 corridor. . A thirty year history of hotel and catering hospitality and a love of the countryside, we have evolved these 11th-15th Century barns, bull pens, dairy and outbuildings into six luxury cottage lets. Fully furnished well appointed with a wealth of oak beams vintage wheels and ancient stone await your enjoyment whether you need a holiday, a short break or a business travel base while you work away from home, every thing you need is right here. Only 8 miles from junction 24 M4, just 26 miles from Cardiff and readily accessible to historic towns.Relax and unwind.This is a working beef cattle farm and in spring the new calves arrive adding to the beauty of this green valley. You may take a guided walk in our 180 acres, view the roman camp, the views of the Sugarloaf and Raglan Castle, you can see for miles on a clear day. See wild ducks, woodpeckers, kingfisher, firecrest and more small native birds.Follow the country walk signs with streams and gentle rolling fields, or visit our local historic churches of St John and St Jerome and the ancient screen, which are right next door to our to the land.A few minutes from the famous Roman town of Usk. A short drive will take you to Chepstow, Tintern Abbey and the Wye valley, Monmouth, Newport and Cardiff.Just 10 minutes from the Celtic Manor home of 2010 WESLH OPEN GOLF CHAMPIONSHIP AND THE RYDER CUP and the WELSH OPEN GOLF CHAMPIONSHIPS.With a thirty year history of hotel and catering hospitality and a love of the countryside, we have evolved these 11th-15th Century barns, bull pens, dairy and outbuildings into six luxury cottage lets. Newly opened 2009 Rowan and Cedar overlook the lake. Oak, Ash, Beech and Birch overlook the fishpond courtyard, and inside you have all you need for everyday living. A complimentary breakfast hamper awaits your arrival, Also milk, tea, coffee etc. FREE Wi-Fi CONNECTION, private Answer-Phone and Telephone, pets welcome by appointment Come and explore Wales ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing