We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llangwm
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Usk Country Cottages
Reviewed September 9, 2012

These are fab cottages to stay in either as family or as a group, they are very quaint and set in a beautiful setting with amazing views. The owners are so helpful and make you feel right at home from minute you arrive nothing is too much trouble, we will be returning with a group of friends next year and would recommend to anyone looking for a chill out weekend or midweek break !!! Great for couples or families with children.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 112 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

For the second year running My 17 year old son and I booked a cottage along side his our friends. The purpose of our visit was as a Junior cycling team competing in the junior tour of wales. The Pentre farm situated just out side of Usk is ideal to cover the whole area from Newport to Monmouth and the heads of the valley's and Brecon. All of the cottages are very well equiped and very comfortable. On arriving you will find Bread,milk,tea,coffee,butter and even marmalade in the fridge.Apart from your food every thing is on site.There are local walks on the farm just ask Geraldine for details on this or any thing else you need. You will find a very friendly and helpfull welcome with any reasonable request no trouble. Would we return again??? Only one answer to that. A resounding YES!!!

Room Tip: As a group we have used 4 of the cottages over the last 2 years and all are of a very good quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Last weekend (18/19 August 12) my wife and I plus our 2 sons stayed at The Oak Cottage together with my 2 cousins. The cottage was spacious, immaculatelyclean and very comfortable. More importantly it was wonderfully located near the village of Llangym and close to Llantrisant where my father and grandparents were born. The setting is tranquil and the view over the hills is perfect. I highly recommed the cottages (and the "landlady", Geraldine) for anyone looking for a relaxed and reasonably priced stay in this are.
ted Roberts

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedrob512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Just come back from a fabulous stay at Rowan Cottage at the Pentre Farm. Very warm welcome from Geraldine and family (including Oliver the Springer Spaniel). The views from the cottage were exceptional, and there is everything that you need for a relaxing stay. When Geraldine said that you only needed to bring your slippers, she wasn't joking. The weather was great and we enjoyed 2 hours of horse riding at the stables adjacent Llanthony Priory with a trek high up into the Black Mountains of the Brecon Beacons National Park. Usk and it's castle were well worth a visit as was the Butterfly Zoo at Symond Yat. All in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at Oak Cottage, Pentre Farm and it couldn't have been a prettier cottage. It was beautifully decorated and had everything we needed. We loved our stay there, very relaxing with lovely countryside. It was our first trip to South Wales and there was so much to do and see in this area, we will definitely return. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We rented adjoining cottages for far-flung family [from Australia and USA] to meet and explore this beautiful part of South Wales. There was plenty to see and do from local walks, the quaint village of Usk nearby and car trips further afield. We thoroughly enjoyed all the amenities offered at Usk Country cottages. We give it a 5 star rating and recommend it enthusiastically!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Just returned from the best Holiday Cottage ever, had the perfect place to return to at the end of every day exploring the area.
The cottage was exceptionally well equipped, the fridge was full of milk, fresh orange juice and butter,also provided plenty of tea coffee and sugar, breakfast cerials, salt and pepper all the things you would need to survive till you go shopping.
Geraldine and Howard were so welcoming and relaxed providing a very easy going atmosphere for our holiday, never bothered us after welcoming us but we knew they were on hand should we need anything.
Lovely garden and water feature out at the front door and a private little balcony for us to sit out on.
Very comfortable beds, lovely bathroom,sky TV and excellent broadband which is provided free. Telephone and answerphone at 1 p per min.
Lots of lovely clean white towels were provided for us.
Excellent cooker, fridge freezer, microwave and washing machine in the kitchen area.
Can't fault this as a holiday cottage, many thanks to the proprietors for providing such a facility in such a lovely area. Gwenda and Brian White

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Usk Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Usk Country Cottages

Address: Church Road | The Pentre Farm, Llangwm, Usk NP15 1HA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk > Llangwm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Llangwm
Price Range: $67 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Usk Country Cottages, quality welsh holiday lets for relaxing farm holiday, short break or commuter stay in Usk S. Wales. BOOK NOW DIRECT COMMUTER STAYS FROM £60 PPPN. FAMILY COTTAGES FROM £450 A WEEK. Visit our website for individual properties on our farm and more details . Nestled between the Vale of Usk and the Wye Valley lye's the peaceful rural village of Llangwm, Usk.This tranquil oasis awaits you just minutes away from the M4 corridor. . A thirty year history of hotel and catering hospitality and a love of the countryside, we have evolved these 11th-15th Century barns, bull pens, dairy and outbuildings into six luxury cottage lets. Fully furnished well appointed with a wealth of oak beams vintage wheels and ancient stone await your enjoyment whether you need a holiday, a short break or a business travel base while you work away from home, every thing you need is right here. Only 8 miles from junction 24 M4, just 26 miles from Cardiff and readily accessible to historic towns.Relax and unwind.This is a working beef cattle farm and in spring the new calves arrive adding to the beauty of this green valley. You may take a guided walk in our 180 acres, view the roman camp, the views of the Sugarloaf and Raglan Castle, you can see for miles on a clear day. See wild ducks, woodpeckers, kingfisher, firecrest and more small native birds.Follow the country walk signs with streams and gentle rolling fields, or visit our local historic churches of St John and St Jerome and the ancient screen, which are right next door to our to the land.A few minutes from the famous Roman town of Usk. A short drive will take you to Chepstow, Tintern Abbey and the Wye valley, Monmouth, Newport and Cardiff.Just 10 minutes from the Celtic Manor home of 2010 WESLH OPEN GOLF CHAMPIONSHIP AND THE RYDER CUP and the WELSH OPEN GOLF CHAMPIONSHIPS.With a thirty year history of hotel and catering hospitality and a love of the countryside, we have evolved these 11th-15th Century barns, bull pens, dairy and outbuildings into six luxury cottage lets. Newly opened 2009 Rowan and Cedar overlook the lake. Oak, Ash, Beech and Birch overlook the fishpond courtyard, and inside you have all you need for everyday living. A complimentary breakfast hamper awaits your arrival, Also milk, tea, coffee etc. FREE Wi-Fi CONNECTION, private Answer-Phone and Telephone, pets welcome by appointment Come and explore Wales ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing