We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real delight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palau-Saverdera
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A real delight”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We only had one night here ( on a walking holiday ) but would love to stay longer. It was a Monday and very quiet, but we were told of a really great restaurant nearby. The room was comfortable and had everything you could ask for........and the breakfast was splendid with good coffee and the best-ever croissants and bread and lots more.

Room Tip: they are probably all as nice as ours
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walshjs43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niudesol, Propietario at Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
I want to thank for your favorable review. Fortunately most of the guests leave the hotel with good vibrations and they would to come back again. I hope it is the same with you. I would like to remember to our guests that you can choose the room if you book directly.

One day is not enough!

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    38
    2
    5
    2
See reviews for
27
130
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for three nights, and were extremely happy. Merce is incredibly friendly and helpful, the room was a decent size, the rooftop terrace was lovely and the balcony from our room was great for people-watching on the village's main street. The bottles of water and madeleines in our room were a lovely touch, and unexpected for Spain. The honesty bar was really handy, too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niudesol, Propietario at Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Happiness is what we want create in our guest’s heart. If you keep good memories, we have done well the job. Thanks a lot for your opinion. (I love what is unexpected, I apreciate very much your words).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Like previous reviewer stayed here for two nights as part of a walking holiday. Thankfully our experience was quite different. Lovely room with a kettle and bottles of water to make a drink which was a nice touch. Everything we needed including all sorts of bathroom supplies which was great. Room was quite dark but charmingly decorated, as was the rest of the hotel which gave a nice calm ambience. Pleasant roof terrace with sunloungers affording views across Bay of Roses. Great breakfast with plenty of choice and delicious evening meals (no choice of starter or main course)- that did not matter to us but included wine which did!. We were asked if we wanted to eat earlier than advertised 9pm so ate at 8pm instead which was better for us. Our limited Spanish was not laughed at and our attempts seemed appreciated. Merle was a lovely hostess and made us feel very welcome. The small town was pleasant to stay in for a couple of days for relaxation and was almost deserted during our stay. We took the local bus to Figueres and visited the Dali Museum which we enjoyed, although if travelling during high season as we did you will have to be prepared to queue.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelandSteve56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niudesol, Propietario at Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thanks for your excellent opinion about our hotel. We are delighted offering the best atmosphere.
We try to adapt to the needs of our guests and, as your case shows, we often succeed.

Sometimes paradise is in a cup of tea. Smiling always is free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We booked this hotel for 2 nights in July as part of a walking holiday. On the morning of our second day we were approached by the owner at breakfast and told we would have to move rooms so could we go and pack our clothes and belongings so these could be transferred . She had apparently had received a better offer from someone who wanted to stay for 5 days and since we were going the following day we appeared to be of little or no importance to her. We did debate the point for some time pointing out what we booked and when but were effectively forced to move , the alternative was that she would move us to another hotel. I understand there aren't any in Palau so we would have been moved to Roses which was not acceptable. Regardless of what we booked or when, the owner had decided she wanted our room back. It was “her hotel” we were informed. I understand this is not the first time the owner has done this sort of thing.

We were 2 friends travelling together so specifically booked a twin.

We were moved into a double room at the back of the building actually part of the guest house rather than the hotel. In addition to the double bed the room had a chair which folded down to a camp bed fit for a child but not much else. So one of us had to sleep in this contraption which folded down right next to the door.

We read all the good reviews of this hotel when we booked our walking holiday with so we were looking forward to it. Our first room was a pleasant twin, not a great view but with lots of extra and personal touches which were not in the second room. Before we were given the new room we were assured we had not been downgraded - not true. It was entirely unsatisfactory to be moved from a twin to a double. This was not what we booked and I consider the behaviour of the owner to be utterly unprofessional and unpleasant and it spoiled our trip.

Moral of the tale - if you see the room and like it and stay for one night then you will be fine - stay any longer and you could also be treated, as we were, like second class citizens. I am afraid the good reviews appear to have gone to the owner’s head.

The food was fine but there are clearly better places to eat because we were pretty much on our own on the first night. One other person was in the dining room so it felt as though we had arrived after everyone else had gone so it wasn't the best atmosphere. We ate elsewhere ( Terra Nova) the following night and it was much more enjoyable. The breakfast was very good.

Overall it was a nice hotel and well decorated and at this superficial level I would not disagree with a number of the positive comments, my rating has been affected by our personal experience which started as very positive and ended as extremely negative.

ps Our luggage was due to arrive at the next hotel by 5pm the following but it arrived about 8.30 pm, only after we chased for it. The owner of the Niu de Sol had apparently not thought to mention to our travel company that the bags had not been picked up 10 hours after we left. Perhaps she didn’t like that we had argued about the room move.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 20Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niudesol, Propietario at Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
First of all, I was very dissapointed and very sorry to move you to another room but was forced due to an small accident in one room. Despite of this I understand you were also dissapointed but it is very unfair that you write in this post things like “it is not the first time I did this sort of things”. I am afraid this statement is excessive.

Regarding my good reviews you are talking about, I can only say: my good reviews are not from the past, but recent. My reviews are totally satisfactory for most of my guests. My problem with you was very specific and absolutely unusual.

I apreciate very much that you admit you agree with the rest of good commentaries, this honours you, although your opinion was basically influenced by your bad experience. I assume my responsability and I honestly apologize for the trouble caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This very small family run hotel is very relaxed and comfortable. Apart from the owner, Merce, the other members of family / staff speak little English - which makes it even more fun conversing! The rooms are comfortable and well equipped (apart from lacking a fridge) and the lounge and terrace make it feel just like home. There were very few other guests there during our stay - which felt a bit odd at times. We were staying on a half-board basis - and the meals were excellent home made cuisine with wine (and dessert wine) included: the menu was fixed but this wasn't a problem to us; on one evening we were there on our own - so very personal service. Our only problem was that the English section of the hotel information pack was out of date in terms of the WiFi password and entry door code - so refer to the Spanish version if in doubt!! The local village outdoor pool was well worth a visit

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maybeormaybenot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niudesol, Propietario at Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We are very grateful, first of all because your comment is very positive, but on the other
hand because the specific problem of updating WiFi password was resolved thanks to you. Yours it's an example of an useful comment which was good for improving. Thanks a lot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We booked a room at Niu de Sol for a short stay in Costa Brava and discovered a very nice little hotel nicely refurbished. It originally was an old farmer house being now converted into a family-run hotel.
We were warmly welcomed by the servant who gave us access to a cosy room including all necessary equipments; free WIFI access throughout the hotel. Our room was well decorated and sleep quality was good.
Breakfast is served until 11.00 am and consists of a selection of locally sourced products; it was very tasty and pleasant. The common room is nicely refurbished: a mix of rural modernity (wooden pieces) with modern lightings.

The hotel promotes local products and we could purchase some very tasty olive oil and they gave us a " fuet" for free..! Very nice attention.

All in all, service, decoration, attention do details, breakfast made our stay very pleasant. I will come back for another stay in this area of the Costa Brava.

We spent our diner in the village and tried a new restaurant called Terra Nova; exquisite food and excellent service for affordable prices. Our pick!

Hikes and other excursions can easily be made from the hotel: Natural REserve Parc of Cap de Creus, Monastery of Sant Pere de Rodes, La Selva de Mar, Castello d'Empuries.... lots of nice and refreshing sightseing!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be quite and we barely hear any noise from other hotel occupants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AC_BCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niudesol, Propietario at Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Our best publicity are the pleased guests! We are very happy sharing your hapiness, doing one's bit. Expecting your near return, we send best regards and we thank you very much for taking your time to write this comment in Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Niu de Sol is branded as a "rural" hotel. Well, it IS in a rural area, quiet, agricultural, vinyards, olive groves,, lemons, oranges, etc. The newly renovated, 100+ year old Farmers co-op is the first building you see upon entering the town. You are as likely to see tractors on the roads as autos, but the hotel in this farming village is anything but "rural". Niu de Sol is , in many ways, more sophisticated than most of the 5 stars I've seen in world capitols. That's a bold statement, but in terms of REAL guest comfort, atmosphere, design & general attention to detail, this is the real McCoy. Largely a creation of Merce, the tireless, friendly, owner, the hotel is perfectly located to explore the N.E. corner of Catalunia. Palau-Sav. is the like hub of a wheel whose spokes radiate out to the Costa Brava, Girona, Figueres, Cap Creus, Cadaques, Roses, & the Pyrenees foothills. I stumbled on it by just poking a finger at the map, just trying to centralize for a four day stay in the area. What & happily found, was a home base that turned into a real "home". There is no fitness center, indoor pool, or aroma therapy spa. Instead, It's clean, quiet, well laid out, the breakfast is 5 star, & the dinner, (must be planned ahead) is even better. the terrace & balconies offer pleasant views, the WiFi is free.(are you listening Marriot, Hilton, et al.?) & parking is 100 ft away, also free. Merce provides excellent advice about superb restaurants in & around the village & will try to provide virtually any other service her guests might need. I just lucked out with this hotel pick, it really was a stab in the dark, but I can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: No tips, It looked to me that they all looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niudesol, Propietario at Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
I agree that “rural” is only a label to describe a kind of accommodation, furthermore, I am afraid the word rural has not exactly the same meaning in English. The word "rural" in the label of the hotel tries to indicate that we are in a small town, that is run by the owner and that you will find a familiar atmosphere. On the other hand, your comment is tremendously generous and we are very grateful to you. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palau-Saverdera
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mas Lazuli
Hotel Mas Lazuli
#1 of 1 in Pau
257 reviews
5.1 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 36 in Roses
448 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Spa Porto Cristo
Hotel Spa Porto Cristo
#2 of 4 in El Port de la Selva
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Spa Cap de Creus
Hotel Spa Cap de Creus
#1 of 4 in El Port de la Selva
99 reviews
3.1 mi away
Maritim
Maritim
#9 of 36 in Roses
384 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Park and Hotel Mediterraneo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural

Property: Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural
Address: Nou 34, 17495 Palau-Saverdera, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Palau-Saverdera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palau-Saverdera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic hotel in the heart of the Costa Brava, 5 minutes from the sea at Roses. When you arrive you will realize how well situated we are, close to the best beaches, to Dali Museum, to Cadaques and less than 1 hour from Ryanair Girona airport. You will realize also that your choice was correct because at Niu de Sol you will sleep well, you will enjoy a great breakfast and you will be assisted by the owner to choose the best place to visit, to eat, to swim... There are 8 comfortable and charming, designed rooms, some with a private cosy terrace and big beds. All are personalized and decorated in a rustic style with your comfort in mind. The hotel, restored in 2008 offers a family atmosphere- helpful and homely. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Niu de Sol - Hotel Rural reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing