We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than Nassau! Caribbean Dream Experience!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Staniel Cay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Staniel Cay Yacht Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Staniel Cay
Certificate of Excellence
Coral Gables, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better Than Nassau! Caribbean Dream Experience!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My hubby and I both have hospitality background in the US, but are currently stationed in Nassau, Bahamas. We were celebrating our 15th anniversary, and needed to get off the Island. We knew we wanted to explore other islands while living down here, and SCYC came highly recommended by a couple of his colleagues. They also encouraged us to take advantage of the all-inclusive package, which included 3 meals/day, plus the daily use of a Boston Whaler, snorkel equipment and bicycles.

We took an early flight in on Friday morning, and touched down around 9:30ish. It was too early to check into our room (the resort was entirely booked), but they were SO gracious, sat us down for breakfast, then gave us access to a boat to use while our room was being readied. We got into our swimsuits and off we went!

The islands are beautiful! There are SO many places where you can just park your boat and go shelling, or scuba diving or just hanging on the beautiful and plentiful beaches! We only were there for 3 nights, but every single day, we went to a different beach - found beautiful shells of all varieties, and a bunch of small conch shells, a couple of sand dollars...The iguanas on Bitter Guana Cay were very curious and intrepid little creatures, VERY attracted to our bright colored towels and lunch cooler. At one point, we had 2 dozen of them (I counted!) surrounding our little area. Crazy, but cool!

At breakfast time, when you order your breakfast, if you're going out on your boat, you should also order your "box lunch," which consists of a sandwich, chips, fruit cup and beverage, and is put into a cooler on ice. If you have capacity, bring your alcohol with you (esp liquor). It'll save you a coupla pennies, as liquor bottles there are about double what we pay in Nassau (which are double what we pay in the States, jus' sayin').

Dinners are a really fun "community" experience! It's a single-seating affair, so everyone staying at the resort generally congregates around the bar about 45 minutes prior to dinner being served, enjoys a cocktail or three, then are all seated at the same time. For dinner, we received a soup, salad, entree and dessert. The soups are DIVINE!! The salads are -- salads. I LOVED the lobster and lamb entrees, and my hubby had a really good steak! The desserts are all made-from-scratch, and are OMG AMAZING!!!

The bungalows (cottages) are octagonal shaped, and are really efficiently laid out! We stayed in Sea Glass, and it had a king bed in front, which was backed against a long divider wall, with openings both on the left and right. The right opening had a small walk-in closet and counter area. The left opening had a double sink, long shower and toilet area. It had no wasted space, but didn't feel cramped at all! LOVED it!! Housekeeping gave us fresh towels and linens every day. Y'can't even find that in the States, anymore. Sunsets at SCYC are breathtaking!!

The staff become your family, as you become theirs. Every single bit of the resort has a non-pretentious charm about it. If you're looking to pay tons of money for spa days and high-maintenance pampering, this place isn't for you. If you want down-home hospitality with a lot of Love, Joy and sense of "coming home on vacation," then SCYC is your spot!

We WILL be back - and will be bringing friends!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FritaBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    76
    17
    3
    8
See reviews for
72
224
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marathon, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

After confirming our reservations 2 weeks prior to our arrival in our 40 ft powerboat we noticed that the VHF radio was busy calling Staniel Cay asking for a reservation which was granted in each case , When we arrived in late afternoon and after taking on fuel, we were told that the Marina was full. We explained that we had reservations but were told that the only place for us was on the "Megayacht Dock" which was away from the main dock our companions were on. After great difficulty in tying up at such a large dock because the Dock was built for Much larger yachts and was very High Off the water, we has to wait for high tide to get off the boat by standing on our Bow rail just to get to the ladder that went up to the dock. No consideration was given to having made reservations and it was dangerous for us to get off the boat since we are both seniors. All Staniel cared about was getting as much slip fee as they could at any cost. Our reservation was for 4 days we left after one. Have not been back since !!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eileen__47__67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanielCayYachtClub, Owner at Staniel Cay Yacht Club, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
As always, we are thankful to our guests for providing positive feedback or constructive criticism to help us with our service levels. We are very sorry to hear of the negative experience presented here. We want all of our marina and bungalow guests to have a fantastic experience. In direct response to this review, the ladder in question (sadly, the only shorter one on the property) on our North Dock - which is actually not a “megayacht dock” - has been replaced with a longer one.

In regards to marina reservations, it is apparent that we need to better present the process in order to avoid future dissatisfaction. When a marina reservation is made, no particular slip or dock is guaranteed. While we often get requests for a particular location, and we do our best to accommodate such, we would never guarantee that this request could be met. We try to keep groups traveling together in close proximity, but this is sometimes not possible, especially in June and July, which is the busiest time for our marina. But we are a small marina so you will be close to your group even if you aren’t in an adjacent slip. Where we position boats often depends on what time they arrive during the day because our slips are "side-to" and not "back-in," and we have to arrange new arrivals in more-or-less the order in which they arrive, and also based on the length of stay (shorter stays on the ends, longer stays towards the middle).

We ask that boats with reservations contact us early on day-of-arrival (or the day prior) to confirm that they will actually be arriving and with any special requests. This is because in yachting, plans often change based on weather, mechanical issues, or simply owner preference - the result being that many reservations turn out to be no-shows or arrive earlier or later than originally scheduled. This pre-arrival contact also allows special requests to be reiterated, e.g., if boats need to be port or starboard side to the dock, have certain power requirements, or simply prefer a certain end of the docks. It is very likely that this reviewer arrived towards the end of the day (possibly one of the last arrivals) and the slip options were naturally very limited at that point in peak season because the marina had filled up during the course of the day. While we apologize for this circumstance, it is not one we can realistically change. Our dock hands are good people and if there was any other slip option available on the main marina dock, it would have been given to the reviewer, especially since they were seniors and the ladder boarding could be difficult. We do apologize for this situation and again encourage all boaters with reservations to give us a “day before” or "day of" phone or VHF call before arrival. Or if you can, simply come to the dock a bit earlier in the day as this will almost always result in more slip options for the boater.

With regard to our North Dock, we should clarify a few things to avoid future misunderstandings. Approximately 2 years ago, we added a new dock to our facility - the North Dock. It serves as our fuel dock; has a few boatlifts on it; and is the dock where Staniel Cay Divers keeps their dive boat. It is not a "megayacht dock". It sits about 2.5 feet above the level of our other marina dock and is only about 200 feet away. We have installed ladders in all slips at this dock to facilitate exit and entry for marina guests on smaller boats – all but one of the ladders reach down to the water level at low tide. Regrettably, it must have been this one, shorter ladder that this reviewer experienced. This ladder has been replaced. On a side note, while some people prefer our main dock because there are more boats, others prefer the North Dock for exactly the opposite reason - there are fewer boats. It is quieter and less busy.

Should the reviewer desire to return, and we sincerely hope they do, we will happily attempt to accommodate any special requests. Our mission is to provide any visitor to SCYC, whether staying in our marina or in our bungalows, a thoroughly enjoyable and unforgettable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York, USA
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Wow!! They have not created the words to describe the beauty of Staniel Cay. The room the employees the locals and the activities just cant be beat

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breakingdock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just one and a half hour flight , takes you in this tiny paradise....... We lodged in the new coco plum cottage , beautiful sunsets from the panoramic window , fragrant ocean breeze under the porch........romantic yet exciting journey. You can have your own boston 17' to make daily excursion to over two dozen of immaculate beaches on the contiguous islets ; the management will provide you with a cooler , food , ice , beverages. It is certainly not a fancy all games resort but , if what you are looking for is quiet lay back , beautiful nature , relaxation : this is The Place.The restaurant is not a five star but , they have surprised us more than once! Owner and staff very affable and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okeanis57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam County New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I couldn't have been more pleased with my SCYC experience. We stayed in the Key Lime cottage, it has the most beautiful view. I'm an early riser and many mornings woke up between 4 and 5 am to come sit on the deck and listen to the water below me, and see more stars in the sky than you can imagine and actually see the Milky Way, shooting stars and a bunch of constellations.

The staff was friendly and Carl the bartender was fabulous. Chevette was most efficient and can make magic happen when you ask for whatever you may need. I can't say enough about how helpful she was and the wonderful arrangements she took care of for us. The wait staff was friendly and did their best to serve us as quickly as possible. All the other staff from the bar, to the boats to cleaning staff were wonderful.

The down side was the Invictus staff that was filming live on the islands. The SCYC did comp us for this inconvenience, and that was the only thing marring the most perfect vacation.

We loved being on the boat every day and the weather was just about perfect for our stay. A little rain in the afternoon, but that's to be expected in the tropics. The sun would come out after and you could go on with what ever plans you had. All of the little islands are worth visiting and Thunderball Grotto is a must see.

The beds were comfortable, but the down side were the pillows. I think some thought needs to go into getting better pillows, but I'm sure with all the work they are doing that will come in time. The showers could use a hand held shower head as you need to get sand out of places you never thought you would need to if you sit on the beaches or swim close to shore. LOL

I loved every day I spent with the people of Staniel Cay and the locals were friendly and welcoming. We loved the colors of the island houses. The slow pace, and the relaxed atmosphere is a wonderful change of pace for the busy lives we lead. If you're looking for an entertaining resort, this is not for you, but if you want laid back, relaxing island time...then this is the place for you. I know it's the place for me, and I will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Just got back from Staniel for the first time, and it won't be our last!

Room: We stayed in the pink cottage, which they were finishing updating as we got there. Nice new queen size bed, everything very quaint and modest. Front porch was wonderful. French doors opened onto a nice-sized porch overlooking the water with 2 rattan chairs and a small table. Beautiful sunsets! We wil book the same cottage next year.

Food: Definitely do the all-inclusive package. Basic American fare for breakfast, lunch in cooler for day on the water (the BLT's were delicious!), and dinner when the bell rings at 7:30 pm. Every meal was great. We retired to our cottage at night completely sated.

Boat: The boat absolutely makes the trip worthwhile. Like everyone has said, if you want 5 star service and pampering, don't come here. If you want your independence, this is the place to go. Many, many secluded beaches, each of them with a different feel. We went to Black Point Settlement the last day to see Minister Adderly's jewelry for sale, and to see where many of the people who work at SCYC actually live.

Quick tips: Get bread from the bread lady. Seek out Dossiemae the housekeeper and ask her to show you her beautiful woven baskets and placemats. Any bread you don't eat at dinner, take it with you so that you can feed the swimming pigs. Anything you need for your cottage (extra creamer, more coffee, cups, etc.) just go to the door of the restaurant kitchen and they will be more than happy to help you. Tips are included in the all-inclusive package, but we tipped the guy who got our boat ready every morning something extra on the first day. It's kind of like staying at a friend's house. Pretty much no place is off limits. Ride the bikes provided instead of taking a golf cart - much more fun! We will definitely always go during the off season so that it is not so crowded and hot, but the water is still warm enough to swim.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

For years I've wanted to go to SCYC. Finally, for our 10 year anniversary, we went! My husband & I enjoyed every minute of our time there! Stayed in the Sea Glass cottage, not one complaint about it. Loved sitting on our deck in the morning and late afternoon and taking it all in. We took "our" 17 ft. Boston Whaler out after breakfast each day with our lunch packed in a cooler (best tuna sandwiches ever!). We just explored & explored and relaxed & relaxed. Made it up into the Land & Sea Park a couple times and only used 1/2 tank of gas round trip. Met some great people during our stay, both staff and fellow guests. Everyone would meet up before dinner on the deck or at the bar and discuss their adventures of the day. Carl at the bar is the best! The food was delicious! Much better than we were expecting. Especially the dinners... enjoyed all the soups and between the two of us, we had mahi mahi, grouper, conch,ribs, lamb and lobster. The lobster was amazing and we're from New England! We flew Watermakers Air and that was an all around excellent experience too. Like others have mentioned, SCYC is not a high end resort....and that's just fine with us! We haven't even been home 2 weeks and have already booked to return in March! Can't wait to get back to our new favorite place!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank beaglemama12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staniel Cay
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
0.0 mi away
South Caicos Ocean & Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Embrace Resort
Embrace Resort
#1 of 3 in Staniel Cay
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Island Time Villas
#2 of 2 in George Town
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nathan's Lodge
Nathan's Lodge
#4 of 23 in Andros
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staniel Cay Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staniel Cay Yacht Club

Property: Staniel Cay Yacht Club
Address: Staniel Cay | Exuma Cays, Bahamas, 00001, Staniel Cay
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Staniel Cay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Staniel Cay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soothe your body, mind and soul with small island charm. Let one of our beautifully decorated cottages be your relaxing home while in the Exumas. Your balcony will literally overhang the clearest waters in the world. Secluded beaches. Incredible SCUBA, snorkeling, fishing and kayaking. Delicious cuisine. Inviting pool and sundeck. Friendly island bar. Full-service marina and 3,000’ airstrip. "Watermakers Air" provides convenient flights to Staniel Cay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Staniel Cay Yacht Club Hotel Staniel Cay
Staniel Cay Yacht Club Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing