We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, the water is really that clear!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Staniel Cay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Staniel Cay Yacht Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Staniel Cay
Certificate of Excellence
Noblesville, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yes, the water is really that clear!”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

My wife and I (both of us mid 20's) traveled to SCYC for our 1 year anniversary and a belated honeymoon. I want to be detailed as much as I can with my review so I can provide people with an accurate picture of what SCYC is before you book your trip.

First off if you're thinking about going to SCYC I would strongly recommend using Watermaker's Air out of Fort Lauderdale Executive airport to get to Staniel Cay. Watermaker's and SCYC are owned by the same person so it's a natural fit to use their service. Always check with Watermaker's before you book because more then likely the Bahamas will offer a free companion airfare basically ensuring you get a 2 for 1 if you book and travel by a certain time.

Flying into Staniel Cay you start to get a picture of how clear the water is in the Exumas. Those in the boating community (which isn't us) say that the Exumas offer the clearest water in all the world. Pictures honestly don't really show the colors of the water from deep blue to Aqua to light Blue, it's truly shocking how amazing the water is.

Once you arrive you are picked up by SCYC staff at the airstrip and driven by golf cart to the hotel which is about 5 min away. Once you land you really understand how remote this island is. Upon arrival you check in at the bar which doubles as the clubhouse and the dining room, it really the unofficial hub of SCYC. Check in is was simple and our cottage was ready so we were able to get right in right away.

Our cottage (Pink) was one of 4 cottage, all with the same layout. The cottages are very basic, it's probably about the size of a 20 foot x 20 foot room that divided into a bathroom on one side and the bed on the other. Each cottage has a deck that is literally on the ocean. At high tide our deck got pretty wet because of the waves which are about 5 feet under the deck. Each cottage has an air conditioner as well as a mini fridge which comes in handy. No guest cottage or suite come with TV's or phones. The bar has 2 TV's with access to American channels as well as a computer with internet access for an extra fee.

When you book you have the option of doing the all-inclusive package which provides 3 meals a day, non-alcoholic drinks during meals, use of snorkel gear, bikes, kayaks, use of 13 foot boat w/fuel, all taxes and gratuities. In my opinion that's the only way to go because meals are pretty pricey and they can add up quickly. Golf carts are a great way to explore the island but are an additional fee.

That brings me to the food. Being that SCYC is the only thing on Staniel Cay I was worried that the food was going to been suspect. I couldn't be more wrong! I'd put any meal at SCYC up again any 4 or 5 star restaurant in the states, the food is that good. Breakfast offers mostly American classics likes eggs, omelets, pancakes, french toast (so good!); while Lunch offers burgers, salads, and sandwiches. They also can pack you lunches to take with you when you take the boat out or if you just explore the island with a bike or a golf cart. If you happen to stay around the hotel for lunch they put their burgers and sandwiches on Bahamian bread which is amazing.

Dinner is 4 courses. You place your entree and side order at the bar before 5pm and dinner is served right at 7:30pm with the ringing of a bell. We were there 5 nights and I had steak, lobster, couch, chicken breast, and lamb. All the entrees as well as the soups and salads were awesome.

Don't be surprised if the power goes off at random times during the day. Ours went off in the middle of our 1st night and then again on the 4th night. Previous responses by management say the problem has been fixed with backup generators however it hasn't. It didn't effect my review because it happened at night and it was cool enough outside to not be a big deal having the A/C off for 2 or 3 hours. In the summer that could be different story.

Overall SCYC is unique place that provides you some great insight into Bahamian life as well experience a part of the world that has been relatively untouched. As others have mentioned, this is not a full-service resort, if you can't make your own fun don't go. But if you want clear water, amazing food, a place to relax then I would say this is your kind of place. We will be returning again soon!

If you want more info you can message me and I can give you more tips and places to go on and off the island.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RockJock44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    76
    17
    3
    8
See reviews for
72
224
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Salem, NY
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We loved SCYC. It was just perfect for our family. If you can entertain yourself, and can happily spend the day exploring on your own by boat, snorkeling, and lounging on gorgeous secluded beaches, this will be ideal. It is not the place for those who do not want to unplug and relax. If you feel you need a list of restaurants to choose from to make your vacation happy, or want activities planned, this is not for you.The food is good, the people so friendly and helpful, the cottages simple but all you need. Pets are only allowed if you stay on your own boat, not in the cottages. The all inclusive plan is a great value. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jgmarlin32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, TX
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We were at the club from September 7th through the 12th. It was an absolutely amazing time and everyone there was great. We had an issue with the A/C in our room and without hesitating they replaced it, then it was MUCH better. Everyone is so welcoming and everyone on the island, not just at the yacht club, are more than friendly to everyone they come across. One of the best vacations I have ever taken, just 100% satisfaction and relaxation.

Wes

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lavender suite. Great views and really nice room for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WesJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Cal.
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Staniel Cay Yacht Club is the perfect destination for those who like to mix a little adventure in with their travels. With a location midway down the Exuma Cays, surrounded by insanely blue water and dozens of nearby cays with powder-white sand, SCYC is the perfect base for exploring the surrounding area.

The accomodations are basic; small refrigerator, window air conditioner, shower, decent bed, and a covered deck that looks out over water to the west. The single story cottages are ideal for couples, but families should consider the two story option as the better choice. Some reviews have commented on a noise problem at night due to the close proximity of the bar. This was not a problem during our stay.

You place your dinner order by 4:30 for a single seating which is at 7:00 (or 7:30) and the choices are sufficient to allow a little variety. During breakfast you place your lunch box order for the day's excursion which includes a sandwich of your choice, drinks and chips Overall the food was good.

By far, the biggest attraction of Staniel Cay Yacht Club is the 14' Boston Whalers which are included in the all-inclusive rate. It is a unique experience to set out each day on your boat, stopping at Thunderball Grotto, Big Major Cay, or finding your own private beach. It shoud be kept in mind that boating etiquette dictates that one should pass up a beach that is already occupied, allowing others their privacy. There are plenty of pristine beaches for everyone. One hint is to make sure you have a beach umbrella in your boat...the sun can be brutal.

This is not a destination for those more inclined to luxury treatment. It is a destination for the rest of us who seek out the path less traveled. However, currently SCSC is expanding by constructing additional cottages on the hill north of the main marina. Change is inevitable, but here's to hoping that the experience remains the same.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Topic_Zone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We went to Staniel Cay Yacht Club to celebrate our anniversary. We flew from Fort Lauderdale directly into Staniel Cay Yacht Club. We stopped at Andros to clear Customs. The flight was terrific and the view spectacular. It looks like a painting when you look down and look at that beautiful clear blue water.

We arrived at the Yacht Club and everyone was very helpful and friendly. Everything happens at the Bar. You check-in at the bar, you eat at the bar, if you need anything you go to the Bar. The reservation includes a little boat that you can take out and go around all the cays and spend the day out there exploring! Just wonderful! They have a place called "Pig's Beach." Yes, pigs! The minute the hear the boat, the swim over so that you can feed them. Don't worry, at the Yacht Club, they will give food to give to them. It is unbelievable to see these pigs swim over to the boat! I never knew pigs could swim like that.

Sampson Cay is nearby and is also a beautiful place! We met this guy called Food there that took us for a tour and invited us to sit at the Bar and eat some delicious Bahamian food. Just wonderful!

If you like boating, and being around the water, this is a must see place!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

the exumas is one of the most beautiful places i have ever been to. i have only seen the same blue waters in polinesia. we've travelled quite a bit in the caribbean but the waters of the exumas are unbeatable! staniel cay has an amazing location and the cottages are located almost in the water. the boston whalers they provide are a great asset to visit the numerous beaches around. Food is great, i ate lobster four nights in a row! service is good, i would not say outstanding but in general quite efficient. bar tender was the nicest! some of the minuses: it is still a remote island so be ready that some things dont work and may take time to repair. while we were there the toaster did not work so no toasts for breakfast. more importantly, the modem broke down and the last three days we were there... no internet! this was a bit more serious and quite inconvinient because due to my job i needed to be on email... (i know, nice to disconnect etc etc but some of us dont have the luxury or just dont want to! ). The cottages: cottages are nicer outside than inside and since we spent most of the time outside ... it did not matter. inside the cottages are very basic and in need of some renovation particularly the bathrooms. they are very small so it is better to take one of the larger ones (we stayed in blue cottage). the price/ quality ratio is extremely good so one cannot really complain .... overall... fantastic place and i really recommend it. it is an experience!!! to sum up, my only comment is that i would have gladly payed some extra money for a little renovated cottage....

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovelacuisine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed in the Key Lime cottage. The water was amazing and clear! I've never seen anything like it. We would take the boat out to all the little cays and there would be no one else around. The food was great when they had everything! They only get shipments from the mainland periodically and there was a lack of fruit most of the time we were there. Try the BLT and veggie burger for lunch, they were fantastic! The room was sufficient and clean. Be prepared to pay $4 a beer even from one of the stores on the island. Be sure to take the boat up to Compass key and walk to the other side of the island were there's a secluded little bay. We loved the group dinner at 7 and all the other guests were so friendly! The only negative is that the island is so secluded and I wish there was a little bit more civilization, like a quaint downtown area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kari567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staniel Cay
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
0.0 mi away
South Caicos Ocean & Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Embrace Resort
Embrace Resort
#1 of 3 in Staniel Cay
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Island Time Villas
#2 of 2 in George Town
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nathan's Lodge
Nathan's Lodge
#4 of 23 in Andros
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staniel Cay Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staniel Cay Yacht Club

Property: Staniel Cay Yacht Club
Address: Staniel Cay | Exuma Cays, Bahamas, 00001, Staniel Cay
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Staniel Cay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Staniel Cay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soothe your body, mind and soul with small island charm. Let one of our beautifully decorated cottages be your relaxing home while in the Exumas. Your balcony will literally overhang the clearest waters in the world. Secluded beaches. Incredible SCUBA, snorkeling, fishing and kayaking. Delicious cuisine. Inviting pool and sundeck. Friendly island bar. Full-service marina and 3,000’ airstrip. "Watermakers Air" provides convenient flights to Staniel Cay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Staniel Cay Yacht Club Hotel Staniel Cay
Staniel Cay Yacht Club Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing