We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation in a Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Columbus Isle
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Vacation in a Paradise”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was my fourth time to Columbus Isle - and for sure i'll go back again - and again - passed two weeks and i would've gladly stayed for a 3rd - it's the perfect vacation for me - all inclusive you don't need a car and no need to make reservations for dinner - dress to the nines or wear shorts and flip flops all week (and people do both) - the club is fantastic - you can do 40 things from sun up to sun down or nothing at all - food is delicious - everything is great - but it's the beach that blows you away - you'll see the water while desending in the plane - and you know that crystral clear blue green water just curls your lips into a smile - the scuba is top notch - really just magical - it's a wonderful holiday - the entire staff could not be any nicer - make sure you take your lunches at the restnt near the scuba center - it's open everyday 'cept Wens & Sat -and the view is amazing - it's unbelievable really - bring moscito repellent bc they are out right at sundown and are annoying, also the guests are primarly european really from all over the world - as is the staff - americans are definately the minority so be prepared to hear alot of different languages and make new friends - it's a great vacation - while it is not geared for children there were families there as well - if you're still reading this review take my word for it - you won't be dissapointed - it is a wonderful island vacation - and i'm sure just like me - if you go - you'll return again again - have a blast - bon voyage!

Room Tip: we always ask for a room closer to the scuba center - these rooms are farther from the main dinnig a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tidam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Columbus Isle, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear tidam,
From sunrise to sunset we’re happy you find yourself entertained and relaxed at our resort! Our beautiful beaches were made for smiling face so we’re happy to hear that you enjoyed the crystal clear water, among other aspects of the resort. We appreciate your review and we look forward to your return visits again and again!
Kind Regards
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,173
    1,141
    293
    104
    38
See reviews for
929
1,794
176
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We went to Columbus Isle for the scuba diving and indeed the 200ft (60m) visibility was wonderful for spotting rays, sharks, eels, lion fish, plus an assortment of reef fish. The drift diving on the walls was perfect; gentle currents and you could see it all from 50 ft (15m) to 80 ft(28m) in water about 78-81*F( 25-27*C).

I was so impressed with the numbers of children especially 10-17 year olds. So well behaved! In one week, nary a single cry and the teens were unbelievably courteous as they participated in the sports, dining and dancing with the adults. This was really a perfect place for a family vacation if you like water, beaches, superb dining, nightly parties that were not intrusive to those who want to sleep water skiing, jet skiing, wind surfing and sailing. Want to learn to scuba? I have been diving for 50 years and Gen, the dive instructor was BEST I have ever seen. She was competent, prepared and so gentle and instructive that she puts everyone at ease and in perfect learning attitude.

The are tons of families who return every year, and everyone hates to leave at the end of their vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiliRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Columbus Isle, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Chili Robinson,
After scuba diving for 50 years, you have seen your fair share of dive spots and instructors so we are unbelievably happy that you consider our staff to be the “BEST” you’ve ever seen. Our staff is committed to providing every guest with an enjoyable experience so we love hearing she succeeded. Thank you for your review and we hope to have your family visit in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was our third different Club Med resort (the others are Punta Cana and Cancun twice) and it was better than expected on most levels. My wife and two teenagers rate it equal to Cancun, which is high praise. The beach is spectacular and flat calm and the sand is like talcum powder. Beach sports were plenty -- stand up paddle boards and kayaks were fun. The Hobie Cats were in good shape and the water skiing looked fun (but popular with teens) The rooms (Club Room, ocean view, rooms 611 and 612, at the north end of the resort) are clean and very spacious and the beds comfortable, and we did not care that they are not luxurious: The resort layout is linear along the beach directions, with walks not being too long (shorter than Cancun). The chief, Charles, does an incredible job -- it seems as though he was everywhere, always greeting people sincerely, and always in the middle of fun activities. The GO staff is great, although many of them seem very young vs other Clubs --Several we met had just started with Club Med, but they were enthusiastic and friendly. We do not speak French, and as others have noted, that can be a minor issue, but it is not a big deal -- everyone tried very graciously to communicate with us. We enjoyed meeting so many of them. We were a bit surprised to see lots of kids, considering there is no advertised Kids Club (they did actually have a teen club called Zao, which we did not explore). The FOOD was really excellent, with variety and quality. The presentation was good, although we missed the amazing watermelon and ice carvings they had at Cancun. The beach bar is a must sunset hangout, and all bartenders (and restaurant staff) we met were friendly and efficient. NIght-time entertainment was energetic and fun, perhaps better than Cancun, with Charles often at the center of it.
Bugs beach fleas(?) and mosquitos-- we had read about them, and we sprayed ourselves each evening, but we did not notice them except on a calm night after a rain. Bring spray (we used Sawyer 20% picaridin spray, which is nicer than DEET.) Benadryl and cortisone cream just in case.
SCUBA: we came largely for the scuba diving, and overall it was excellent. It takes a little effort to understand the procedure, but the Seafari staff is helpful --go to the shop on your first day and talk with them -- thanks, Tisbeth and Jean Paul and Yannick ! Pros: clear water (75-110 ft vis), warm water (83F) terrific steep walls, fairly frequent reef sharks. Cons: as I look back on it, there were not a lot of schools of fish (say, compared to Cozumel)The dive boats are huge and comfortable, but they carry tons of divers, and it is a bit chaotic getting all of your gear ready to go with so many folks on board. Many of the divemasters speak French and little English, so pay attention. You get your own gear attached, and their rental regulator console does NOT include a depth gauge. So you need to have your own or rent a computer, or pay for a dive guide and used their dive profile (we did that and it was great). Special thanks to dive guides Olivier and Denis -- you guys were outstanding.
Our family would gladly return to this Club without hesitation, and plan to do so in the next year or two.

Room Tip: We were in 611 and 612, second floor, north end of the resort. Ocean view partially obstructed by p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank williat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Columbus Isle, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear williat,
We appreciate your review on Club Med Colombus Isle. We’re so happy to hear that you enjoyed the powdered beaches and the calm waters. We are also especially glad that the main event did not disappoint and that you and your family enjoyed the Scuba facilities. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monore CT
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was our first trip to a Club Med and we absolutely loved it! We traveled with our two children ages 15 & 17, and our friends who have two children ages 18 & 16.
Beach-Beautiful, turquoise, deep blue. You can snorkel right off the beach. It is the most incredible color I have ever seen. The beach is approximately 2 miles long and it is never crowded. There are plenty of chairs and shade and there was never a problem finding anywhere to sit. We took tubes and goggles and did our snorkeling right there everday. Yes, there are sandfleas, mosquitos, bring some spray. However, the guys with us never got bit! Just spray on some stuff, reapply and don't go on the beach at dusk if you're prone to bites. Bring some Benadryl if you get itchy and spray it on.
Sports-There are plenty of water sports/activities to keep you busy all day long if you wish. Hobies, kayaks, paddleboards, waterskiing, snorkeling and diving. We did a snorkeling trip and it was lots of fun. Our families did a first time diving experience and the diving instrucor was awesome. Nick couldn't have been more patient or kind. He took out the kids and they had a great time. In fact, one of the teens went out a second time for another dive and enjoyed it! The guys who work over at the watersports are really nice! They had to come out and "help" me, thanks...Fred, aka, DERF, Dyson, Evan.
Rooms-They were better than we expected. We were never in them. The a/c worked perfectly, we never had a problem. We had a room with a view/balcony. We were at the far end by the dive shop. We enjoyed the walk after eating all that food!! Rooms were clean, we had towels/water. No complaints.
Shows-We saw a few. The GO's work really hard, they were cute/funny. There is lots of entertainment throughout the day/night. You can participate or not. There is water aerobics, power walks, aerobics classes a gym. Yannick was extremely friendly and our teens participated in volleyball and beach soccer. I took a walk with Karinna she was very friendly and informative.
Bartenders-We spent a lot of time getting drinks!! The bartenders work really, really, hard and they were really friendly. Wendell, Nick, Tim, Allan, Gabriel, Sidney, I hope I'm not forgetting anyone, They were all really nice and provided lots of great drinks/beer for Angelo and Chris!!
Food-Wow!!!!! It was magnificent. Everyday it was something different. We can't say enough. Fresh fish, salads, chef's stations. You can find something for the pickiest eater. Our teens loved the pasta station. The chef at that station was magnificent, sorry I didn't get his name. I apologize for forgetting the woman's name who runs the resturant but she runs a tight ship and she's really good at it!!
What a great week and we'd go back!! It's a great place and everyone works really hard to ensure that you have a great time!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcoppotelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Columbus Isle, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear mcoppotelli,
Magnificent food, awesome bar, activities to last throughout the day and night? It sounds like you truly took advantage of the Club Med experience! Thank you for mentioning our staff, they are all 100% committed to our resort and love that their hard work is noticed. All in all, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed a fantastic stay at our resort and are looking to visit again!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our trip to Club Med last week was simply unforgettable. We had heard great things about this destination through friends and family, but it surpassed all our expectations.

We thoroughly enjoyed the nightly shows, the unforgettable dinners, the beach parties and the July 4th fireworks. There is no detail left out by the organizers, and the entire machine runs extremely smoothly.

However, the most special thing about Club Med is its attentive, caring staff. We are relatively seasoned travelers and can confidently say that the attention we and our two children, Natasha and Alex, received was nothing short of genuine. Tracie, Francis and Thibaut were simply unbelievable in helping our kids learn to water-ski--they were so reassuring and appeared just as happy as we were to see our kids finally up and skiing. Yannick was another terrific host--he kept us all entertained, and always with a welcoming smile and a perpetual, positive attitude.

At the end of the day, it's all about the people--and the go's really made the trip for us. We are already planning our trip back next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Columbus Isle, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Larry K,
We appreciate your taking the time to write a review on your “unforgettable” stay at our resort. Our staff is hardworking and committed to creating a serene Club Med retreat and we are happy to hear that they left a mark on your stay. We wish to always welcome you back to our resorts with a warm smile and a positive attitude. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you next time.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Wow just got back from this club and loved it!!! Expected more kids nuts saw maybe five since there is no kids club it's full of adults who go out at night !,, great live bands, cool indoor AC club- bar, great water sports and not much else by day. Insane turquoise beach no shells or rocks and a reef out in ocean so just lulled on raft. Tons of smallish umbrellas both on beach n pool. Never had to get up early to claim one which was nice. Long property with pool n restaurant in middle. We stayed on quiet side towards sailing and gym. So happy less crowed beach. Had true oceanfront upstairs room. Layed in bed stating at water. Rooms are dated, crappy bathrooms...great AC !, heard renovation is slated for this fall. Commen areas well beautiful n very zen like. We hit perfect weather low 80's unheard of for this time. Food was really good as most of the four clubs I have been too are. Nothing to do outside the property. Only 1000 people on the island. Went to Nassau for two days and hated it. Crowds everywhere n beachs not the same. Loved our lub n would return. Easy to get to.

Room Tip: We had room 441. Upstairs true ocean front without any palm trees in view !!! Four rooms per buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Columbus Isle, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Kelly K,
A room with a view of our clear waters is not a bad way to end a night on our sandy white beaches. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of the live entertainment and our beach and pool areas. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is our sixth Club Med and, since Bora Bora closed, the best one yet. What it shares with Bora Bora is a very committed Chef de Village, Charles. He was everywhere! Checking out the dive boat before it left, greeting us at meals, in the shows, etc. The GOs were uniformly friendly and occasionally went way out of their way to be helpful. Phyllis made extra chocolate mousse one evening when I said something about not getting any that night - and there was chocolate mousse on the dessert table every occasion after that. Must have added two pounds just from the chocolate mousse - divine!
The water sports GOs, excursion and dive team get special mention. In great contrast to Punta Cana last year, Quentin produced fantastic choreography with his amateur cast for the shows. We saw some of the shows twice and enjoyed them both times.
We met people who have been coming to San Salvador for 10+ years. While we want to explore some more Club Meds, we will be back.

Room Tip: Basic rooms have no porch or balcony. Upgrades are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdallen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Public Relations Manager at Club Med Columbus Isle, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear sdallen13,
We are happy to hear that our staff was able to fulfill your chocolatey desires during your stay with us and we appreciate the mention of our water sports GOs and our diving excursions staff, as well. Nothing makes us happier than Club Med veterans and we are elated to hear that you are interested in returning to our Colombus Isle resort as well as our other resorts around the world.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Salvador
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nathan's Lodge
Nathan's Lodge
#4 of 23 in Andros
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Harbor Breeze Villas
Harbor Breeze Villas
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Andros Beach Club
Andros Beach Club
#1 of 23 in Andros
191 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pointe Resort
The Pointe Resort
#2 of 5 in Andros
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Columbus Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Columbus Isle

Property: Club Med Columbus Isle
Address: Cockburn Town, San Salvador
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Columbus Isle 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the refinement of the Bahamas during your stay at Columbus Isle. The heavenly all-inclusive resort of Columbus Isle is a paradise for diving and honeymoon vacations. Travel to Club Med Columbus Isle as a couple and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation in this secluded resort on the Caribbean Sea. Indulge in a massage* by the ocean or relax by the pristine beach. As one of the top 5 wall diving destinations in the Caribbean, this luxurious hideaway is also the best luxury resort for couples. This environmentally-friendly resort also offers a wide range of activities and sports for adults. No matter what your travel expectations are, you'll find the amenities at Columbus Isle to be more refined than anywhere else: premium oceanfront accommodations, oceanfront massage* palapas, and scuba diving* in one of the best diving spot worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Columbus Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Columbus Isle Hotel San Salvador
Club Med San Salvador
San Salvador Club Med
Columbus Isle Club Med
Club Med Columbus Isle Bahamas/San Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing