We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Columbus Isle
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite vacation”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

It was a truly wonderful week. The staff was fun and their friendliness sincere(with the exception of a few at the Front Desk) . The island retreat was gorgeous and serene. I appreciated that it was unmuttled by over-the-top details that could distract from the natural beauty. I loved listening to the sound of the waves and the wind in the palms that could be heard from my guest room. The daytime activities were fun and the pool beautiful. I wish the nightime shows were better - or that there were options like movies or board game nights. The food was SO good..too good :) The gym machines need a major overhaul though. That was a bummer. I hope to be abel to return someday soon to this wonderful place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifern183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Columbus Isle, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear jennifer n,
Thanks for the review! We're happy to hear that you were pleased with our resort, staff, activities, and pool area. Once again, thank you for the review and we truly hope to see you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,146
    1,133
    289
    103
    38
See reviews for
910
1,779
174
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The setting is sublime, the food is excellent, the beach is straight out of a movie and everyone smiles. It's hard to think of a better place to go to in order to completely unwind and have fun. I learned how to sail in only a few days thanks to the watersports team (James, Bryce, Evan, Camille and Mamadou). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westk18858
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We tried to book this resort for next week prior to a family wedding on another island. However, we only needed 6 nights, not 7, so that we could leave on Friday to hop over to the neighboring island. I was working with an online Club Med agent who explained that their policy was to only book 7 night stays, and that this is why I was unable to book my travel via clubmed.com (due to the flight/date restrictions)
He explained that in order to get pricing, and a Sat-Fri stay approved, he would need to ask 'management'. One week later I still didn't hear an answer. I was told that he was still waiting for " management approval".
Well, long story short, I am leaving in 6 days to stay at Sandals. I never heard back with an answer!!!
This club med sounds lovely based on most reviews. I am so disappointed in the customer services and inflexibility, that I will likely not give them a try in the future if my schedule allows to fit into their policy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank westk18858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Quick read: Great beach and excellent diving. Food is "good" not great. This is NOT a great place for singles/solo, mostly families and couples. Rooms are average for Club Med and are in decent shape but showing their age. Night life is not great and there is not much in the way of excursions

If you have already been to Club Med skip this section. Club Med was never about five star accommodations and service. On the contrary they can be mediocre depending on the club. Club Med has always been about fun. Activities, sports, and making new friends. You will arrive on a charter flight of strangers, an return home with a plane load of friends whom you are sad to see go their separate ways. The camaraderie and opportunity to meet new people at Club Med is second to none. The rooms at Club Med are usually fairly basic because you are not meant to spend much time there, you are out having fun, relaxing, dancing, or playing sports. Service leaves much to be desired at times because the staff at club med are usually very young people out for fun and adventure, they are not professionals. The same staff members (GO's) provide the night time entertainment. Club Med is not the Ritz.

The setting: it looks like a deserted island with an airport and club med. The beach is big and beautiful and the water is gorgeous. Take note though that in winter the water is pretty cold. The water temps are in the 70's which is chilly compared to islands further south. This is the coldest water I have experienced while on a "tropical" Island. Of course in summer the water is great. Divers need a 5mm wetsuit in winter (see below). There really is not much to see on the island, which is a flat coral atoll. About 800 locals live here in small settlements around the island. A quick 50-60 minute flight from Ft Lauderdale.

The club: this club is old but in decent shape. Rooms are typical old school Club Med and getting worn down. I was in several rooms and all smelled moldy/musty. Not uncommon in humid climates. Most rooms have an ocean view. The pool is quite small, but why people stay by the pool with a beautiful beach right there has never made sense to me. The dining room has a nice layout with inside and outside tables. The "reservation only" small restaurant open several days a week got mostly good reviews from people I talked to. The rooms are arranged in quadplex stucco structures and are very spread out. If you are a diving fanatic, stay in the 300-400 block close to the diving center, but realize you will have a long walk to the dining/pool area. If you are a tennis buff, stay at the other end of the club like the 600s.

The food: kind of disappointing overall, except for the deserts. The pasta station was good. I have been going to club med for 20 years so I know what they are capable of. I would rate it good but not great. A far cry from my favorite club in Cancun. Part of the problem I think is the source of the food. Nothing is grown locally and so has to imported, mostly from Nassau, and the quality could be better. In contrast Mexican clubs have massive amounts of fresh fruits, vegetables, seafood and access to local produce, chicken, etc.

Nightlife: move on, not much to see here. Pretty quiet by 11 or 12, except for a few sparsely attended parties at the beach bar.

Activities: great diving, see below. Tennis is popular here and there are daily lessons for all levels, about eight courts, several with night lighting and open until midnight. The water sports team was great, and the sailing here is good. You can rent bikes to cruise around the island.

Diving: the Bahamas are one of the worlds top dive destinations, and you won't be disappointed. Expect to see a LOT of sharks, up close and personal, mostly reef sharks and hammerheads. One dive group saw 22 hammerheads the day before I arrived! Oceanic white tip have been reported as well. I'd say the big draw is the animal life and not the coral. On my second dive I saw 6 reef sharks, a hawksbill turtle within touching distance, eels, stingrays and pilot whales, and the usual assortment of tropicals. There are two very nice large dive boats and the Seafari run dive operation is great. Winter diving here is pretty cold compared to islands further south. Nearly everyone wore a full length 5mm. A friend with a full length 3mm was cold. Several instructors wore hoods. Suits and all standard equipment are included in the price. I would advise against the dive packages unless you are sure you are going to use them all. No refunds unless you have a medical excuse.

Excursions: fhugedaboutit. Not many options here. Deep sea fishing and the lagoon tour got good reviews from our group.

Columbus Isle or Turks and Caicos? No brainer.

Bottom line: Both have great beaches and good diving. Do you like high energy and partying, or going solo? Turks and Caicos. Prefer a quieter family club with better everything ? Columbus Isle.

I have been to club med Turkoise many times going solo. If you are going by yourself, stop right now and go to Turkoise. Don't even think about it. No seriously don't even think about it. Columbus Isle is mainly families and couples, and this place closes down early. Late night at the bar in Turkoise is 5 deep and crowded, going on until the wee hours. There is no late night at Columbus Isle. Everyone is in bed by pretty early.

With the beaches and diving being excellent in both places, it depends what kind of atmosphere you want. Are you looking to hook up or party? Turks and Caicos. Looking for a quiet romantic getaway? Columbus Isle. If food, rooms and grounds are important, no question, Columbus Isle. If you want to do any island exploration, you have to go to Turkoise, as there is nothing else to see on Columbus Isle.

There are a lot of French people from France at Columbus Isle, but also French Canadians from Quebec, they both have direct charter flights to the island. There can definitely be a language barrier here more than other clubs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank melmark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Tree years ago, every thing was perfect there. Now I don't know why, maybe to reduce their cost of energy, but you can't control the temperature of the room. It's set to 23 Celsius which is hotter than the temperature outside during the night!

So to stay cool, you have to open the window and hear all the "night sounds" of the club.

The pool also so cold that there is almost no one swimming in it.

Food is great, desert are fine, the beach is amazing.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poupouatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Columbus Isle, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear poupouatthebeach,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed our beaches and dining options. However, we are very sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay. Please know that this is not the norm for Club Med. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope we get the chance to prove ourselves to you in the future.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Peaceful resort on beautiful stretch of virgin beach. Great food, different theme every night ( French, seafood, etc.). Couple of things to remember if you go: many French tourists, many topless women on the beach, great diving and snorkeling , each evening different dress code: all white, red and white, pink, etc., bring some colorful clothes to fit in.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DrYuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Columbus Isle, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear DrYuri,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We're thrilled that you enjoyed our beaches, dining options, entertainment, and resort activities. Once again, thanks for the review and we hope to see you again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a great holiday vacation. As previously mentioned by others, rooms could be updated...it's hit or miss and some are in worse shape than others. If you can survive this detail then you are in for a great vacation. Beach is like nowhere other...since this is a small island, the beach is only used by Club Med guests...safe for everyone. There was no waterskiimg like in the summer but since the weather was also cooler than in the summer months, we were able to play other sports such as tennis. Food was very good most of the time...the 'à la carte' restaurant is top notch and the New Year's evening and meal were quite exceptional to say the least. Bahamian night was also quite a treat. Although this is not a resort specifically for families, they make sure that during peak season, kids are well taken care of. Thanks to Fred for making our kids' week so much more enjoyable. Fred was like a big brother to the kids and made sure they had a blast.

Room Tip: Oceanview rooms are on the second level and garden view on floor level with bushes often covering an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Devotee68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Columbus Isle, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Devotee68,
Thank you for the review of Club Med Columbus Isle. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our beaches, dining options, and kids programs. We're also excited that our staff was able to meet all your needs during your visit. Once again, thanks for the review and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Salvador
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nathan's Lodge
Nathan's Lodge
#4 of 23 in Andros
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Harbor Breeze Villas
Harbor Breeze Villas
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pointe Resort
The Pointe Resort
#2 of 5 in Andros
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Andros Beach Club
Andros Beach Club
#1 of 23 in Andros
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Columbus Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Columbus Isle

Property: Club Med Columbus Isle
Address: Cockburn Town, San Salvador
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Columbus Isle 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the refinement of the Bahamas during your stay at Columbus Isle. The heavenly all-inclusive resort of Columbus Isle is a paradise for diving and honeymoon vacations. Travel to Club Med Columbus Isle as a couple and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation in this secluded resort on the Caribbean Sea. Indulge in a massage* by the ocean or relax by the pristine beach. As one of the top 5 wall diving destinations in the Caribbean, this luxurious hideaway is also the best luxury resort for couples. This environmentally-friendly resort also offers a wide range of activities and sports for adults. No matter what your travel expectations are, you'll find the amenities at Columbus Isle to be more refined than anywhere else: premium oceanfront accommodations, oceanfront massage* palapas, and scuba diving* in one of the best diving spot worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Columbus Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Columbus Isle Hotel San Salvador
Club Med San Salvador
San Salvador Club Med
Columbus Isle Club Med
Club Med Columbus Isle Bahamas/San Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing