We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Club Med Columbus Isle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Med Columbus Isle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Columbus Isle
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Club Med Columbus Isle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

This Club Med experience was wonderful! My husband and I just got back last night from a week Oct 15-22, 2011 to Columbus Isle to celebrate our 25th anniversary. The property is on a beautiful large stretch of white powder sand beach and azul warm blue water. I couldn't believe the photo's on the CM website are exactly the way it looks! We were welcomed and made to feel so comfortable from all of the staff,including Donata the Chief of the Village to ALL the wonderful GO's! Too many to name but you know who you are!
The food was incredible, each and every day. The Chef's are very talented especially the pastry chef who made delicious desserts. EVERYTHING was so yummy! We enjoyed the water sports and Jean-Paul runs an outstanding scuba/snorkeling program. He is so knowledgeble and helpful. The entire dive staff is well trained and focused on our enjoyment, comfort, and safety. A big thanks to Emile our Captain and Stephane who went snorkeling with us at the ship wreck and showed us a shark, lobster, and ray!! We had so much fun in the afternoon sailing with Josh's team..Francois & Nikko, who were all very helpful. The tennis courts are clay and well maintained. Our room was clean and nice. The bar and restaurant staff are so friendly and were always attentive! This was a fantastic vacation and can't wait to do it again! The one and only negative was mosquitos and they charge $15 for a version of OFF so bring your bug repellent.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Columbus Isle, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear RBelove,
Thank you so much for writing this review on your week long stay with us! Congratulations on 25 years with your husband! That is amazing and we are honored that you chose to celebrate with us. We can see that you both had an active and exciting stay by trying all the different sports we offer. We hope to have you back soon for another wonderful stay.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,990
    1,060
    275
    102
    34
See reviews for
857
1,649
153
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

A nearly perfect beach vacation experience. I have been to this location previously and while always solid, the fact that they keep improving on a well established club med model and what I think is an incredible location is impressive and a testament to managment, GO's, GE"s and even GM's.

This was the first week of the season so lots of new GO's but everything seemed to run very well. What they may lack in experience, they more than make up for with enthusiasm and hard work.

Honestly, every GO I encountered was helpful and upbeat. The bar team, with whom I had the most interaction, was excellent. Mark, Sebastian, Bruno, Mauro, Alan and Wendel are all strong bartenders and more importantly, great guys. The sports, tennis teams and reception were great and even though Team Office didnt win Trivia, we came very close and should have won.

Complaints or weaknesses: There are a few which I believe other reviewers point out. The facilities are very good, but if you are looking for a Four Seasons level of room or towels, this is not the place for you. Some updates and refreshing are needed, but to me this is a small point and not a destraction. The rooms and overall condition of the village is still very nice and clean and maintained.

Thanks for a great vacation, I will return!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonMexicoChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Columbus Isle, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear RonMexicoChicago,
Thank you for writing this review on your stay with us! We’re happy to hear you had a nearly perfect beach vacation experience. We’re glad you made some great connections with the GOs, especially at the bar and tennis team. Great job on almost winning the trivia! We can’t wait to have you back for another wonderful stay soon.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont-Royal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

My family was at Colombus Isle for 2 weeks in July. Although quite hot (as expected) this trip was magnificent. The food, the beach, the staff, the site, the rooms, everything was simply perfect. The GO's were also very friendly. Josh at waterski, Anne behind the bar all, Gary, Jean-Paul and Aniella at Scuba diving were exceptionable people. Our 3 kids, aged 11, 13, 15 had the greatest time ever. Best Club Med of all those we visited (Dominican Republic, Guadeloupe, Cancun). Thank you to this great Chef de Village!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Columbus Isle, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear Paul W,
Thank you for such a raving review! We appreciate your kind words. We're happy to know that your family really enjoyed themselves and everything met your expectations. We will let our staff know how much you enjoyed them! Please come back and visit us again soon. We'd love to have you!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

I and a friend planned a 4 night diving trip to Clud Med Colombus Isle form August 20-24, 2011. The village is in a superb location and as beautiful as presented in the photos.

Rooms
My room was in the front with beach view and was very spacious. I was positively surprised. This was definitely higher standrad than rooms in Turks and Caicos village.

Food
food was quite varied and quality.

Staff
Generally speaking all staff were very friendly and competent. The only exceptions were 2 kids at the reception desk Max and a quebecois who seemed consistenly annoyed by any type of requests and short of any possible imagination or ability to connect with their guests. A quick career change may be wise for them.


Diving
Colombus is a premium spot for diving and seeing sharks. ClubMEd outsources diving to Seafari which is a great company. However you have to end up with the right instructor. Our first dive with instructor Kristen was not up to the standard. She barely gave us any coaching and briefing about the dive location, and was not very involved with checking our gear and providing much support. The second dive day was with soon to become friend instructor Saffet who provided a whole new level experience with his kindness and professionalism.


Internet
Internet access is rather slow and expensive at $15 per day. Some improvements there are welcome including upgrading the PCs

Evenings
I am not too much into Club Med shows so I won't comment there.The bar is nice but could use some more open minded DJs who refuse to put much latin or caribbean music to guests who beg them to do so. After all we are in the hear of the caribbean?


Hurricane
We ended up being stuck in the village for another 3 days because of Hurricane Irene. I command Barch and his team for their superb organisation to pass the storm with food, flash lights and other safety measures and sense of detail. We were stuck over 24 hours in the room but it was both a scary& fun experience overall.
The return flght however was a mess as Air Bahamas left us stranded in Nassau on our way back to Fort Lauderdale. Club Med should not have sent us without the insurance we were flown all the way home. We ended up buying a hotel room in Nassau and struggling to get a plane back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adlanefellah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Columbus Isle, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear adlanefellah,

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your diving adventures at Columbus isle. We apologize about your first Seafari instructor, the two staff at the reception desk, and our DJ. The hurricane was an unpredicted weather occurrence, but we're happy you were comfortable and safe. Please accept our sincerest apologies about you return flight. We hope this does not hinder you from staying with us again.

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

My girlfriend and I recently returned from a week long trip to this resort and we hated leaving. While she had been to other Club Meds before, this was my first...and will not be my last. We had a fantastic time at the resort.

The best part was definitely the beach. It was so expansive that we never felt crowded, even though the resort was at 100% occupancy. Even in the August heat, the sand never got hot and the ocean was just the right temperature to cool you off while tempting you to never get out.

The staff was nice but there were two that stood out above the rest, Talia and Hugo!! Both went above and beyond what was expected to make us feel welcomed and part of the Club Med family. They are enormous assets to the resort and if you're planning to go there and are fortunate enough to meet them, I'm sure you'll agree.

Thanks again for a great, great vacation!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mim-1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Columbus Isle, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Dear mim-1966,
Thank you for writing this fantastic review! We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your week long trip to Columbus Isle. We can see that you had a great time on the beach and getting to know the staff. We will pass along your kind words to Talia and Hugo. We hope to see you again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUYISVILLE KY
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

We have been at Cloumbus Isle many times. We were happy to see many retunring GO's. The leadership under Barg the village head was excellent. The dining room under Hugo's leadership was the best managed of any we have seen from Club Med. His staff from top to bottom was great. The scuba team and diving was the best. They could use a spa but the massages my wife got were very good.. Watersking headed by Josh was very busy but well orgamized. The shows and energy level of the village was great. Food was excellent good quality and variety. Hats off to Phliss and her almond cookies. On a par wth the white choclate bread. The bar staff was great.
All in all a great vacation.
The only down side was that we have been there often and now Spirit is now charging if you have more than one bag per person. As divers that is quite difficut to do. Spiirit is what it is. Fly them only when necessary.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TEDSPARTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Columbus Isle, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Dear TEDSPARTY,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Club Med! We're pleased to learn our resort met your expectations, and that you connected with the staff; we will pass along your kind words to them. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

The beach is fantastic ! The facilities also very nice, food delicious, great sports activities, but the main difference was made by the GO Team, with Barq as the leader, this is a truly friendly group that represents the Club Med as it was originally conceived. To recognize some of the GOs:

Eric, Matthiew, Cristina, Nicole: great lunch, dinner and entertaintment companions, excellent manners, always with a smile, and very professional about their jobs are relations with other GOs and management.

Mylin: Fantastic food creations.

Mark, Vikee, Mauricio and the rest of the bar team, including the GEs: Fantastic service and pretty good drinks too...

Jean Paul: A Club Med vet, running the scuba and snorkeling team to perfection, not to mention his talent at the shows...

Alyssa, at the restaurant, remarkable service, and again, the smile.

This was my 1st solo trip, and I do recommend it to anybody who wants to enjoy the sports, the food and conversation, not huge on partying, as is mostly families, but still there is enough entertainment and dancing at night to make it a complete vacation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Columbus Isle, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear Susana L,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We are pleased to read that you had a successful first solo trip! We can see that you made lasting memories with the GOs of the resort. We will pass along your kind words to them. We hope to have you back for another wonderful vacation soon!

Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Salvador
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
0.0 mi away
Saint Peter's Bay
Saint Peter's Bay
#5 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
869.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nathan's Lodge
Nathan's Lodge
#6 of 23 in Andros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbor Breeze Villas
Harbor Breeze Villas
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Columbus Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Columbus Isle

Property: Club Med Columbus Isle
Address: Cockburn Town, San Salvador
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > San Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Columbus Isle 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the refinement of the Bahamas during your stay at Columbus Isle. The heavenly all-inclusive resort of Columbus Isle is a paradise for diving and honeymoon vacations. Travel to Club Med Columbus Isle as a couple and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation in this secluded resort on the Caribbean Sea. Indulge in a massage* by the ocean or relax by the pristine beach. As one of the top 5 wall diving destinations in the Caribbean, this luxurious hideaway is also the best luxury resort for couples. This environmentally-friendly resort also offers a wide range of activities and sports for adults. No matter what your travel expectations are, you'll find the amenities at Columbus Isle to be more refined than anywhere else: premium oceanfront accommodations, oceanfront massage* palapas, and scuba diving* in one of the best diving spot worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Columbus Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Columbus Isle Hotel San Salvador
Club Med San Salvador
San Salvador Club Med
Columbus Isle Club Med
Club Med Columbus Isle Bahamas/San Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing