We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a new staff manager”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Needs a new staff manager”
Reviewed July 4, 2006

The location was great.

We had a few roaches in out room, but it looked pretty clean. The food was just OK and the chef seemed to like to check out my wife as she was walking away. The staff was very friendly. The only problem we had was with the manager Tracy. SHe was very rude and ran the place with an iron fist. I think she fired three people while we were there.

We asked if she could book us a fishing trip and she was very rude to us. She also informed us that we were on the bottom of her list because she has several others people that were staying for more that ust 3 nighs. WOw!! I can't believe she said that.

Other that her the place is beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank oubeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, Manager at Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
We have new owners and a new team with new guest rooms, renovated restaurants and great service. Please come back and give us an opportunity to wow you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    31
    5
    8
    6
See reviews for
41
53
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 21, 2006

After nearly thirty years travelling around the world's tropical and sub-tropical islands, I can honestly say that Green Turtle Cay (and Bluff House especially) is at the top of the list of our favourite places, bar none.

The balance is perfect for us...tranquil, peaceful, out-island experience, with stunning beaches, excellent food, glorious clear turquoise sea, superb fishing, excellent scuba diving friendly charming local people and staff, yet still civilised enough to enjoy a luxurious holiday without being at all snobby. Most importantly, the beaches...Oh My God! Even at the busiest times of year, yours are the only footprints on the best beaches you could possibly find, anywhere.

We love the fact that we can use a golf cart to travel around the island and also hire a good Boston Whaler boat to self-drive for snorkelling and beach picnics whenever we want. This latter point with boat hire is extremely unusual worldwide and really worth considering. Last time out, we were surrounded by a pod of about 20 dolphins, with at least one little baby in tow. You can also expect to see turtles, rays, sharks (not dangerous here), and a multitude of other marine and bird life.

Another very important factor is that Green Turtle Cay has virtually no crime, so you can feel perfectly safe not locking your hotel room door, or letting your kids roam around at will.

The island is not cheap though, which means that self-catering (which you can do at Bluff House) is a good idea, mixed in with the occasional lunch or night out at one of the two restaurants on site, or travel by golf buggy to a sweet little local bar or restaurant nearby. Don't get the wrong impression though...there are only a few bars and they are very 'out-island', which means simple, fun and charming.

If you want some local music, then there is a cool local band that plays once a week at Bluff House, but this isn't a destination for lovers of bright lights and nightlife...

Think in terms of a veeerrrryyy relaxed atmosphere, mon, and you have it about right.

We once saw the main headline in the local newspaper, which read: "Garbage Truck Nearly Has Accident". That just about says it all.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2006

Spent a week at the Bluff House in May and loved it. I've been to over 20 Caribbean Islands and I'd put Green Turtle Cay up there with the best. Very quiet restful island, gorgeous beaches, very friendly people. Don't come here for a rowdy time.

You get around the island on a golf cart! Really fun and perfect for driving down those dirt beach roads. There are quite a few little places to get tropical drinks such as Pineapples, and dont' miss Miss Emily's Blue Bee.

The Bluff House was a great place to stay, our room was terrific. We had an upper level deluxe room, king size bed, couch, table with 2 chairs and french doors out to a big balcony overlooking the ocean. There's a coffee maker and small fridge. The balcony had nice padded outdoor chairs, although I saw some units had chaise lounges. Everything is clean and neat, housekeepers do a great job everyday.

The beach needed to be maintained a little better, not very inviting. Pool area is great.
The Jolly Roger has incredible drinks, food is pretty good. Bar-b-q night is fabulous!!!
Chicken, ribs, lobster tails, beef, salads and dessert. The main restaurant is too expensive for what you get.

Tracy is the manager there and works herself to the bone to keep the guests happy. The staff will remember your name and anyone is more than willing to help you in any way they can.

Bring cash to this island, no ATM and the bank is only open 4 hours a week. A lot of small shops and restaurants don't take credit cards. You don't need anything dressy unless you're eating in the main restaurant at the Bluff House or at the Green Turtle Club, and even then, slacks and a clean jersey will do.

We had a great time here and we'd definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SunJamaica6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2006

Just got back from a week's stay in one of the Marina Villas. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. I understand that the Marina Villas are privately owned, but managed through the Bluff House. Therefore, it may be that some of the variety of reviews is a result of individual owners. Our villa, right above the pool, was beautifully taken care of and stocked with everything you can imagine, including two TVs and lots of DVDs and videos, even though the Bluff House website says the rooms do not have TVs. It was very spacious, with a large, wrap-around screened porch - perfect for evenings. The Yachtsman's Cottages are just being built; it appears some are already done and are owned privately and others are still under construction. Those do not have screened porches, only large decks. I didn't get a chance to see any of the rooms at the Bluff House, so I can't speak for their upkeep. Those rooms are on the Sea of Abaco side, facing the sunset, whereas the Marina Villas face east to the White Sound and the Marina.
If you come here, you need to understand that there is nothing much going on - this is a place for relaxation. The resort is small, the pool is small, but adequate. The main restaurant is good, but pricey. The Jolly Roger bar and bistro has good food, but it is expensive, as is most food on GTC because it all has to be shipped in. Most restaurants serve basically the same menu. They have a B-B-Q once a week with a band playing and that is the extent of the excitement. The ocean beaches are beautiful, but can be rough at high tide. The beach at the Bluff House is really nice, however, it is not for swimming. You can walk out forever and it is not up to your knees. It is good for shelling and we saw lots of animals.
We did two days of snorkeling with Brendal's Dive Center and it was fantastic, plus a day of deep sea fishing, where my husband caught quite a lot of fish, which we gave to Bluff House to cook for everyone.
All in all, we loved it and had a great, leisurely time.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jleung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 21, 2006

I loved staying at the Bluff House and would recommend it to friends and family. The rooms were beautiful, clean, well kept, and with amazing views. The staff was friendly and helpful and Molly was particularly great! The resturant was good, but not great - slow at times, not enough staff. I have heard it is in the process of being sold, so things may change in the future.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2006

My husband and I recently returned from a stay at the Bluff House. I would not recommend this resort to anyone at this time. We heard that it is currently in the process of being sold. The facility is old and tired, the staff is indifferent, and the chef has not been particularly well trained in the culinary arts. The only thing special about Bluff House is the wonderful sunset views from some of the rooms.

Helpful?
8 Thank arabella5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 22, 2006

The accommodations and people were the greatest. I'd go back in a heart beat just for Molly and Seinna. Greatest people on earth.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Green Turtle Cay
23.8 mi away
The Abaco Club
The Abaco Club
#2 of 6 in Marsh Harbour
33 reviews
8.0 mi away
Bahama Beach Club
Bahama Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Treasure Cay
238 reviews
16.1 mi away
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
#2 of 5 in Great Guana Cay
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
8.0 mi away
Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort
0.4 mi away
Green Turtle Club & Marina
Green Turtle Club & Marina
#1 of 2 in Green Turtle Cay
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina

Property: Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina
Address: Between the Abaco Sea & White Sound, Green Turtle Cay (Formerly Bluff House Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Abaco Islands > Green Turtle Cay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Green Turtle Cay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the highest point of Green Turtle Cay, this 12 acre tropical Bahamian paradise stretches from White Sound to the Sea of Abaco. Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina has been described as the "most special piece of property in the Abaco islands." Our spacious and luxurious hotel suites are bright and cheery with overwater balconies. Each room offer direct ocean front views, king size beds, a sofa that pulls out to a queen size bed, dining table, flat screen TV, mini refrigerator, coffee maker, cable TV and free Wi-Fi. Our private white sand beach is just steps away from your room. The Tranquil Turtle Beach Bar is located on our private beach overlooking the Sea of Abaco where guests can swim and lounge. The Tranquil Turtle serves lunch and snacks. Enjoy great island food and tropical drinks on the patio deck. Tie up at our dock or dinghy in to enjoy the stunning sunsets and unsurpassed hospitality. The Ballyhoo Bar & Grill serves delicious breakfast, lunch, and dinner seven days a week. Dine outside on the harbour side deck or inside in our air-conditioned dining room with great views of the water. Lounge by our outdoor swimming pool located adjacent to Ballyhoo. The Low Tide Gift Shop offers a variety of island goodies, resort wear, resort logoed tees, hats & shirts, as well as basic personal care items. Our Front Desk Staff can arrange golf cart rentals, fishing trips, diving excursions and give you tips for the best spots to explore on Green Turtle and the surrounding cays. Inquire about our ever special events and our popular wedding and honeymoon packages Bluff House Beach Resort also offers a 46 slip, full-service Marina that can accommodate vessels up to 120' as well as 6 large catamaran slips. Fuel, gas, ice and bait are available from our docks on White Sound. Complimentary Cable TV and WiFi. Six luxury marble restrooms and 4 luxury showers are available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluff Hotel Beach
Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina Green Turtle Cay, Bahamas - Out Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing