We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Management and Back Strong”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina
Certificate of Excellence
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“New Management and Back Strong”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The Bluff House is back open with new management and the staff and facilities are great.
The restaurant and bar have good service and the food and drinks are great and at fair prices for the islands and an upscale facility.
The new cottages are finished and just waiting government inspection..hope that happens soon. Stayed in the Barefoot Homes rentals next door in the Dove Cottage. The cottage was a 3bedroom 3 1/2 bath and was just wonderful and we had use of all the facilities at the Bluff House including use of docks for our rental boat. The marina is in great shape and has fuel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasSkyPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    31
    5
    8
    6
See reviews for
41
53
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
418 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Some would say that the Bluff House has seen better days but this was the perfect location for us. We caught the ferry just north of Treasure Cay and it makes two stops on Green Turtle Cay – the Bluff House and Plymouth. Be sure to tell the captain where you want off. We stayed for a week. The property is spread over a hill on a point. We stayed in the Seacomber Villas – really a one bedroom suite overlooking the Sea of Abaco. It was everything we could have hoped for. The unit was spacious, clean, bright with 3 large sliding doors and a wrap around deck on two sides. Sunsets were superb as was access to their private beach. The pool, bar, restaurant and marina were almost deserted in January as the weather was a bit cool. Robin Phillips was most helpful. She arranged for our golf cart which really is a must to be brought to the unit. The wonderful Atlantic beaches are 10 minutes away by golf car. You’ll want to make multiple visits into New Plymouth at the opposite end of the island to try the local kitchens or to do your food shopping. For those who dive or snorkel be sure to go out with Brendal. His fresh lobster feast on the Man-O-War beach is outstanding. Brendal makes every trip special.
We also had an opportunity to see the recently built 3 bedroom villas which overlook the natural bay and the marina. They look superb and can be rented as one, two or 3 bedrooms.
Green Turtle Cay is a place to relax and let the world go by.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TGB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribbean
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

My husband and I stayed in a split-level suite at Bluff House for 3 nights. We found the room to be very comfortable and cozy. The view of the ocean was amazing - complete with palm trees, tropical flowers, and crystal clear water. We saw a few beautiful sunsets from a pier right outside our room.
From the moment we arrived the staff was very nice and attentive. They made us feel welcome and made sure we had everything we needed, down to arranging tours, ferries, and golf carts for us. The service in the restaurant was a little slow at times, but we didn't mind - we were on vacation and were happy to take things at a slower pace! The food wasn't bad, but we would also recommend renting a golf cart for at least a day to go into town and try some of the restaurants there. We enjoyed dinner at McIntosh's and drinks at Miss Emily's.
While you are on Green Turtle Cay, definitely take a trip with Brendall's Dive Center. He is very well known on the island and does wonderful snorkel and dive trips. We had a great time going out on his boat to snorkel at Guana Cay and enjoy a Sunday bbq there.
Bluff House is a great destination for a romantic getaway - it's very quiet and peaceful with beautiful scenery and pleasant staff. We will hopefully get to return soon!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachtraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Sadly, what used to be a gem on this small island is no longer a place anyone would want to stay. I stayed at the property with a large group of friends to attend a wedding in March. I had stayed at the property a couple of times in years past and was disappointed to find none of the friendly faces that used to make this resort special. Instead I found the service non-existent, the food downright horrendous, and the rooms sub-standard. There appears to be no management of the property, and the property is rundown and badly in need of refurbishing; the pool was green with algae. Our breakfast was never served before it was cold, and staff and management seemed to be unconcerned. There are other recommended resorts on the small island, and for weddings I would recommend The Green Turtle Club. I learned while there that Molly McIntosh--one of those special people who made the Bluff House great many years ago--now coordinates weddings for the Club. That says it all to me.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hibiscus101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, Manager at Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We have new owners and a new team with brand new rooms and a wonderful food and beverage operation. We wish you would come back and let us really wow you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2008

We have rarely stayed at a place where the staff was so friendly and forthcoming. We went during a very slow time, and actually got a free upgrade we would have been willing to pay for... We both work in the tourist industry, so we know how hard it can be to be so friendly! Bluff House ist a beautiful property and we got exactly what we hoped we would find: a luxurious beautiful hotel with very nice beach, away from everything, where you actually have to walk a ways or rent a golfcart to "escape" from the peaceful and relaxing setting. We went scuba diving (Brendal picked us up right at the dock of the Bluff House, how cool is that!), relaxed on the beach and our wonderful patio, ate the delicious food at the restaurant, and explored the island (mostly on foot, we only took a golfcart for 1 day). This is the place to go if you want to get away!

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank Scuba-Fun-Key-Largo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2008

I just wanted to let everyone know that although the Bluff House is not a lavish and swanky hotel, this is one of the most comfortable, beautiful, and relaxing places I have ever visited. I had stayed there last year in 2007 for a week also and chose to return once again, for its location, but most of all its staff and lovely people. The family owned resort is managed by Mike Zack, originally from the states and familiar with resort hospitality. He has created a wonderful crew from the restaurant to the hotel staff that is available at any time. We arrived off the ferry after 9;30pm, and to our surprise a call was made by Robin, which is part of the family which own the resort, and Carol Jean from Kool Karts had a golf cart to us before we could finish our late dinner. Where else do you get pampered in this way. We also make friends with Carol and Mark which own Kool Carts and joined them for dinner in their home. What more can I say,...........Gorgeous beaches, wonderful seaglass, great food, ..did I mention the Tranquil Turtles..............If you don't stay here, you'll miss "the boat".a
Can't wait to get back, Sandra R. Steed, Bob Wilson, NC

  • Liked — personal service and kindness of people
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lasasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2007

I can see why some other posters have written some negatives about Bluff House, but I'm not sure if they balanced their reports correctly.

Last August was the fourth time in four years that my family and I have visited this place and that pretty much tells its own story...we absolutely love it.

To put this into perspective, we have travelled widely, looking for the perfect place for us...with great, tranquil destinations, gorgeous beaches, clear turquoise blue seas, great food, great fishing, no crime and friendly people...

We went to the Seychelles, Maldives, Grenada, St Lucia, Antigua, BVI, Baha Mexico, and so on and so on. But there is always a compromise on something...Grenada, sea not as clear; Seychelles, wildly expensive; St Lucia volcanic 'grey' beaches; Maldives too hotelly and restrictive by island; etc etc.

By the way, all of the less populated and built-up islands in the tropics and and sub tropics have bugs and poor roads, so why go there if you are worried?

In the end, we have settled on Bluff House on Green Turtle Cay for our holidays over the last few years, because it delivers on all our requirements...stunning beaches, clear waters, no crime on the island, excellent food, boats we can self-drive, brilliant fishing, tranquility and more than anything, the most charming people we have ever met on our travels.

The hotel itself is spread over a hill on a point, with the Sea of Abaco on one side and a natural Bay on the other. The Atalntic Ocean beaches are about 10 minutes away on a golf buggy. Accomodation varies from smallish single rooms to three bedroom villas, and I have to say, the older rooms are in need of some renovation . The new ones are gorgeous tho. The open air bar and restaurant is wonderful, and the smarter restaurant in the club house with a conservatory at the top of the hill has an amazing view.


If you want night life, this isn't for you. If you want super-fast service and dining with a tie, this isn't for you either. If you are worried about bugs or rough roads, then go to a busy island instead.

In our view, great great great!

Love it!

J

  • Liked — the views!
  • Disliked — nothing bad to say
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank jasonandkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Green Turtle Cay
23.8 mi away
The Abaco Club
The Abaco Club
#2 of 6 in Marsh Harbour
33 reviews
8.0 mi away
Bahama Beach Club
Bahama Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Treasure Cay
238 reviews
16.1 mi away
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
#2 of 5 in Great Guana Cay
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
8.0 mi away
Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort
0.4 mi away
Green Turtle Club & Marina
Green Turtle Club & Marina
#1 of 2 in Green Turtle Cay
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina

Property: Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina
Address: Between the Abaco Sea & White Sound, Green Turtle Cay (Formerly Bluff House Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Abaco Islands > Green Turtle Cay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Green Turtle Cay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the highest point of Green Turtle Cay, this 12 acre tropical Bahamian paradise stretches from White Sound to the Sea of Abaco. Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina has been described as the "most special piece of property in the Abaco islands." Our spacious and luxurious hotel suites are bright and cheery with overwater balconies. Each room offer direct ocean front views, king size beds, a sofa that pulls out to a queen size bed, dining table, flat screen TV, mini refrigerator, coffee maker, cable TV and free Wi-Fi. Our private white sand beach is just steps away from your room. The Tranquil Turtle Beach Bar is located on our private beach overlooking the Sea of Abaco where guests can swim and lounge. The Tranquil Turtle serves lunch and snacks. Enjoy great island food and tropical drinks on the patio deck. Tie up at our dock or dinghy in to enjoy the stunning sunsets and unsurpassed hospitality. The Ballyhoo Bar & Grill serves delicious breakfast, lunch, and dinner seven days a week. Dine outside on the harbour side deck or inside in our air-conditioned dining room with great views of the water. Lounge by our outdoor swimming pool located adjacent to Ballyhoo. The Low Tide Gift Shop offers a variety of island goodies, resort wear, resort logoed tees, hats & shirts, as well as basic personal care items. Our Front Desk Staff can arrange golf cart rentals, fishing trips, diving excursions and give you tips for the best spots to explore on Green Turtle and the surrounding cays. Inquire about our ever special events and our popular wedding and honeymoon packages Bluff House Beach Resort also offers a 46 slip, full-service Marina that can accommodate vessels up to 120' as well as 6 large catamaran slips. Fuel, gas, ice and bait are available from our docks on White Sound. Complimentary Cable TV and WiFi. Six luxury marble restrooms and 4 luxury showers are available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluff Hotel Beach
Bluff House Beach Resort & Marina Green Turtle Cay, Bahamas - Out Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing