We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel- Friendly staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Exuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Breezy Hill Exuma Bahamas
Ranked #3 of 13 Great Exuma B&B and Inns
Kobenhavn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel- Friendly staff”
Reviewed May 29, 2011

I am from Denmark & I love travelling Entering the hotel and the warm, inviting lobby with check-in tucked off to the side, you wouldn't think you were entering a hotel that is this young, which is one of the reasons why the hotel is so special. And the rooms are spacious and ultra-comfortable

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Expedia-Customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    21
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
30
61
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee Mission, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2011

After hours and hours of searching the web about the Caribbean, we chose Breezy Hills, Great Exuma as the destination to experience the beauty of turquoise waters and sugar white beaches. It was a dream vacation from start to finish. Larry and Esther met us at the airport with big smiles and open arms. They are a very dear couple who love to share the beauty of the island with others. We are an adventurous family and we were captivated every moment of every day. We snorkled 5 of the 6 days and even snorkeled right off the beach of the guest house. Larry gave us directions to a blue hole. We were rewarded for the search when we found it... amazing and ominous! Tne Bahamians are very kind people. We loved talking with all the women at the straw market, dancing to the Rake and Scrape music at Eddy's and renting a boat from Minn's. The helpful lady at Minn's perfectly mapped the best snorkel spots for us. She was right on...we saw fish and coral of every shape and color. Each night, we had so much fun going over the details of the day. It was so nice to come "home" to the guesthouse each night. The breeze was heavenly. Sun, sand, fish, water by day...cool breezes, sounds of the ocean, brilliant stars and cozy kingsize bed by night! We were so blessed to spend the week there. A heartfelt thank you to Esther and Larry for being such gracious hosts. We hope to return.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlessedBySonshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee Mission, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2011

My parents, sister, and I had a wonderful time in Exuma, Bahamas, staying at Breezy Hill. What a beautiful view we had from the house! It was great to spend the day adventuring, and then to be able to come back to our own house, with a kitchen to cook in if we didn't want to eat out, and a big living room to relax and rest in while watching tv, playing a game, or trying to identify the fish that we saw while snorkeling (Larry and Esther provided us with many books about fish, corals, and shells to help with this endeavor). The house is tucked away off the main road, so you really feel like you have your own private place and beach! Larry and Esther are great people and so friendly; they made us feel right at home and provided us with whatever we needed. As a young adult, I have not traveled much, but I would definitely go back to Breezy Hill! Thanks for a great time!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jb0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

Exuma was absolutely amazing. What a gorgeous island. We had a very nice stay other than a small mix-up at the airport. Apparently there were 2 other vacationers with the same name's as my husband and I! But we found Breezy Hill with help from some very friendly locals. We spent 10 days exploring , eating, enjoying the AMAZING beaches and water, fishing, and just plain old relaxing. We slept like babies at night.
Breezy hill was very comfortable, and clean. We had only to provide ourselves with meals and have fun. As a reviewer stated below, yes the central air is contolled by the owners in their home next door. But they made sure it was on when it needed to be, and off when it made sense to be off. This IS island living, and most of us go to the Bahamas for the nice weather!!! As for the milk issue "Carol Gray" has, if you are going to be upset with a substitute....stay home!! There are NO cows on Exuma! :o) When we ran out of toilet paper, we went to get our own. And most of us bring our own shower supplies....... so I don't know why she expected Larry to provide her with soap!
Anyhow.....Larry was more than willing to help with tips and advice, and it was very comforting to come to "our own private little house" at the end of the day. We enjoyed visiting with him and it was great to have inside info to the island.
This IS NOT a sandahls resort, so if you are looking to be pampered and catered to 24/7.......you need to stay there instead. But if you are looking for a nice, clean, comfotable, safe place to stay that allows you some room to explore on your own...Breezy Hill is for you!
We wish were were still there, and cannot wait to come back again for our next vacation! Thank you Larry. Esther was not there for our visit but we will surely meet her next time!! WE LOVED IT ON EXUMA ISLAND!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs-IWU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Great Exuma was beautiful, Our stay at Breezy Hill was not. Maybe because Ester was not there and had not been for several weeks.
We stayed in the guest house. When we arrived the air conditioning had not been turned on. My first stop was the bathroom. One half roll of toilet paper (two bathrooms) and the holder has been adjusted so you can't unroll.
We walked to the beach. It was beautiful but there was a large pile of trash that needed to be picked up and moved and the path needed to be trimmed.
Each day when we left, Larry turned off our air conditioner. He has a lock on the thermostat so you can't adjust it up or down. Coming back after a hot day on the beach, the last thing I needed was a hot home that took two hours to cool down.
The milk was from France and dated June. The butter was just a little left in a tub and dated January of this year. On the third day we were there, Larry gave us a box of muffins with one day left on expiration. (This is a bed and breakfast)
We had ants everywhere especially on the kitchen counters. We kept everything in the fridge where there were all kinds of half eaten supplies left over.
We asked for a bar of soap. Didn't get it. We did get two more rolls of toilet paper. There were no paper towels, napkins or kleenex. The dishes were not clean and we had to wash everything before using. We had a television but it popped and cracked and the picture was really bad.
The final straw was as we drove in one afternoon, we saw Larry walk behind his house. Another guest went around to rinse off the sand (we always did this before going into the house) and Larry had stripped naked and was taking a shower. Did he not see us drive in???
I would go back to Great Exuma but would not put my $$ at Breezy Hill. Cute home and with a few very inexpensive changes could be so nice.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CarolGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larryetta3632, Owner at Breezy Hill Exuma Bahamas, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
Dear Tripadvisor Guests,

Although we try to accommodate any and everyone to the best of our abilities, we have found that we cannot please everyone.

We ask that you take this review and assess the issues with our other reviews and make an informed decision as to wether you choose to come for a visit to BREEZY HILL.

We certainly apologize for any difficulties or inconveniences that these guests have experienced and it is our hope that our future guests will not have any hesitancy in communicating any problems with us that they may encounter while visiting BREEZY HILL.

We welcome all of you to Come, Rest, Relax and ENJOY! at BREEZY HILL today!

Sincerely,
Larry & Esther Taylor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Breezy hill is where you want to be if you want to get away from everything! Which is exactly what we wanted.
We rented the guest house for 4 nights with a couple of friends. It is plenty spacious and we had everything we needed. The kitchen is well equipped. There is satellite TV , and the internet connection was very fast. Note that the phone is in the main house, so you have to go there if you need to make a call, but Larry was always there, and you can depend on him at all time. He pointed us in the right direction for everything thing, from fresh fish to the best beaches. Of course if you want to explore the island, you will need a rental car since Breezy hill is tucked away...We had a great time and if we were to go back to Exuma, we would definitely stay there again...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgutierrez5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hero, Vermont, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Three of us recently spent a Girls' Getaway week on Great Exuma, staying at the Breezy Hill Guest cottage. For two months prior to our departure, I emailed regularly with Esther Taylor to make the arrangements, learn about the island, and get her wonderful advice about what to bring and what to do when we got there. Unfortunately, Esther was not on the island during our visit. We hope to meet her someday!

When we arrived, Larry Taylor met us at the airport and happily drove us to the grocery and beverage stores, and to a local restaurant so we could take out a fresh conch dinner. Larry helped us to get settled, and then drove us back to the airport the next morning so we could pick up our rental car. (Thank you again, Larry!) Larry also kindly stocked the fridge with eggs, bread, butter, and a delicious homemade banana bread so we had something to eat on our first morning.

The cottage is spacious and very clean. The tile floors are perfect for keeping cool and sweeping up the sand and salt. The bedrooms are good-sized with comfy king beds and ceiling fans. The sofa bed in the living room is pretty good, too. The kitchen is big with plenty of appliances, pans, utensils, and so on. Everything you need to cook... or not!

The cottage has a big porch with a great view of the ocean. Perfect for happy hour after a day of snorkeling or wandering. The beautiful, private beach is just a short stroll downhill, and the water is filled with all of your favorite tropical fish. We also saw a huge crab and a sea turtle.

We were happy that we took Esther's advice and rented a car. We drove all around the island to explore. Great Exuma has a lot of history (ruins, tombs, goats!), and many beautiful beaches. We snorkeled at Breezy Hill beach, the beach near Big D's Conch Shack, and at Hurricane Hole on Stocking Island. When the weather turned windy we went boogie-boarding at Tropic of Cancer Beach.

Must do/see: Visit the Salt Beacon on Little Exuma, have lunch at Santana's, and walk along the Tropic of Cancer Beach. Eat lunch at Big D's Conch Shack, find the statue of Pompey and explore the jail ruins. Take a water taxi to Stocking Island and have lunch at the Chat 'n' Chill (if you're feeling adventurous, snorkel Hurricane Hole and find the cave). For dinner, we found ourselves at Splash three times! Houseman's near Breezy Hill is great also.

The local Bahamians were wonderful. They were very helpful whenever we asked for advice or directions, and they kindly reminded me to "Keep Left!" when I accidentally drove the car in the right lane coming out of a roundabout. We felt 100% safe and welcomed on Great Exuma.

If you like relaxed tropical islands with friendly people, and are ok with a quiet night life, we highly recommend a vacation on Great Exuma, staying at Breezy Hill!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VTadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Exuma
10.9 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
11.0 mi away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#1 of 1 in Stocking Island
173 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Great Exuma
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
9.7 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 4 in George Town
297 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breezy Hill Exuma Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breezy Hill Exuma Bahamas

Property: Breezy Hill Exuma Bahamas
Address: # 1 #2 Breakwater Drive | George Town, Exuma Bahamas, BAHAMAS, Great Exuma
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Great Exuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breezy Hill 'MAIN HOUSE' and 'GUEST HOUSE' Are TWO separate homes each with 2 large bedrooms with private baths featuring KING sized beds and satellite TVs in both homes. We have a compact refrigerator, window air conditioning in the MAIN HOUSE Rooms For Rent, and FREE WIFI access 24/7 in BOTH HOMES. The GUEST HOUSE features Central Air conditioning which runs from 6 p.m. Until 9 a.m. When needed. We are located 4 miles from George Town Airport and 4 minutes from the SANDALS Hotel, Golf and Spa complex. Our homes feature a gorgeous 180 degree view of the beautiful azure blue water with our own Secluded Beach and LIVE reef! You have FULL USE of the fully equipped kitchens and the large living room areas of the homes, and the view from the front decks is SPECTACULAR! We will reserve a rental car for your arrival and we will meet and greet you at the airport and you can follow us to BREEZY HILL and get settled into the house before going out to explore Exuma! Come, Rest, Relax and Enjoy BREEZY HILL 'MAIN HOUSE' and 'GUEST HOUSE' today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Breezy Hill Exuma Bahamas Hotel Great Exuma
Breezy Hill Exuma Bahamas Great Exuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing