We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Exuma Accommodations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Exuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Exuma Vacation Cottages
Reviewed July 25, 2008

My husband and I have been traveling to the Bahamas regularly for the last dozen years. We have spent time on at least 8 different islands and regularly rent homes and cottages for extended periods. One of our favorite places to stay is at the Exuma Vacation Cottages which are owned and operated by Valerie Noyes in Hartswell. The cottages are clean and comfortable, and the location is quiet and beautiful. Valerie has kayaks for guests to use, and the Moriah Cay marine sanctuary is just a short paddle from your door. Great bone fishing can be had in the area. There is a small swimming pool that is perfect for laps or just cooling off on a warm afternoon. Valerie makes you feel very welcome and as if you are in your own home. We are very much looking forward to our month there this winter.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HeliosNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 53 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2008

Want to get away from it all, and enjoy peace and quiet? No TV., no newspapers, no internet, no need to lock your doors. Watch the humming birds visit intensely coloured tropical flowers, or the osprey circle before plummeting to catch fish. Kayak to deserted off-shore islands, disturbing basking turtles en-route, or walk 2 mile beaches where you MAY see a handful of people in a week. After a pre-dinner swim in the heated pool, enjoy your sundowner overlooking turquoise shallows, and later star-gaze through an atmosphere of utter clarity. Hartswell Cottages offer all this, plus the friendship and helpfulness of on-site owner Val Noyes. We are already booked for our third stay next January. Just Brilliant!

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank johnandbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

In March/April 2008 we went to the Bahamas for the first time. We were so enthralled with Great Exuma's beauty, the friendliness of its people, and for sure with the hospitality and generosity of Valerie Noyes who runs Exuma vacation cottages.

Her place is in a wonderful location south of George Town and really close to some of the most magnificent beaches we have ever seen. On some we were the only ones around lying on white beautiful sand beaches und swimming in crystal clear turquoise waters. Unbelievably beautiful!!!!

Valerie has a great spirit and is such an accomodating host. She is friendly and ready to help with any of your needs. She has her own little beach from which you can launch one of her kajaks, canoes, or her little boat with outboard motor. Needless to say, we took full advantage of it and had a blast cruising to off-shore uninhabited islands to spend the day there swimming, picknicking, reading a book.

Valerie's cottages are just wonderful. They accomodate well, are breazy and offer a wonderful view to the waters nearby.

We'll be back for sure and have told all our friends and family what a wonderful time we had. It's worth the trip for sure and we highly recommend Valerie's vacation cottages.
Bettina and Greg Torres

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bettina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2007

This is about the tenth time we have stayed in the Exuma vacation cottages. We have always been treated like family by Valerie the owner. The cottages are clean & comfortable. All are air conditioned . No need to lock the doors as all is quiet & safe.We always take a grandchild & one of her friends who enjoy the pool & beautiful ocean waters. For us we found everything we could ask for. Clean ,safe & reasonable rates. We are already booked for Jan. of "08'.

Bob & Sandy lecoque

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2007

If you are looking for a quiet relaxing homely place in Paradise this is it. There are four cottages available in pretty gardens surrounding the swimming pool. The gardens run down to the owners dock in the pale turquoise water. Kayaks are for use to explore the surrounding small islands just offshore. Booking was easy through their own web site and the owner Valerie, who lives on site, was very helpful with information on local areas. We returned home totally relaxed and refreshed.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank globetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2007

What a great place! Kayak to fantastic, deserted beaches (most beautiful water in the world), or to bonefish flats for great sport fishing. Valerie is a outstanding host, and knows everything you might need to know about Exuma. Her cottages have great ocean views and are neat and clean. We've been visiting this magical island for more than 10 years and it just keeps getting better. P.S. bring lots of sunscreen. Town is a short drive away for dinner and/or entertainment, assuming you are still awake after all the hours fishing, kayaking, on the beach, in the pool, and in the sun.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yelodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank florenceratto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Exuma
7.3 mi away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#2 of 2 in Stocking Island
175 reviews
7.3 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty
Club Peace & Plenty
#4 of 6 in Great Exuma
171 reviews
19.7 mi away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Great Exuma
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
8.7 mi away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
561 reviews
20.7 mi away
Paradise Bay Bahamas
Paradise Bay Bahamas
#1 of 15 in Great Exuma
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exuma Vacation Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exuma Vacation Cottages

Address: Hartswell, Great Exuma
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Great Exuma
Price Range: $70 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exuma Vacation Cottages are located oceanside in a quiet setting on the island of Exuma in the Bahamas . Each cottage has two bedrooms, lounge, well-equipped kitchen, bathroom and a screened porch at very economic rates. Swim in the heated pool or kayak to explore reefs and deserted sandy beaches on the offshore Islands. For affordable accommodation in a peaceful, relaxing setting with direct access to the ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Exuma Vacation Cottages Hotel Great Exuma
Exuma Vacation Cottages Great Exuma, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing