We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“be careful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Certificate of Excellence
londres
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“be careful”
Reviewed June 29, 2009

we spent one week recently, and we had a two bed sea front villas, and i must say they are greatly done furnished etc...in the hotel there is only one lttle restaurant with a very limited menu honestly its not great also the supermarket is a disaster and the four season is closed so BE CAREFUL not to be stuck there, as there is literally nothing, i mean nothing on the island , the villas have great kithchen but there is no where a descent super market to buy proper product, the super market near by is a joke, that sells rotten vegetables and out of date product... the beach is nice but overall now that the four season is closed i would not recomend anybody to go , service is ..lets say ok... people are nice and welcoming

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sybbarite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    139
    36
    7
    5
See reviews for
361
313
14
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
JOHNS CREEK GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2009

We just returned from GI and have no complaints. First, a lot has been written about the food, my advice is plan ahead and manage your expecations. Mosquitos are not the resort's problem but they do their best to manage this time of year. There are limited things to do on the grounds but we went there to swim, snorkel, and releax. We rented a car and kept everyday full. The staff is ultra friendly and accommodating. I was given an upgraded villa and it was beyond perfect. One guy showed me how to crack the coconuts, one lady said to me after a special request "as long as you're happy" ...when is the last time you heard that ! Do not go if you want nighlife and big food experiences. Do go if you want to relax on beautiful grounds and in an awesome villa and are capable of creatively planning activities and outings for yourself (with the help of the conceirge).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALTAMBB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2009

The resort was great. Villas were incredible with beautiful furnishings, decorating, appliances, views, etc. Personal golf-cart use was also nice to have. Nice pool area with bar, hot tub. Access to private beach area. Nice spa with good services available. Staff was incredibly helpful in catering to guests' needs and always had great attitudes.

Food options were not great...basically 1 or 2 decent restaurants on site. With the 4 Seasons closing down next door, those restaurants are no longer an option and most others are a drive/cab ride away. Marina and golf course are also closed and area is fairly deserted.

Overall, was a great place to spend some quiet time in a beautiful location. If you're looking for action, though, probably not the right spot.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfeman95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, The Bahamas
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2009

The room was exquisite. The grounds of the resort were breathtaking.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZelmaTheBahamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAHAMAS
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2009

The Grand Isle experience was wonderful and the staff was exceptional, especially those at the Front Desk. I did not find the dining room staff very helpful or friendly.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alomapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2009

Stayed at the Grand Isle June 12 thru the 19th As written in many reviews the rooms were incredible. We stayed in an oceanfront condo which was furnished and decorated perfect. It came with all the best appliances and cooking supplies you could want. The balcony and views were great. We were informed before we left on vacation that the four seasons was closing and there would be no golf and dining would be limited. The management gave me the chance to cancel but we are into just relaxing so we kept the reservation and went ahead with the trip. After relaxing around the beautiful and quiet pool for 3 days we rented a car for 2 days and drove the entire island on day 1 which was very boring and not much to see. On day 2 we went into town and rented a boat for a half day. This was alot of fun. Visit all the deserted beaches and stop for a great lunch at St Francis. As written in other reviews the food at the resort is limited and not that interesting. We were not happy with the selection or the quality of the dinner menu. The continental breakfast is very plain with limited selection. We went across the street to the market and purchased breakfast foods along with cheese, crackers and fruit. We were pleasently surprised with their selection and prices. The liquor store price were also very cheap and had a great wine selection. We wound up cooking our own breakfasts and a few dinners ourselves which was fun. We travel extensivley throughout the Carribean and every resort has its problems but overall we would return to Grand Isle due to its quiet and comfortable accomodations.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epr306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2009

We recently spent 5 nights in a 2 bedroom villa which was outstanding. The villa was far beyond my expectations and I had high expectations. We were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff, led to our villa and left alone to enjoy our stay. The golf cart came in handy, but for the most part, since we were near the pool area, was not needed except to run to the grocery store. It was more of a fun toy to have than a necessity. The villa itself was finished with everything of finest quality. The kitchen appliances were great and had everything you would need to prepare your food. On the downside of our stay, the food at the restaurant was only fair and quite expensive, which I was prepared for before we got there. I figured we would give it a try just to see if the reviews were accurate. They were. Unfortunately, this is pretty much the way it is on the entire island. Groceries at the market are expensive and limited. Since there is very little food grown on the island and everything is shipped in, it is understandable, just unfortunate. The pool area is great with a great view of Emerald Bay. The mosquitoes were a problem and that is typical after significant rain. Grand Isle did everything they could to fight the flying pests, spray was always available to guests, as well as everything else imaginable including citronella candles and daily fogging of the resort. We managed to avoid too many bites, but you had to actively swat some, especially in the evening. Overall, Grand Isle was amazing and I would recommend it highly. Anyone who had intentions to stay at the nearby Four Seasons that recently closed, should not think twice about staying at Grand Isle, it is fantastic. I also highly recommend Minns for boat rental. Chat 'N' Chills on Stocking Island for lunch and Robert Thompson who took us on a day long boat tour of the Exum Cays north of Great Exuma all the way to Sampson Cay where we had lunch. His trip was our biggest highlight. We got to go to Musha Cay, Iguana Island, swim with the pigs on Big Majors and snorkel at Thunderball Grotto, which was the most amazing experience! All this in addition to miles and miles of the most beautiful water and beaches ever. I don't think you can say you have experienced Exuma unless you get to spend a day like that.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pirate76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Exuma
12.4 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
12.4 mi away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#1 of 1 in Stocking Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
3.0 mi away
Exuma Palms Hotel
Exuma Palms Hotel
#5 of 6 in Great Exuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
11.2 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 2 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Isle Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Isle Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Address: Emerald Bay | PO Box EX-29253, Great Exuma
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Isle Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Emerald Bay in Great Exuma, The Bahamas, Grand Isle Resort & Spa is a stunning ocean front resort. The exclusive gated community comprises 78 luxuriously appointed 1- to 4-bedroom villas that range from 1,250 sq. ft. to 5,200 sq. ft. and offer a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living area, high-end amenities, and extraordinary views. Getting around the resort is quick and convenient, as every villa is equipped with a personal golf cart. Grand Isle is one of the finest resorts in the Caribbean and is ideally suited for family holidays, romantic getaways, destination weddings and honeymoons, or for simply enjoying the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Grand Isle Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Isle Hotel Great Exuma
Grand Isle Resort And Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa Great Exuma, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing