We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Resort for R&R”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Resort for R&R”
Reviewed March 1, 2009

A new level of paradise in exquisite surroundings, We felt like we were living in an Architectural Digest home, complete with beautifully landscaped grounds and gardens. The views from the windows in the villa are priceless.... inside and out. Every creature comfort is provided.......golf cart, concierge, infinity pool, fitness center with view of emerald cay. The new spa is serene and offers wonderful selections of therapies.
Everyone on the staff went out of their way to be friendly and welcoming. We didn't venture very far from the resort ......golfing and dinners at the the 4 Seasons restaurants next door.....grocery, pizza restaurant, liquor store accessible via the golf cart.
We can't wait to return. Check on the direct flights into the Georgetown airport from the mainland.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    149
    39
    8
    8
See reviews for
391
326
15
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2009

The Grand Isle Resort & Spa was fabulous. The grounds were spectacular and very well maintained (even nicer than the adjacent Four Seasons Hotel). The units are very nicely furnished and comfortable.

The food was quite good and being by the pool and overlooking the bay made it taste even better.

The golf course was stunning and somewhat difficult (long par fours and par fives). There were no crowds to speak of (probably due to economic conditions) so we never awaited in any line and everything was available when we wanted.

The weather was great and it rained only one night. The beach sand was white and the water was warm.

The staff was great to work with and always helpful and generous with suggestions. There was not a lot of "night life" or shopping opportunities but that was not the reason for our trip. We relaxed and recharged our batteries.

We will go back again, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skibum15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, FL
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2009

We were pleasantly welcomed by Macarra, who was smiling, pleasant, warm, and kind. We were brought to our beautiful room and were very pleased with the amenities in the room as well as at the resort. The heated pool, clean hot tub, snorkel and kayak use, fitness center and DVD lending were all great. We were very pleased with the quietness of the resort.
We did not get turndown service on any of the 3 nights we were there, as promised on the website. We were also told that coffee would be brought to the room each morning, which did not occur. The general attitude of the staff, aside from Macarra, was generally as though they were not happy at work. We were not always greeted with smiles, and when asking simple questions, we felt like we were a bother instead of a cherished guest. Many times it was hard to find someone to help--for example, finding someone who knew where the key was for the snorkel/kayak, if there was even someone there at all. Most times we waited awhile for service. The staff at the bar/restaurant brought food and cleared up, but didn't smile much or engage in any type of conversation. We did go to the Four Seasons for a few meals and had excellent service, smiling, pleasant staff, and we felt the difference the moment we went over there for those meals.
We loved the golf cart they let you use all vacation - it was the highlight of my trip! We also enjoyed traveling around the golfing areas and the beach near Poor Betty Cay which was quiet and preserved. The location and views were amazing. We went to Atlantis on Nassau after this and wish we had just stayed in the Exumas instead. Peaceful!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWFloridaSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2009

Me and my wife have visited Grand Isle Villas Exuma several times and it is a very special place. It is truly a paradise on earth, with unbelievable beaches and waters. The resort offers 5star living, with the option to mind your own business in the houses or utilize the resort and other nearby restaurants. These are a couple of million $ places you are staying in, so you are living very well. Ask the locals and you will find great local restaurants located on some of the most beautiful beaches. This year we also got the opportunity to visit the Exuma Cays which are located north of the island, and this is a paradise on earth with endless turquoise waters and private beaches.

Just go there...you will love it and you will keep coming back.
Carl

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank Dermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, FL
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2009

I just returned from a wonderful stay at the Grand Isle Resort. The property is amazing, grounds and landscaping are beautiful and the units are absolutely stunning. No expense was spared in designing and equipping the units. The website is an excellent representation of what you will find at the resort. The pool overlooking the beach is pretty. They have a state of the art fitness room and a nice spa. I had an excellent manicure / pedicure. The staff at the hotel and spa as well as everyone else including the maintenance people go out of there way to say hello and make you feel welcome. There is a golf cart with each unit at no extra charge as well as a manager's cocktail reception every Friday. They also include a continental breakfast each morning. This Grand Isle is right next to the Four Seasons. I would not even consider the Four Seasons, The Grand Isle if by far a better choice. I am already planning my return trip in the summer and would not stay anywhere else!

  • Liked — Very Clean and beautifully decorated, top of the line appliances, fixtures, and a great view.
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TadpoleFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2008

Grand Isle blew me away. After reading so many rave reviews on TripAdvisor, we decided to get away to Exuma and check out the resort. We were very enticed by the ability to be alone in our villa and cook for ourselves, along with 4 restaurants between the resort and the Four Seasons next door. Everything was incredible; villas, staff, views, food.

The resort was very quiet and the staff tended to our every need. Macarra and Alex were excellent. We received our golf cart upon check in, and headed to our villa only to be blown away by the view. For a 'partial view' we had the whole bay before us from our living room and bedroom bay windows. Everyone on the Island was very friendly, and there is a convenient grocery store and liquor store only steps away.

Even if you don't golf, this resort is for anyone who is looking to get a little R and R on a quiet island! My best island vacation to date!!!

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2008

We had a wonderful time at the Grand Isle resort! Great location, nice change to go to an Out Island verses Nassau or Freeport. A bit more remote, but there are always things to do! The resort rooms were fantastic, well appointed/decorated. These are million dollar places you are staying in! Real state of the art, comfortable...top drawer. We will be going back!

  • Liked — location and beach
  • Disliked — price and it was still under construction when we were there
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseHSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Exuma
12.4 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
12.4 mi away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#2 of 2 in Stocking Island
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
559 reviews
11.2 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 4 in George Town
302 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Bahamas
Paradise Bay Bahamas
#1 of 15 in Great Exuma
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Isle Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Isle Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Address: Emerald Bay | PO Box EX-29253, Great Exuma
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Isle Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Emerald Bay in Great Exuma, The Bahamas, Grand Isle Resort & Spa is a stunning ocean front resort. The exclusive gated community comprises 78 luxuriously appointed 1- to 4-bedroom villas that range from 1,250 sq. ft. to 5,200 sq. ft. and offer a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living area, high-end amenities, and extraordinary views. Getting around the resort is quick and convenient, as every villa is equipped with a personal golf cart. Grand Isle is one of the finest resorts in the Caribbean and is ideally suited for family holidays, romantic getaways, destination weddings and honeymoons, or for simply enjoying the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Isle Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Isle Resort And Spa
Grand Isle Hotel Great Exuma
Grand Isle Resort & Spa Great Exuma, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing