We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place I have ever stayed in (words from a Business Traveler)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Isle Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Great Exuma
Certificate of Excellence
Crownsville, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place I have ever stayed in (words from a Business Traveler)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2008

I went to this resort for my honeymoon. After the stress of planning a wedding in a 4 month period, this resort was exactly what I was looking for. Usually my husband and I are on the go all the time, and the atmosphere was so lovely that it inspired us just to finally sit back and relax.

Our accommodations were top notch. The villa was brand new and I loved it so much that I took several pictures and we are trying to emulate the style in our new addition (especially the bathrooms which are decoarated like a spa). Our villa was decorated in a Tommy Bahama theme and the bathrooms were decorated with marble and Travertine tile. The second evening we were there, we came home to find roses in our Jacuzzi tub and throughout our bedroom. Definitely made the honeymoon enjoyable and we sincerely appreciated the personal touch we received throughout the week.

Every morning we came down to the restaurant to find a complimentary breakfast and by the middle of the week, the staff (Jonas and Carlotta) knew what we liked and actually had it ready for us when we arrived!

I have stayed in many hotels and resorts and this one has a personal touch you cannot find at a Ritz or Four Seasons.

Things to do that I liked the most:

- hanging out in the infinity pool
- kayak surfing at the beach below
- riding around on the golf cart and exploring the area
- renting a car for the day and checking out places to snorkel around the island (and Kizzy will set it up for you so the car is dropped off whenever you need it)
- having a chef make a 5 course meal on our last night
- free internet service (to keep in touch with family and friends as calling the US can be very expensive)

  • Liked — the decorating style and newness; the view
  • Disliked — no nightlife
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sumarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    131
    34
    6
    4
See reviews for
344
308
14
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2008

Fanastic resort, really no complaints. My wife and I travel to top resorts yearly and this is a place we want to re-visit and soon. The staff are very accomodating and friendly. We highly recommnend the resort.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Themoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2008

After reading glowing review after glowing review, you might think this place is too good to be true, but let me assure you, it is everything you would ever want and more! The accomodations are pristine and filled with all amenities, the location is picture-postcard beautiful, and the best part is that you have all of this to yourself! It's really a shame that the economy has reduced attendance at this private paradise, but their loss was our gain during our stay this past Thanksgiving. The staff will cater to every need, the grounds and villas are kept in perfect condition, the equipment in the exercise room is brand new and spectacular, the beach is breathtaking and just about vacant, wonderful outdoor hot tub, gorgeous pool, initmate outdoor evening dining, walking distance (or personal golfcart) to the Four Seasons ... on and on and on. We were looking for an island getaway for ourselves and 2 adult daughters where we could spend time together relaxing and this could not have been better. Make sure you plan a private boat tour./expedition with High Seas Excursions (and if you are lucky, you might get one of the owner-brothers, Brooks or Ryan, as your captain), it will be the highlight of your trip.

  • Liked — Privacy, villa, pool, beach
  • Disliked — Food was pricey, but adequate, not tremendous
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank merrcail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2008

We stayed for four nights. The rooms are absolutely wonderful - possibly the nicest I have stayed at in over 20 trips to the Bahamas out islands. The beach is beautiful, although there are several properties along it now so don't expect complete isolation. You certainly don't feel crowded, however. The staff is very polite and service oriented, but for the most part not extremely outgoing (we were told due to their training). They do, however, accomodate any wishes related to activities, needs, etc. without hesitation and with the utmost professionalism. Unlike many hotels they have a great gym where you can get a real workout. We at dinner two nights in the restaurant and had a poor experience with the food quality both nights. I highly recommend that you stay at this property rather than at the much larger Four Seasons, but take the golf cart (included with your room) over to eat at one of the Four Seasons restaurants which are of very high quality and dramatically better than at Grand Isle. Note that the spa at Grand Isle is not yet open, and the gambling (except slot machines) at the Four Seasons has closed.

  • Liked — Room design
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelerMIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2008

The best accomodations my wife and I ever stayed in...bar none! No expense was spared in these villas...from the appliances to the artwork, to the crystal glassware; it was truly indescribable. And the view...priceless. Let me put it another way; we stayed in a one bedroom villa that we heard sold for nearly $1M...talk about great value!

The customer service also blew away our expectations. Employees were always smiling and most of them quickly learned our names and provided a unique, personal touch. We had the opportunity to get to know several employees and were even further amazed by their character and genuine compassion. The word "no" was not part of the concierge's (Kizzy's) vocabulary. She provided everything and anything we asked for, including rental car, local info, water equipment, DVDs and more. I'm completely convinced that this resort hand-picked the best talent on the island, and perhaps even the entire Bahamas.

Must do's:
- Snorkeling on the reefs, right off the peninsula.
- Kayaking from the resort beach.
- Go to Stocking Island and get a fresh conch salad (the cook even gave us some extra conch to feed the stingrays that came right up to the beach).
Have a few Kaliks at my favorite bar, Chat and Chill.
- Rent a small powerboat from Minn's Watersports (Georgetown) and tour the surrounding islands...climb Beacon Hill for an amazing 360 degree view.
- Golf (bring lots of golf balls!)
- Get a floating raft and enjoy the resort's infinity pool.
- Try a "Vanilla Sky" from Jonas, the Bahamas prize winning bartender (literally).
- Take the provided golf cart for a tour around the peninsula and golf course.
- Go to the local grocery and stock the kitchen with snacks, fruits and beverages...sometimes it was nice to just relax in the villa.
- Arrange for in-Villa dining from one of the resort's Chefs...we had Khristen, who prepared a delicious 5 course meal while we simply sat at the breakfast bar, watched his preparations, and got completely spoiled. Even though his meal was flawless, his charm and entertainment was half the fun.
- Use the state-of-the-art work out facility...otherwise you'll come home about 10 lbs heavier from all the delicious food and island drinks.

  • Liked — Employees
  • Disliked — Nightlife
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank IrieTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2008

Our 6-person family had 2 days to find a replacement vacation destination after Hurricane Omar wiped out the 4 Seasons in Nevis - and we hit a grand slam with Grand Isle.

The 6-person ocean-front Villa was reasonably priced ($900/night), it had a breathtaking view of aptly named Emerald Bay, and it was beautifully decorated. After the only glitch of our stay on our first night- 3 out of 4 tv's had various malfunctions - which was promptly resolved the next morning by Asst. Gen. Mgr. "Shervin" (with an unrequested $$ credit, to boot), our 4 1/2 day stay was like paradise.

The beach was like none we have ever seen, with white sand like powdered sugar - and like a warm bathtub once you jumped in. By far better than both Nevis and Bermuda.

The entire staff - particularly at the huge infinity pool and cabana bar - were friendly and helpful.

The limited dining options are probably the only real drawback to the Grand Isle in particular, and Great Exuma generally.

We ate 1 night at Grand Isle, 1 night at a cool local spot called "Cheaters", and 3 nights at Four Seasons down the street (great food). But from what we can tell, those are about the only decent options for dinner.

Also, the Grand Isle's spa was not open yet, so we used the services of the 4 Seasons Spa (which, by the way, was a short ride away in our complimentary golf cart)

Overall, we had the best of both worlds, staying at more quaint Grand Isle, while taking advantage of Four Seasons food/spa.

I would go back in a hearbeat. (and we didn't even get a chance to play the sea-side Greg Norman golf course)

Also of note, there are only 6,000 people on Great Exuma, they have one courthouse and one police holding cell - so there are none of the safety concerns associated with the larger islands of the Bahamas.

Just a great, great stay.

  • Liked — Beautiful Villa
  • Disliked — Limited dining options
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindell14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Great Exuma hotels
12.5 mi away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#4 of 7 in Great Exuma
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
12.4 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
0.3 mi away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
11.1 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 1 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Bahamas
Paradise Bay Bahamas
#1 of 15 in Great Exuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Isle Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Isle Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Address: Emerald Bay | PO Box EX-29253, Great Exuma
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Isle Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Emerald Bay in Great Exuma, The Bahamas, Grand Isle Resort & Spa is a stunning ocean front resort. The exclusive gated community comprises 78 luxuriously appointed 1- to 4-bedroom villas that range from 1,250 sq. ft. to 5,200 sq. ft. and offer a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living area, high-end amenities, and extraordinary views. Getting around the resort is quick and convenient, as every villa is equipped with a personal golf cart. Grand Isle is one of the finest resorts in the Caribbean and is ideally suited for family holidays, romantic getaways, destination weddings and honeymoons, or for simply enjoying the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Isle Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Isle Hotel Great Exuma
Grand Isle Resort And Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa Great Exuma, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing