We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay, friendly staff, but beach is not ideal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Our villa was fabulous – spacious, clean, well-decorated and furnished, quiet, with a great kitchen. Our rooms were wonderful, too. The kitchen aspect is especially important to me because I have Celiac Disease (strict gluten free diet) and often have to cook for myself to avoid cross contamination. So, having access to a large refrigerator, full stove and oven was very convenient! There’s a grocery store about 10 minutes away, too (Georgetown Exuma Market). You get a golf cart to explore the resort as well. The pool is very nice and relaxing and the staff was always attentive to our needs. The only (slight) bummer is that the beach is down a staircase from the pool – which isn’t a big deal! If you want to kayak, the staff will set it up for you. And it’s great for walking and relaxing!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank GoSeeGlutenFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (948)
There are newer reviews for Grand Isle Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

526 - 532 of 948 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had an amazing family holiday at Grand Isle. The resort is spectacular and the team of employees were all exceptional. We felt very welcome and well taken care of. The resort itself exceeded our expectations.. the decor, comfort and location were all top notch. The pool and beach facilities were perfect for our family and we really enjoyed the Palapa Grill. Food was excellent and a great variety so we enjoyed having most of our meals right on the resort.
The concierge service was terrific and had us well prepared even before our arrival. We have traveled extensively through the Caribbean and can say this was by far the best visit!!

Thanks to all the staff at the Grand Isle, we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had the most wonderful stay at this resort. The staff and accommodations were truly wonderful. Spectacular restaurant, beach and pool area. The staff was very helpful and accommodating for any car reservations, tour or excursion reservations or recommendations. We will most certainly be back next summer. We recommend the wave runner tour and renting a boat for a day from Minns boat rentals in George Town. This was one of our best family vacations of all!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jodi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Major Kudos to Jodi and the entire staff at Grand Isle. We had a very enjoyable 7 night stay. The service was exceptional, with a special shout out to Marchello (Concierge) and Eduardo (Behind the Bar).

We had a three bedroom villa with an ocean view ... what a beautiful view from the king bedroom and both balconies. The villa was very spacious and comfortable. The only complaint, we expected one king and two queen rooms and our villa had one room with two twin beds. The mattress for the king was very hard.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChasDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We recently stayed at the Grand Isle Resort and Spa.Upon our arrival we were warmly greeted to this tropical paradise. We stayed in a one bedroom suite that had a fabulous view of the ocean as well as overlooking the marina and a hole on the golf course. Each unit has a golf cart for easy transport around the resort. The suite, with balcony, was beautifully decorated, current appliances and very clean. The restaurant on sight has gourmet menu with a variety of choices. The food was excellent. Staff was attentive and accommodating. The beach is very close to the pool/resort area so access was not a problem. There were plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas for guests at the pool and beach. No need to 'reserve' as you do at some resorts.The ocean water was one of the best in the Caribbean and the white sand was groomed to perfection. There were kayaks available for guest use, which we took advantage of, as well as snorkels and fins. Off site we also enjoyed a day on the water stopping at several of the smaller Exuma Islands. Attractions include the swimming pigs and iguana's as well as sand bars that cascade around the islands for you to enjoy.We travel to the Caribbean 5-6 times a year and have been to many islands. We stay in both time shares and resort hotels. Every island has their signature appeal but If you are seeking the ultimate in rest and relaxation Grand Isle Resort and Spa is the place to go.
Renee and Ray Brown
Skaneateles, NY

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Excellent accommodations, idyllic setting, superb service. Thoroughly enjoyed the Spa facilities and the local excursion to swim with the pigs and see the iguanas. One of the most relaxing vacations ever. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank roland r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My kids (11,13) and I just had a great stay at Grand Isle. The villas are luxurious and the beds are great. We were in an ocean view 2 bedroom and would have liked an ocean front, but oh well. The beach is very pretty. It was a little too windy for paddle boarding or much kayaking, which would otherwise have been really fun to do. Everyone at the resort is very friendly and helpful. Jodi did a lot of work to help us plan our activities. We swam with pigs, sharks, turtles and stingrays, and fed iguanas. We went fishing and driving around the island. At the end of the day we hung out at the lovely pool. The food is quite good at the Palapa Grill, the resort's only restaurant. Definitely go tot he Chat n Chill and the Tropic of Cancer beach/Santana's. You will want to rent a car, as taxis to and from activities are very expensive and not terribly convenient. The driving is very easy. This was our first trip tot he Bahamas, and we were very impressed with the resort and the island.

Room Tip: I would splurge for the oceanfront.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Exuma
12.4 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
12.4 mi away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#2 of 2 in Stocking Island
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
559 reviews
11.2 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 4 in George Town
302 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Bahamas
Paradise Bay Bahamas
#1 of 15 in Great Exuma
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Isle Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Isle Resort & Spa

Address: Emerald Bay | PO Box EX-29253, Great Exuma
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range: $349 - $1,070 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Isle Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Emerald Bay in Great Exuma, The Bahamas, Grand Isle Resort & Spa is a stunning ocean front resort. The exclusive gated community comprises 78 luxuriously appointed 1- to 4-bedroom villas that range from 1,250 sq. ft. to 5,200 sq. ft. and offer a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living area, high-end amenities, and extraordinary views. Getting around the resort is quick and convenient, as every villa is equipped with a personal golf cart. Grand Isle is one of the finest resorts in the Caribbean and is ideally suited for family holidays, romantic getaways, destination weddings and honeymoons, or for simply enjoying the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Isle Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Isle Resort And Spa
Grand Isle Hotel Great Exuma
Grand Isle Resort & Spa Great Exuma, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing