We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Beautiful Waters In The World”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This place is great for families, singles and even with groups of friends. You will go to Exuma for relaxation or some of the best water activities like swimming with the pigs, fishing or boating. If you go, you must also try the Bahamian food and a Kalik!

Room Tip: If possible one with a view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlesAllanSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (948)
There are newer reviews for Grand Isle Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

556 - 562 of 948 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

If you're looking for a beautiful Caribbean resort to share with your family this is about as perfect as it gets. The beach is magnificent and the accommodations are perfect. Grand Isle offers comfortable villas with well-equipped kitchens so you can cook in or dine at their very nice restaurant. Exuma is a beautiful island but very, very quiet. Aside from the restaurant at Grand Isle there are few other alternatives but if you're looking for a week of relaxation with your family in beautiful surroundings you would be hard put to find better.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevenyc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

As editor of an in-flight magazine (it's not as glamorous as you think, but it's fun), I am often invited to stay in exquisite places. I know, someone's gotta do it. But rarely is the visit so life-renewing that I want to go back again and again as a regular paying guest. Grand Isle Villas, or Resort and Spa, as it is now known is one of those few so special places that I would go every month if I could. The best part is arriving, the worst is leaving. In between, it's the long early morning walk on a powdery beach that takes you past Sandals to where the waters of the bay meet palms and causurinas and you take your first swim of the day. In the afternoon, it's the infiniti pool and another swim and then it's time for a massage and sundowners overlooking the 11th hole of the Greg Norman golf course that winds its way through the resort. The service is as impeccable as the fine linens and luxurious finishing touches in oversized condos with reverse living -- bedrooms downstairs, living room, kitchen, dining, up and balconies and patios everywhere. A feeling of being right at home in a little, quiet slice of paradise by the sea. Take me back. I long for the endless view of blue waters and bright blue skies, of soft sand and kind whose smiles are as warm as Exuma itself, a little isle in the central Bahamas, north of the Caribbean, southeast of Florida and a hop, skip and jump away from deadlines and stress. No fast food restaurants and not a single traffic light on the island. As I said, someone's gotta do it. But when it comes to Grand Isle, I could do it over and over and over again.
s

Room Tip: Choose off season if price is relevant and definitely overlooking the bay.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DianePhillips P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I have traveled the world.
I have been to many beaches.
The water and beaches are simply amazing.
White sand and crystal clear water.
The best area I have seen the world.

The villas are top of the line.
You will not be disappointed!

Conrad Leinemann
Olympic Beach Volleyball Player - 2000 Sydney

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Conradleinemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I also attended the Sochi Under the Sun event with my wife and twin girls. What a place. The villas are large, luxurious, but also family friendly. Lots of space to move and make yourself at home. We cooked a lot, although you can also make use of the restaurant. Exuma is a real hidden gem.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ttodd2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGC-Exuma-LIFE, General Manager at Grand Isle Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2016

Dear TTodd2014

Time to return to Grand Isle?

Best,

Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I recently visited Grand Isle with friends and sport colleagues as part of their Sochi in the Sun promotion. We had a fantastic time at Grand Isle, enjoying its luxurious villas, great food, wonderful hotel staff and fun activities! Exuma is truly a beautiful island and I look forward to getting back there soon!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My husband and I recently visited Grand Isle for our anniversary and fell in love with the resort & spa. I went to Nassau in 1982 and vowed I would never return to the Bahamas. Grand Isle far surpassed any expectations we had prior to arrival. Let me start out by saying that if you are looking for glitz and nightlife, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for great accommodations, beautiful beaches, friendly people and solitude, you will not be disappointed! I have traveled to Islands around the world, including Fiji and French Polynesia, and can't wait to return to Grand Isle! We really fell in love with this place and the warm and gracious people of Great Exuma. The resort is really a private/gated condominium complex with 2-3 story villas perched on a cliff above a turquoise bay. It is on a beautiful stretch of white sand beach adjacent to Sandals. While there is only one restaurant and bar on the property, the food and service were incredible and we felt the prices were very reasonable compared to most high-end hotels and resorts. If you are going during peak season, be prepared to wait for a table as the restaurant and bar are very small. The infinity pool and beach areas are private, well maintained and beautiful! On most days, there were very few adults and a rare child in the pool and beach areas. We do not have children and did not want to stay at a family resort full of kids. We were really looking for peace and tranquility and this place delivered! We stayed in a one bedroom/2 bathroom water front villa, and the views were incredible. The villa was a 2 level high-end unit, tastefully decorated and with a full gourmet kitchen and dining room. Each unit comes with a golf cart and a private garage for the cart attached to your unit. The entire property has gorgeous landscaping and the villas and property are immaculately maintained. The Concierge team members are great and will happily set up a multitude of excursions for you and your guests. We did rent a car for a day to explore Great and Little Exuma, and I would strongly recommend that you do this for at least a day. Other than Sandals, there are no other restaurants, bars or amenities within walking distance of the resort, and you will need to use taxi's to explore the area if you do not have a car. The taxi's are inexpensive and the gracious Driver's consider it an honor to serve you! We took the full day boat ride (4 C's) and it was the highlight of our trip! We literally swam with sharks, wild pigs, iguanas and stingrays. The snorkeling in the area is incredible and the water is immensely clear and warm. The color of the water against the white sand private islands and beaches will amaze you! The resort offers several free beach and water activities including kayaks, catamarans and wind surfing. Make sure to take the ferry to the pig roast on Sunday. Many of the locals attend the $20.00 feast and the food is incredible. Also visit Santana's and Catch a Fire for a great traditional Bahamian meal. We visited the week of Valentine's Day and I plan to return for my birthday in late March! Sara.

Room Tip: Ask for a beachfront villa over the bay. It's worth the extra cost!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SessaBocasconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Exuma
12.4 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
12.4 mi away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#2 of 2 in Stocking Island
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
559 reviews
11.2 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 4 in George Town
303 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Bahamas
Paradise Bay Bahamas
#1 of 15 in Great Exuma
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Isle Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Isle Resort & Spa

Address: Emerald Bay | PO Box EX-29253, Great Exuma
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range: $350 - $1,059 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Isle Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Emerald Bay in Great Exuma, The Bahamas, Grand Isle Resort & Spa is a stunning ocean front resort. The exclusive gated community comprises 78 luxuriously appointed 1- to 4-bedroom villas that range from 1,250 sq. ft. to 5,200 sq. ft. and offer a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living area, high-end amenities, and extraordinary views. Getting around the resort is quick and convenient, as every villa is equipped with a personal golf cart. Grand Isle is one of the finest resorts in the Caribbean and is ideally suited for family holidays, romantic getaways, destination weddings and honeymoons, or for simply enjoying the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Isle Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Isle Resort And Spa
Grand Isle Hotel Great Exuma
Grand Isle Resort & Spa Great Exuma, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing