We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Club Peace & Plenty(George Town)(Great Value!)
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas(Long Island)
$398
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Island Time Villas(George Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Exuma Palms Hotel(Great Exuma)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Francis Resort(Stocking Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Lumina Point Resort & Spa(Stocking Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,016)
Filter reviews
1,016 results
Traveler rating
786
163
45
11
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
786
163
45
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalapa grillbedroom villagolf cartliquor storehigh end applianceswasher and dryerrented a cartop of the lineemerald baythree bedroomfull kitchenocean viewpool staffpaddle boardson site restaurantinfinity poolexuma market
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
654 - 659 of 1,016 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

As citizens of The Bahamas, we had many options in choosing a resort to celebrate our honeymoon. We decided to try Grand Isle Resort and was not disappointed with our choice. The Grand Isle Resort was amazing. The front desk team was so helpful especially Chanell. The beach was truly breathtaking. The rooms were fully furnished with every possible appliance and needs met. We definitely will be returning.

Thanks guys!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCMHospitality, General Manager at Grand Isle Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

We're so happy that you chose Grand Isle for your honeymoon. That's a very important life event and we love to make sure that the experience is done the way you want it. Also glad you were able to get out of the city in order to kick back in Exuma for some rest and relaxation! Please come back soon (and for all of your anniversaries!). Congratulations on your marriage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay if you're looking for a peaceful, quiet vacation. If you can, ask to have one of the rooms near the pool, front office area. However, you are provided with golf carts so getting around is easy either way. We liked the convenience of walking just across the way to the beach entrance. The pool is beautiful but the beach is gorgeous!! You can't go wrong with either. I do highly recommend renting a car ($$$) while you're there to be able to venture out and see some of the other parts of the island. Beautiful beaches everywhere!! Also, be sure to take one the day island trips...you're trip just wouldn't be the same without it. My last piece of advice would be to pack some of your favorite non perishable items. (nuts, crackers, granola bars, chips, etc.) It's nice to have without having to pay the island prices. :)

Looking forward to going back again... soon!!!!

Room Tip: We like the rooms closest to the pool/front office area.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCMHospitality, General Manager at Grand Isle Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

We so appreciate your comments regarding the villas, things to do and getting around the island. More importantly, we're happy to hear that you had a wonderful vacation. We look forward to having you back - don't stay away too long!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Grand Isle resort is fabulous. We visited in late summer and it was practically empty. The villas are gorgeous and they maintain it very well. They are very spacious with multiple TVs, DVD players, lavish furniture and a full kitchen. The bathroom in the villa was one of our favorite parts where they had a jacuzzi as well as a large stand-up shower. We had a garden-view room and could view the sunsets every evening. Housekeeping was regular. Each villa has its personalized golf cart which was a lot of fun to drive around and take to the nearby liquor store.

The Pallapa grill was wonderful and fairly reasonably priced. All food is very good and would recommend at least having a couple meals here. The servers are polite & friendly. Service is fairly quick.

The poolside hut is where we could borrow beach towels, kayak and snorkeling gear which was great if you do not have your own snorkeling gear. They are open til 730p on most days.

The beach was amazing and water is so clear. Can walk for several feet from the beach and still be able to stand! Sandals and Grand isle are the only two resorts that share the beach so it was never crowded when we went.

This area of the island is not over-developed and wonderful for a little getaway from the bustle of every day life. We absolutely fell in love with the place, villas and the island. If we get the chance again to go to Exuma, these villas will be the place we will be staying at again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank glowbe_trottah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCMHospitality, General Manager at Grand Isle Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Grand Isle. It sounds like you enjoyed some of our favorite things about the resort - the beach, food and relaxing location. We'd love to have you visit again. Here's to the Ultimate Exuma Blue experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and 12 y.o. daughter have just returned from a trip to Exuma at Grand Isle. Here’s why this is the place to visit:

1) Great Exuma, the island:

Quiet, small, unspoiled, virtually no mark of tourist noise. Been to Mexico, Jamiaca, Aruba, this is by far a better, friendlier, higher quality, safer island. I feel even safer in Great Exuma than at home, this island is to be explored, you must rent a car. Beaches are out of this world, best snorkelling I’ve ever experienced. Restaurants are everything from open air style brightly painted huts to chef owned and operated dining; food is out of this world. (Frankie’s Bakery ‘Guava Duff’, is insane!) I could go on but you need to discover it for yourself. No casinos, amusements, discos that I was aware of = quiet and laid back. Partiers go elsewhere. Boating tours up the Cays, highly worthwhile to see Thunderball Grotto, swim with sharks, pigs, feed iguanas, sting rays. Inexplicable beauty. The people are the warmest I’ve ever experienced travelling.

2) Grand Isle, the Villas:

Is the perfect blend of polish and service. Excellent restaurant Pallapa Grill, beautifully prepared meals. Quiet eternity pool, very clean beach, lots of pool and beach equipment. Amazing snorkelling along the Marina beach, I think the best on the island. Our room was high quality; very fresh, modern facilities, beautiful linens, well appointed kitchen, laundry, bathrooms, etc, the resort is very new. You feel completely relaxed returning from a day of island adventuring to your room knowing everything is looked after, you are received at the front gate with a very warm welcome, concierge services are excellent, gardens are stunning. Staff are polished and highly servicable but low-key which I prefer. Golf cart a nice touch.

What I particularly loved about Grand Isle is that it has high touch ammenities and services but is without the conveyor-belt attractions you get at an all-inclusive. In fact, you cannot stay at an all-inclusive as you would completely miss out on the charm and exceptional character which is unique to this particular island, especially the food and people. It’s a very easy going island, easy to get around.

If you wish for a relaxing, high quality villa amidst a friendly, exotic island of amazing food and breathtaking beaches – this is perfection.

Room Tip: I don't think there would be a bad room to be honest.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Po W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCMHospitality, General Manager at Grand Isle Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for providing such great comments about the island and the resort. We think you hit some really important points about the intimacy of the destination and our location. It's all about life on the water, and we're very pleased that you enjoyed the unique aspects that Grand Isle has to offer. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great place, 1,2,3 bedroom villas with top of line finishes. Nice restaurant and terrific pool to soak up the sun. Friendly staff. Probably nicest accommodations on island. Exuma is a peaceful place to explore and have relaxed fun. Great great snorkeling. Not over developed but plenty of amenities.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LSquared_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCMHospitality, General Manager at Grand Isle Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time on Exuma and at Grand Isle Resort & Spa. You hit the nail on the head regarding the peace and quiet with high-end amenities and all the comforts of home. Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews