We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the benchmark of all the resorts we will be visiting in the future!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Grand Isle resort is fabulous. We visited in late summer and it was practically empty. The villas are gorgeous and they maintain it very well. They are very spacious with multiple TVs, DVD players, lavish furniture and a full kitchen. The bathroom in the villa was one of our favorite parts where they had a jacuzzi as well as a large stand-up shower. We had a garden-view room and could view the sunsets every evening. Housekeeping was regular. Each villa has its personalized golf cart which was a lot of fun to drive around and take to the nearby liquor store.

The Pallapa grill was wonderful and fairly reasonably priced. All food is very good and would recommend at least having a couple meals here. The servers are polite & friendly. Service is fairly quick.

The poolside hut is where we could borrow beach towels, kayak and snorkeling gear which was great if you do not have your own snorkeling gear. They are open til 730p on most days.

The beach was amazing and water is so clear. Can walk for several feet from the beach and still be able to stand! Sandals and Grand isle are the only two resorts that share the beach so it was never crowded when we went.

This area of the island is not over-developed and wonderful for a little getaway from the bustle of every day life. We absolutely fell in love with the place, villas and the island. If we get the chance again to go to Exuma, these villas will be the place we will be staying at again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank glowbe_trottah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCMHospitality, General Manager at Grand Isle Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Grand Isle. It sounds like you enjoyed some of our favorite things about the resort - the beach, food and relaxing location. We'd love to have you visit again. Here's to the Ultimate Exuma Blue experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (948)
There are newer reviews for Grand Isle Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

597 - 603 of 948 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and 12 y.o. daughter have just returned from a trip to Exuma at Grand Isle. Here’s why this is the place to visit:

1) Great Exuma, the island:

Quiet, small, unspoiled, virtually no mark of tourist noise. Been to Mexico, Jamiaca, Aruba, this is by far a better, friendlier, higher quality, safer island. I feel even safer in Great Exuma than at home, this island is to be explored, you must rent a car. Beaches are out of this world, best snorkelling I’ve ever experienced. Restaurants are everything from open air style brightly painted huts to chef owned and operated dining; food is out of this world. (Frankie’s Bakery ‘Guava Duff’, is insane!) I could go on but you need to discover it for yourself. No casinos, amusements, discos that I was aware of = quiet and laid back. Partiers go elsewhere. Boating tours up the Cays, highly worthwhile to see Thunderball Grotto, swim with sharks, pigs, feed iguanas, sting rays. Inexplicable beauty. The people are the warmest I’ve ever experienced travelling.

2) Grand Isle, the Villas:

Is the perfect blend of polish and service. Excellent restaurant Pallapa Grill, beautifully prepared meals. Quiet eternity pool, very clean beach, lots of pool and beach equipment. Amazing snorkelling along the Marina beach, I think the best on the island. Our room was high quality; very fresh, modern facilities, beautiful linens, well appointed kitchen, laundry, bathrooms, etc, the resort is very new. You feel completely relaxed returning from a day of island adventuring to your room knowing everything is looked after, you are received at the front gate with a very warm welcome, concierge services are excellent, gardens are stunning. Staff are polished and highly servicable but low-key which I prefer. Golf cart a nice touch.

What I particularly loved about Grand Isle is that it has high touch ammenities and services but is without the conveyor-belt attractions you get at an all-inclusive. In fact, you cannot stay at an all-inclusive as you would completely miss out on the charm and exceptional character which is unique to this particular island, especially the food and people. It’s a very easy going island, easy to get around.

If you wish for a relaxing, high quality villa amidst a friendly, exotic island of amazing food and breathtaking beaches – this is perfection.

Room Tip: I don't think there would be a bad room to be honest.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Po W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCMHospitality, General Manager at Grand Isle Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for providing such great comments about the island and the resort. We think you hit some really important points about the intimacy of the destination and our location. It's all about life on the water, and we're very pleased that you enjoyed the unique aspects that Grand Isle has to offer. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great place, 1,2,3 bedroom villas with top of line finishes. Nice restaurant and terrific pool to soak up the sun. Friendly staff. Probably nicest accommodations on island. Exuma is a peaceful place to explore and have relaxed fun. Great great snorkeling. Not over developed but plenty of amenities.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LSquared_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCMHospitality, General Manager at Grand Isle Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time on Exuma and at Grand Isle Resort & Spa. You hit the nail on the head regarding the peace and quiet with high-end amenities and all the comforts of home. Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

It was super easy to set up our vacation with Grand Isle. They booked our excursions and rentals for us in advance and day of if we decided on something. Judy was especially helpful throughout our trip but all staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. The villas are beautifully decorated and clean! The infinity pool is amazing and just steps from the beach. You are also able to use complimentary snorkeling gear (which they allow you to take off the resort grounds) and kayaks. We snorkeled 3 days in a row away from the resort and this was not a problem!

The food at the grill was also
great. Local dishes and others as well. Make sure you order a goombay smash Bahamian style...especially from Garfield! Delish :)

I cannot say enough great things about our much needed vacation. They have maps and restaurant lists to help make your vacation stress free! Thank y'all for a fantastic trip!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCMHospitality, General Manager at Grand Isle Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your trip to Grand Isle Resort & Spa. It sounds as if you really took advantage of many of the high points...snorkeling, kayaks, local dishes and Goombay Smashes (try an Exuma Blue next time - it's really good, too)! The staff very much enjoyed hosting you and we hope that you'll come back to visit sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Grand Isle is flat out wonderful! We stayed in a one bedroom garden view and could not have been happier. The property is gorgeous and our unit was spotless and tastefully decorated. Having food allergies, the kitchen was a must and was wonderfully equipped. I needed a blender and they brought one right over. Everyone we interfaced with was kind and gracious (both staff as well as guests). In fact we met a wonderful family who we are still close with :)

Both the pool and the beach were great as is the island, in general. Make sure you check out Tropic of Cancer. Though it was very windy, we had an outstanding day there swimming and watching the kite boarders. There is a nice little store right down the street from Grand Isle where you can buy groceries/produce that I actually found to be better than the one in town.

All in all, this place gets two awesome thumbs up!

If it were easier to get there, we'd be back more often.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank SASSSSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCMHospitality, General Manager at Grand Isle Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

It sounds like you had a great time and we couldn't be happier! The kitchen is nice to have, isn't it? We're glad that worked out for you given your food allergies! Next time, let us know if we can get your groceries for you so that they're waiting for you upon arrival!

So good to hear that you enjoyed the villa, as well as made it to some of the landmarks around the island. Regarding ways to get to Exuma, did you know that Reservations can help you with air accommodations? Give us a call next time so that we can find the easiest and most economical route for you - 214 393 2841. We'd love to have you come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our family of five stayed here the first week of August in a two bedroom villa with a pullout couch. If I could rate this hotel, it will be a 4.5 because the beach in front of the resort had a lot of seaweed and this black/ brown plants which washed ashore the entire time we were there... I mean lots of them by the end of the week. I can tell that they tried to clean it up and really, they cant control nature.This resort sits above Emerald bay. If you walk 5 min. past Sandals next door,the beach is cleaner. If you snorkel, right near the rocks at grand isle, there are tons of fish so there are pros and cons concerning its location depending on what you are looking for.

The other reason why I give 4.5 is because I think the housekeeping could have done a better job wiping or sweeping at least the foyer area everyday. With 3 teens, it was becoming sandy and dirty. Also, I had to request things to be refilled which I thought they would do automatically in a luxury hotel like this. Lastly, We reserved an ocean view but it was facing the marina with a yellow house and some boats. Our friends also requested ocean view. Their view was a little better.. a faraway view of the ocean obstructed with trees and other villas.

At the end, it really did not matter because this is why...
When we landed in Exuma, we received word that my father-in-law passed away suddenly. Somehow the front desk knew and gave their condolences. There were lots of positive things that I have to say.
First, the staff and service was excellent. Kevin bought cold drinks to all on the beach. Emerson entertained the kids at the pool. Leon was an excellent waiter and there were others on staff who were so friendly, I wish I can remember them all. The resort is peaceful and everyone was so friendly. There are paddle boats and kayaks that you can use for no charge. The entire island is friendly...much more than Turks and cayman.
Second, the restaurant at the resort is excellent. Our friends and our family usually would venture out but the food was so good that we ate there once for breakfast and lunch and 3x for dinner. Btw, bring bug spray and lots of cortisone. My son got 65 bites and I was bitten a lot by the end of the trip.
I would suggest getting a car since this resort is far from the grocery store and it is ideal to check out stocking island (take ferry from georgetown ($12 round trip/pp). A dolphin came close ashore and our kids got a chance to swim around it. You must also go to Tropic of Cancer which is about 45 min away. There are not many road signs but when you see a sign that says beach wink villas and some trash cans out, that is where you make the turn to Tropic of Cancer. Our friends went to coco plum beach and they loved there, too.

Overall, the resort itself was very good. Despite our sad news, grand isle did its job to make our stay wonderful especially in our difficult time. I don't think I saw a better resort anywhere like this while we were driving on Great Exuma.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is ocean view and ocean view rooms are sometimes obstructed with oceanfront villas, trees...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank trixgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our unit was beautiful, almost palatial. 2500 sq ft, 2 bedroom, 2 story unit with a balcony on the 2nd floor and a small patio on the 1st floor. Ocean view from balcony ( obstructed ). Each of 2 bedrooms had kingsize bed and ensuite, and a pull-out couch/bed in the living room. Maid service each day. Fully appointed kitchen, marble counter tops, sub-zero Fridge. Very very luxurious. Top marks for the unit. The grounds included a very large infinity pool, and towel service with access to a gorgeous beach. The Grand Isle resort includes one restaurant which was superior in service and food quality to most of the other restaurants on the island ( the restaurant industry in Exuma is "3 star" at best with a few exceptions, this being one of them). The grounds are immaculately maintained. There is an on-site spa, and they are still building their spa acumen.

I would endorse this resort as a 5 star facility.

Room Tip: There appears to be 2 resorts in Exuma to choose from for folks looking for a 4-5 star experience in...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Exuma
12.4 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
12.4 mi away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#2 of 2 in Stocking Island
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
559 reviews
11.2 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 4 in George Town
303 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Bahamas
Paradise Bay Bahamas
#1 of 15 in Great Exuma
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Isle Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Isle Resort & Spa

Address: Emerald Bay | PO Box EX-29253, Great Exuma
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range: $350 - $1,059 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Isle Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Emerald Bay in Great Exuma, The Bahamas, Grand Isle Resort & Spa is a stunning ocean front resort. The exclusive gated community comprises 78 luxuriously appointed 1- to 4-bedroom villas that range from 1,250 sq. ft. to 5,200 sq. ft. and offer a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living area, high-end amenities, and extraordinary views. Getting around the resort is quick and convenient, as every villa is equipped with a personal golf cart. Grand Isle is one of the finest resorts in the Caribbean and is ideally suited for family holidays, romantic getaways, destination weddings and honeymoons, or for simply enjoying the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Isle Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Isle Resort And Spa
Grand Isle Hotel Great Exuma
Grand Isle Resort & Spa Great Exuma, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing