We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The property was beautiful and the use of a golf cart was a nice touch. The villa I stayed in was beautifully furnished and very clean. I did have a problem with the patio door not locking so I called the front desk and they said they would have maintenance up right away. I got back to the room and checked 4 hours later and the door was still not working. I called again and they said they would send someone right away, an hour and a half later still no one. I called again and they said he was on his way. The beach could have been beautiful if they would have kept the trash picked up. There were plastic strips (maybe recycled then dumped in the ocean?) all over the beach. If you walk down to Sandals their beach front was kept clean so it was more enjoyable to walk on. Overall, I would stay here again as the villa was beautiful and the pool area was very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunDaysRMyKindOfDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (950)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

652 - 658 of 950 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

Six of us traveled from NYC for a week long vacation. Two people in our group were here the year before. They had such a great time they wanted to go again and their photos and stories made us all want to join them.

It was our best vacation to date. Everyone at Grand Isle was so kind. We took full advantage of their beach, pool, hot tub, gym and restaurant. We also enjoyed spending time in our two bedroom, two and a half bathroom villa where we cooked some group dinners and breakfasts. The villas come with every thing you need to make yourself at home.

The golf course is breathtaking. I don't play but it made a perfect course for a morning jog.
If you go, be sure to travel the island stopping at the fish fry, having some conch salad, take a water taxi to the Chat 'N' Chill and surely ask about day trip boat rides.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We just returned from the most fabulous vacation at Grand Isle Resort & Spa. The villa we rented was gorgeous. It was clean, comfortable and HUGE! It also had every amenity you could ask for. Basically, we were ready to move in permanently. Each room comes with a golf cart to get you around the resort. The golf course is breath-taking. The beach is just steps away with coral reefs, the bluest water, and white sands. The pool/bar/restaraunt area is fabulous. The food is great. We ate and drank there at least once everyday. The view from the pool is so pretty, I just had to mention it! Another thing that must be said is that the staff at the Resort are so friendly, we couldn't stop noticing it. A nice, professional staff can really make a vacation that much better. Thank you Grand Isle Resort & Spa! WE WILL BE BACK.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Serena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Words cannot describe how wonderful our one week holiday at Grand Isle Resort was; nor can pictures do it justice! My family of four felt pampered and we fully appreciated all the luxuries provided by the gorgeous resort. Our villa was immaculate and stunning - view was "to die for." Restaurant service was excellent and food delicious. We all loved the heated pool and we took full advantage of lots of the "beach toys" such as boogie boards, snorkling equipment, kayaks, and even pails and shovels to make sand castles! The concierge was very helpful in organizing our fabulous excursion around the cays - an experience of a lifetime! Renting a car also enabled us to explore the island, enjoy some other beaches and get some groceries. We had great fun riding the golf carts around the grounds. Before we left, my daughter and I even pampered ourselves at the spa! Definitely stay at Grand Isle Resort.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Williams L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband as I stayed in the 2 bedroom (3 bathroom) penthouse overlooking the ocean in march 2012 - the penthouse was gorgeous! Granite and marble finishings throughout, with high end everything (appliances, etc)!! The ensuite bathrooms were beautiful - the master bedroom and ensuite bath were very spacious - the separate master balcony was perfect for sunbathing! I prefer being able to eat quick healthy meals (salad, greek yogurt, etc) in my own (beautiful) well-equipped kitchen instead of the all-inclusive options, I actually lost weight (as opposed to gaining weight with the all-inclusive).

It would be advisable to rent a car for a day or two at the beginning to buy groceries (20-30 min's away) and to see the other end of the island. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Having your own golf cart to drive around the resort and surrounding area was great. The emerald bay beach is gorgeous, beautiful fine white sand (as is common in the Bahamas) - there were so many great little secluded white sand beaches that you could kayak to - it felt like you had the island to yourself - one of the upsides to being a smaller more secluded island. I cant say enough great things about this place, however the island is a bit secluded. If you wanted to socialize a little more you could wonder on to the neighboring Sandles resort. We did go to a couple bars in the main town on a friday night with a few others from the resort and it was alot of fun!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J-MillsLang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spent one week at the Grand Isle Resort in February 2013 and we were blown away! The grounds are beautiful and clean, the villas are spacious and tropically decorated, and the pool is gorgeous with views of the Emerald Bay beach. The staff is warm, friendly, and helpful with all your needs. Our villa was not on the ocean but we didn't care... Eating breakfast out on the patio was still lovely. We recommend renting a car to see Little Exuma/Tropic of Cancer Beach with a stop at Santana's for a delicious post-beach meal; driving to George Town to get groceries, liquor and cash; driving to various restaurants like Sylvia's at the fish-fry, Catch A Fire to watch the sunsets, and Splash a sports bar to play pool and darts; and getting to the various harbors so you can catch a water taxi to Chat N' Chill/Stocking Island and/or get a boat ride by Captain Jerry! We love Exuma and cannot wait to return! Thank you Grand Isle for making our vacation so special!!! A special mention and thanks to Judy, Emmerson, Crystal, and Shug for your hospitality. A huge thank you to Peter for everything!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AMS_11172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Just returned back from a week at Grand Isle Resort + Spa with my husband and 4 other friends. First of all the villas are beautiful! Spacious, clean with a tommy Bahama style decor, it was a great place to return home to after a fun day out in Exuma. The resort itself is beautiful! The view from the pool area is magnificent. Emerald Bay is just a gorgeous beach with incredible turquoise water. There are coral reefs just a few yards out where you can use the resorts snorkeling gear to check out the great sea life.

We travel quite a bit and cannot say how kind and friendly everyone who works there is. I actually find that quite rare so it made our trip that much more memorable.

Their palapa grill has great food, amazing drinks and has a real comfortable vibe. The live music that we saw was fab!

The fitness center has all that you need and while we didn't take advantage of the spa this time around, we heard from other guests that its really exceptional.

So sad to be back in chilly NYC but so looking forward to our next trip back to Grand Isle!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank arg2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Exuma
12.4 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
12.4 mi away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#2 of 2 in Stocking Island
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
561 reviews
11.2 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 4 in George Town
307 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Bahamas
Paradise Bay Bahamas
#1 of 15 in Great Exuma
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Isle Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Isle Resort & Spa

Address: Emerald Bay | PO Box EX-29253, Great Exuma
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range: $361 - $991 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Isle Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Emerald Bay in Great Exuma, The Bahamas, Grand Isle Resort & Spa is a stunning ocean front resort. The exclusive gated community comprises 78 luxuriously appointed 1- to 4-bedroom villas that range from 1,250 sq. ft. to 5,200 sq. ft. and offer a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living area, high-end amenities, and extraordinary views. Getting around the resort is quick and convenient, as every villa is equipped with a personal golf cart. Grand Isle is one of the finest resorts in the Caribbean and is ideally suited for family holidays, romantic getaways, destination weddings and honeymoons, or for simply enjoying the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Isle Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Isle Hotel Great Exuma
Grand Isle Resort And Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa Great Exuma, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing