We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Isle Resort the place to Relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Isle Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Great Exuma
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Grand Isle Resort the place to Relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

My husband and I travelled to Grand Isle Resort in April 2012 and stayed at Peter Nicholsons condos.
This was by far the most beautiful place we have visited. The beach was beautiful, the water colours of Emerald Bay were magnificient, the resort itself was clean with friendly helpful staff, the food was above average,the pool was heated so even if the temperature was not hot you still enjoyed floating around. The condos were more self-sufficient then most people homes and the details to furnishings were top notch. Each condo came with a golf cart so getting around the resort or locally off the resort was not an issue. We took a boat tour with Tyrone to Fishermans Keys as well as ?? Island and were blown away by the continuous beauty each corner you turned. We also did a land tour of Tropic of Cancer and visited Santanas. All the locals were friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were enjoying ourselves. We also went to Chat and Chill and it was an experience we will always remember. This place boasts all amenities you will need for a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a a bad room at this resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MicheleOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    131
    34
    6
    4
See reviews for
344
308
14
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I think the most unique thing about the Grand Isle Resort, or maybe it's just what I found most surprising, is the combination of luxury and a very low key vibe. The Resort is truly luxurious, from the bedding to the pool towels and spa. But at the same time you can relax by the pool without it seeming like "a scene." And while there were a lot of kids it never seemed like a "family" place either. (I don't have children and would not want to go on a holiday and be over-run by too many kids in the pool!) The beach is spacious and virtually empty a lot of the time. A golf course starts just outside the Resort and scuba diving is available just across the street.

If you want to stay in a beautiful and safe environment, in a comfortable villa, and worry about absolutely nothing for awhile, this is your spot!

Room Tip: Some rooms face the marina and others face Emerald Bay, so it just depends which you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miriam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

A five star resort with great service and friendly staff who go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and welcome. Stayed in a beautiful two bedroom villa overlooking the turquoise waters of Emerald Bay. What a relaxing six days! The villa was spacious and beautifully equipped and furnished, the food was great, pool was picturesque and the beach one of the nicest I've ever seen.

Room Tip: The oceanfront view rooms are worth it. Hard to get a better start to your day than to wake up each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Grand Isle is an outstanding ownership option. The villas themselves are top notch - very well designed, and with high quality furnishings....every amenity is available including excellent internet. The property is wonderful - beautifully landscaped, a large and excellent swimming pool and steps to a gorgeous ocean/beach.

The staff was uniformly excellent; from the servers at the restaurant and everyone at reception/concierge - especially Judy!

We stayed in one of Peter Nicholson's villas and he was the consummate host - not at all "pushy" and we are not only looking into ownership we would highly recommend this property and Peter specifically.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesamy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

We went here with our 7 month old daughter, and it was great. The staff was very accommodating, they even furnished us with a crib. Taking the baby around the resort in the free golf carts was a snap, but the property is also small enough to walk around with a 20-pound infant strapped to your chest without getting tired. :) The bar and pool staff were very friendly and didn't mind a squealing baby, in fact they seemed to like it, so we never felt edgy. Food at the restaurant is very good, and between the beach and the hammock and the pool (and nearby excursions like Chat n' Chill), there was always something entertaining-but-easy to do, which was good for the little one.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed in one of Peter Nicholson's villas at Grand Isle for five days and it was amazing. The villas themselves are super-luxe...amazing appliances and a gourmet kitchen. But it's the feel of the whole place that we really loved the most...just easy, quiet, and beautiful. No too-sauced guests making a ruckus, no swim-up super-bar in the pool, just friendly staff, a small group of friendly vacationers, free snorkeling gear/kayaks, and a breathtaking bay of emerald/blue water. We were there with our 7-month-old baby, and they had a great portable crib, highchair in the restaurant, everything we needed. Oh, and great/fast wifi in the villa!

Exuma isn't very built up, so definitely rent a car at the airport (simple) and make a stop at the grocery store in George Town to stock up on snacks, water, and food to cook in your beautiful villa kitchen if you won't want to eat out all the time. You'll want the car to drive into George Town for boat tours, souvenir shopping, eating out, etc., and renting is cheaper than a round-trip taxi.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sgold68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

This place is GREAT, the villas have everything one could need. The staff is super nice and very helpful. The king size bed in my villa was sooooo comfy, with best quality bedding you can find. The pool is really really nice, the perfect temperature. The beach is so close and not crowded. If you want to have a relaxing vacation this is the place to do it. Boat excursions can be arranged to explore other nearby islands. The resort has kayaks, and snorkel gear for guests to use. Exuma is a small island with a lot of fun spots to explore.

Room Tip: The one bedroom villas are huge and are perfect for couples or singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHouse1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Great Exuma hotels
12.5 mi away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#4 of 7 in Great Exuma
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
12.4 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
0.3 mi away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
11.1 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 1 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Bahamas
Paradise Bay Bahamas
#1 of 15 in Great Exuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Isle Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Isle Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Address: Emerald Bay | PO Box EX-29253, Great Exuma
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Isle Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Emerald Bay in Great Exuma, The Bahamas, Grand Isle Resort & Spa is a stunning ocean front resort. The exclusive gated community comprises 78 luxuriously appointed 1- to 4-bedroom villas that range from 1,250 sq. ft. to 5,200 sq. ft. and offer a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living area, high-end amenities, and extraordinary views. Getting around the resort is quick and convenient, as every villa is equipped with a personal golf cart. Grand Isle is one of the finest resorts in the Caribbean and is ideally suited for family holidays, romantic getaways, destination weddings and honeymoons, or for simply enjoying the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Isle Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Isle Hotel Great Exuma
Grand Isle Resort And Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa Great Exuma, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing