We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quintessential Out Island Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Great Exuma
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quintessential Out Island Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I've stayed at the P&P on and off since 2002. When I'm at the P&P it's as if I'm in a waking dream. The days are long and lazy. The sky is bright and the water bluest blue. The sand is white and pink and soft like talc. The staff is genuinely reserved and friendly and relaxed. It's impossible to be in a hurry here. If you are, don't come. If you don't want to be, then find your way here. You will never forget it.

This is the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow as far as I'm concerned. Located at the end of the line for most airlines, Exuma is just civilized enough to ease your safety concerns and just remote enough to allow your cares to fade away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Owner at Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island, responded to this review, November 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I could not say it better myself! Hope to see you when we are both in Exuma sitting on the pool deck watching the world go by. Thanks.
Barry Benjamin,
Owner and President, Club Peace and Plenty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    55
    5
    10
    5
See reviews for
22
64
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint James City, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Let me start by saying that I'm slightly biased. My wife and I have been visiting the P&P for twenty years! Hopefully, that will tell you something about the hotel. Second, I would suggest that if you're the type that would enjoy a stay at Scandals, then the P&P may not be your cup of tea. It is not a super luxurious property. Rather, it is the quintessential historic, out island resort!

We just returned from a weeks stay, and had a marvelous time. In many ways staying here is like taking a trip back in time since the property is over 50 years old. That is not to say it isn't nice- it most certainly is. But, the feel of the place is that of a small, friendly, quiet, historic out island resort. But, you shouldn't expect to be hand- fed things to do, to be drooled over by hovering staff, or to be able to stay "connected" at all times. If that's what you want look elsewhere. If you want to be left alone you can be. But, hopefully, you will be taken under the wing of an experienced guest who will point you in the direction of the vast array of nearby things to do during your stay. Visiting an absolutely deserted beach is only a water taxi ride away. World class bone fishing, Snorkeling, scuba, sailing, boating, etc can all be arranged for you by the front desk.

Dining at the on-site restaurant is always a pleasure. But, if you want to get out to visit some native establishments (and I strongly recommend that you do) the staff will point you in the right direction. Miss Shirley's, and Charlie's, both at Fish Fry are on my list. Mom's Bakery, Tropical Breeze, Santana's, and the pizza at Palm Bay Beach club are all also musts. But, the best part of the P&P is it's staff, some of whom have been there for over forty years. Just relax, and smile, and get to know some of the best people in the world.

And, make sure to spend some quality time around the two bars. The pool bar is as friendly as it gets, and, in my mind, the inside bar is the best bar in the world!

So, if you're slightly adventurous, and want to experience the real Bahamas, stay at the P&P! It's a magical place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mitchell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Owner at Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island, responded to this review, November 28, 2014
Thank you Mitchell! Your review spells out just what I try and tell people when I describe the PnP to them. If you want to get away from it all, the PnP and Exuma is the place to be. Thanks again.
Barry Benjamin
President and Owner, Club Peace and Plenty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Charming, reasonably priced, centrally located, clean, neat & tidy. Very friendly and helpful staff. Close walk to all of downtown and shops, restaurants, dock etc. Ask "Doc" at the bar to make you a Goombay Smash-it will start your evening out right. Good food at the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin34862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Owner at Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island, responded to this review, November 28, 2014
The staff and management at the PnP appreciate your review of our property, Kevin. We all hope to see you soon in Exuma. Thanks
Barry Benjamin
Owner and President, Club Peace and Plenty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Level Contributor
191 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This is an older property but very well maintained. It is right in the center of town so you can walk to what you like or catch a water taxi other beaches. We enjoyed our meals we had there - food was well prepared and service was friendly. We toured the rooms - though we did not stay as we were staying on a boat. For my next visit though - we would stay here. The pool area and restaurant were good and harbor/ocean views cannot be beat. They had a great bbq and happy hour with a rake and shake band.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PilgrimBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia M, Manager at Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for patronizing Peace & Plenty's restaurant. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food. It will be our pleasure to accommodate you on your next trip to Exuma. We appreciate you taking the time to review the property. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocasset, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is not a luxury hotel, but it is so wonderful. The staff are so great. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable with the MOST amazing views. You can get wi-fi here and a good meal. Also, they have music and dancing a couple of nights per week which is great fun. You will meet interesting people here and the location is ideal.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank capecodder43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia M, Manager at Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and are grateful that you took the time to share your experience. We appreciate your choosing Club Peace & Plenty and we look forward to accommodating you again in the future. Regards

Magnolia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soutwestern ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We have been travelling to and from Exuma from our home in SW Ontario, Canada for the past 3 years... Each and every time that we are there we frequent the Club Peace n Plenty... Besides the view, centralized locatiion in Georgetown, clean and pleasant rooms, etc. - the most amazing thing about this property is the staff themselves... Their attention to every need of their guests is simply unparalleled... They are responsive, attentive, resourceful, and supportive to ensuring that each and every guest have an amazing experience... I cannot thank the entire team enough for all of their ongoing support to myself and my husband every time we have the pleasure of being at the Club Peace n Plenty... thanks so very much !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hikeforhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia M, Manager at Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
We are appreciative that you took the time to share your experience at the Club Peace & Plenty. We're happy to be of service and we look forward to serving you again in the near future. Regards and Happy Easter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

INTRO - I picked this hotel during a 2 night stay in Exuma. It was chosen due to its close proximity to the water taxi which allowed a 10 minute transport to Stocking Island (a must see). Upon arrival, I was pleasantly surprised to find a very spacious hotel nestled right along the water. It was quiet and frequented with various polite travelers from around the world.

PRO
- Service - the staff is polite and helpful. They were eager to give suggestions for other restaurants rather than push you to their own on-site restaurant
-Location - literally only a few steps from the Police Station (Safe) and a few more feet from the Water Taxi to Stockling Island (Convenience). The views from the rooms are great and you can lounge in the pool with a great view of the ocean.
-Rooms - Clean. The showers are clean as well with jumbo economy size dispensers for soap and shampoo. No insects or rodents. However, the age is apparent in some facilities. The toilet was not firmly seated and I noticed it rocked slightly with every push and heave (note: I am NOT a fat dude). At times, I was worried the toilet seat would dislodge from the base!

CON
-WiFi range is HORRENDOUS. They have a router prominently displayed on the front desk yet it only reaches into the lobby and the border of the restaurant?!? 20 feet tops?!?!?! You are guaranteed to see 3-8 people in the lobby or the on the border of the restaurant using their phones or laptops. Even now, I am writing this review from the lobby at 9pm rather than in bed, in my room. It boggles my mind that they don't invest in more routers or greater range. This is not a universal problem as other restaurants and hotels in Exuma have far-reaching WiFi. This CON can be a dealbreak for some.
-Price - This is definitely an expensive price for a hotel that has such limited wifi and unstable toilet bowels. I'm happy with the view/safety/service, but for the extra $50 that I'm paying above market value, the least they can do is allow me to use the internet while seated upon a stable, non-rocking toilet seat, IN MY ROOM!

CONCLUSION
-Satisfied, but not blown away. You get your money's worth with regards to location, but the small improvements would make its a 4.5 star rather than just a 3.

Room Tip: Get a room with a stable toilet bowl frame so you're not concerned with falling into your own ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scalpelx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Owner at Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island, responded to this review, November 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. We have done some work on the WiFi availability by installing a router in the dinning room. We have not forgotten our guests who hang out on their balconies and will be continuing to increase the range of our WIFI in the coming months. My mother was very much 'old school' and thought why would you come to such a beautiful place to be on your computer / phone BUT i do realize that times are changing and the PnP much change with them to provide our guests with amenities that help to make their stay enjoyable. Thanks again.
Barry Benjamin
Owner and President, Club Peace and Plenty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Great Exuma hotels
1.5 mi away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#4 of 7 in Great Exuma
5.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
12.4 mi away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Great Exuma
4.5 of 5 stars 793 reviews
9.4 mi away
Exuma Palms Hotel
Exuma Palms Hotel
#6 of 7 in Great Exuma
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 1 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 494 reviews
12.3 mi away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
1.3 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 1 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island

Property: Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
Address: Elizabeth Harbour, Great Exuma
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Club is a beautiful 32 room resort, including 3 two-room suites, overlooking Elizabeth Harbour. Room choices include Harbour water front view, pool side, Garden suites, or two-room suites. All rooms include air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini-fridge, hair-dryer, private bath, and in room cable television. The hotel's Gourmet restaurant offers local cuisine including Grits with breakfast and Conch burgers for lunch. The dinner menu ranges from steak to seafood including Grouper, a local favorite. The Club offers two bars. Our 'Pool Deck' bar is tended by Lerman "Doc" Rolle. Inside is the air-conditioned site of the 'Old Slave Kitchen' bar tended by Garfield and Annette. Since the Club is right in the middle of town, you are close to grocery shopping, site seeing and fun activities including sail boat rental available through Out Island Explorers or snorkeling, diving and motorboat rental. On a Friday the Club sponsors a cocktail party for their guests. Other nights can include live Calypso musi, dancing and Karaoke. The Club is Exuma's gathering place for the townspeople and visitors from all over the island. There is also a ferryboat service on request to Peace and Plenty’s Stocking Island Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island Hotel Great Exuma
Club Peace And Plenty Exuma Island
Hotel Peace Plenty Exuma Island
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island Great Exuma, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing