We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable”

Frangipani Italian Restaurant & Lounge
Price range: $55 - $110
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Five tables for an intimate restaurant, characterised by elegance and sobriety. A mix between colors, movements, ingredients, spices, horizons, emotions, all in a circus of flavors that makes the culinary experience at FRANGIPANI unique.
Hurley, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

If you can imagine casual elegant dining on a patio overlooking azure waters of a tropical bay, italian cuisine of sublime quality prepared by a world class chef from the finest fresh and imported ingredients, served by an engagingly charming host then you are beginning to appreciate the experience that awaits those fortunate enough to dine at Frangipani on the Island of Great Exuma in the Bahamas.My wife and I have just returned from perhaps the finest meal we have ever experienced while traveling and I rushed to join TripAdvisor solely to pen this review. We were literally met at the gate by our host, David, and escorted to the back deck where we relaxed in comfort with a complimentary glass of Proseco while we perused the menu. Our most burdensome task was choosing from a delightful assortment of appetizers while still preserving room for the main course. Ultimately we selected the Bruschetta, aged prosciutto with melon (so deliciosa that my wife, a nominal vegetarian, partook), tuna balls, spiced shrimp and a pumpkin veloutte, all of which were simply fantastic. As a concession to the number of appetizers we opted for only one entree, the fresh Grouper which was served with asparagus and potato cake. We finished by sharing the chocolate torte which was exquisite. Aside from the spectacular setting and the marvelous food, it was an added treat to chat with David and learn how he and his family came to be here, doing this.While on Exuma, this place is not to be missed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Pag-ther-Otter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    0
    2
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A must for anyone eating out in exuma, a boutique restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I went for dinner with my husband and two young children, we heard of the Italian restaurant in Rolletown from a local Bahamian and went to find it, as there are not many un bahamian restaurants in Exuma, its quite a treat to find something different to eat!
I was not disappointed, the view from the restaurant is stunning the setting with the outdoor lounge and tables is gorgeous, the owners david and chef Francesca are very welcoming with their two sons.
Our children loved watching the fish and crabs off the deck, whilst i had a glass of bubbly, bliss!
The food was of a good quality and well presented, a bit on the expensive side, but most things are in the bahamas ( 8 dollars for a tiny bottle of water in atlantis) so the prices aren't that bad when you think about it, and the food you get is the real deal!
We chose to eat outside but could have gone into the restaurant, the kids were having more fun on the deck, lots of seating and room to move. The lanterns and subtle lighting outside gave it a romantic feel and the wine helped too!
I will be going back, it was a lovely atmosphere and if anyone from sandals fancies a meal out this is where i would recommend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank chublette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian and wonderful hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The island was all abuzz about a new authentic Italian restaurant just opened and owned by a couple from Rome so of course we had to stop in and see what all the chatter was about. We stopped on our way down to Forbes Hill to check out the location and ran into the owner David. The site was beautiful and David and Francesca had created a very nice indoor and outdoor ambiance. David was so enthusiastic, friendly and genuinely excited that we decided to make dinner reservations for that night. We arrived and had wine and appetizers on the deck while watching the sun set and went inside later for dinner. There were 4 in our party and we all loved our dishes which were very freshly prepared and quite decadent. We started with the culatello prosciutto and bruschetta which were both fabulous (and next time I’m trying the calamari!). Main dishes we tried included bucatini with Sarawak pepper and Italian Pecorino cheese, bucatini Amatriciana style with Italian guanciale and fresh tomato, risotto with shrimp, and lasagna with a béchamel sauce and porcini mushrooms. We enjoyed a nice bottle of Pinot Noir (although not my favorite wine) and had decadent chocolate torte with a vanilla sauce and strawberry tarte tatin. We thoroughly enjoyed our meals prepared by chef Francesca and her wonderful staff. Definitely an expensive night on the town but well worth it knowing the food is fresh and prepared with great love. Just to get the recipe ingredients in Exuma is a feat to be appreciated, let alone the wonderful service and delicious food. We will return to Frangipani on our next visit and wish David and Francesca (and their two adorable boys) the best of luck in this new venture. If you like Italian and appreciate ambiance and authentic food you will not be disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank vacationloverOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartwells
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AWSOME EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This place is REALLY awesome, the food is five stars. Cooked and serve by the owners (Francesca and Davide), what else can you ask for. A piece of Italy in Bahamas. The location has one of the most beautiful views you can enjoy. If you come to Exuma it is a MUST to eat here. Don't forget to drink a Mojito.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frangipani Italian Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 
George Town, Great Exuma
 
George Town, Great Exuma
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing