We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There is a reason Shirley's is #4”

Shirley's at the Fish Fry
Ranked #3 of 48 Restaurants in Great Exuma
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ottawa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“There is a reason Shirley's is #4”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We’d heard for some time about the very casual fish fry beach bar/restaurants just outside of Georgetown as the place where local Bahamians go on Friday night for the music and BBQs, but had always just assumed it would just be too-fried food.

One day I noticed Shirley's was the #4 restaurant in Great Exuma, ahead of Chat N’ Chill and the Exuma Point Bar and Grill, and decided there must be a reason. And there is.

The food was wonderful. Barb’s crab cakes were fresh and lightly cooked with no batter, and just the right amount of distinctive seasoning. My fish was similarly perfectly cooked fresh grouper in a pita-like bread wrap that was a thinner and fresher than I’m able to find at home. It seems from the comments that the coconut or garlic flavoured grouper are customer favourites which we might have tried if we hadn’t been looking for a light lunch.

When I asked Shirley what being #4 on tripadvisor meant, she explained that when she’d started her business a year ago, she’d never heard of it until she discovered her customers were writing about her food. She told us all she does is be there when she should, and try to serve the best food. She proudly stated what her sales had been in her first 8 month season, and said she's know what tripadvisor meant after her second 8 month season.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    143
    40
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our new favorite restaurant”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We discovered Shirley's on this trip to greater Exuma and liked it so much we ate there 3 different times over our 9 day stay. The coconut grouper and the grilled lobster were some of the best dishes we have ever had anywhere. The Mac and cheese was great along with the plantains.

We will definitely be going back

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Spectacular food, friendly service!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Shirley's was our go to place during our 5 days staying near Hooper's Bay. Everything is delicious- especially the coconut grouper, conch, peas and rice, and blackened grouper. Guava duff is out of this world! Also, very affordable for the island and Shirley is very friendly. Highly recommended and definitely worth a visit to get some real Bahamian cooking and get out of hotel restaurants!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Shirley's, located at the fish fry, was yummy! We even went twice because we loved it so much the first time. The garlic grouper, blackened grouper, and the grilled lobster were all excellent!! Their macaroni and cheese was really good too, spicy! Great place for fresh seafood at a great price.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank want2travelall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Shirley's Fish Fry”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

A number of very casual beach bar/restaurants on the beach just outside of Georgetown. Went on a Friday night, music, BBQ, great setting and scenery. Wonderful

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin34862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shirley's at the Fish Fry also viewed

 
George Town, Great Exuma
George Town, Great Exuma
 
George Town, Great Exuma
 

Been to Shirley's at the Fish Fry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing