We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blu at Exuma Palms - CLOSED

Blu at Exuma Palms
Price range: $14 - $50
Cuisines: Bahamian, Caribbean, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We are a new concept restaurant on Great Exuma!! Not only are we on one of the most beautiful beaches in Exuma, but we are both from hospitality backgrounds. Ben, the chef hails from Ireland, where he trained under the Michelin Starred chef Derry Clarke during his apprenticeship, before heading to Washington DC and working in various restaurants. After that he went to Tokyo for a year working in the Michelin starred Gordon Ramsay restaurant. After his Asian affair he joined mega yachts where he served the wealthy throughout the entire Caribbean and Mediterranean for several years before falling in love with Exuma. Clare the Manager, from London has spent 8 years serving the uber rich and famous aboard some of the worlds most glamorous and largest yachts in the world. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily, with themed nights. Monday is Mexican night, Friday is Indian and Sunday sip Goombay Smashes listening to live Rake 'n Scrape music while feasting on the Islands famous Grillmasters pit, pulled Pork, Chicken and all the fixings...We play cool old tunes, with a casual, ocean front ambiance, serving fine cuisine from around the world, served well with a smile. Call for reservations.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really good food !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I was really surprised how good the food was. I had some of the best fried calamari ever! It is a beautiful place with really good food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank virginia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    11
    6
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Having eaten at the other top locations on this list, this one beats them all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We were in Exuma for a week, traveling up and down the island, stopping at several places to eat along the way, and always had the very best dining experience at the blu Restraunt in the Exuma Palms hotel. The food was amazing! Ben is a well-trained and intuitive artist in the industry of pleasing the taste buds. They were always very accommodating to our group, very friendly, and very knowledgable. This is an amazing restraunt, and you won't want to leave it off your list of things to do in Exuma!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ducksfly2gether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exuma Palm's & Chef Ben”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

This spot is among the very best of a "still developing" restaurant scene in Exuma. We didn't discover it until the end of our trip, and we all agreed we wished we had found it earlier.

We went twice and we were 5, so it meant we enjoyed 10 different appetizers, and 10 different entrees - all were wonderful, with the most memorable including the authentic Caesar salad, the Risottos, and the Red Snapper. The service was good and the tip is not already included in your bill - meaning of course that the tip is earned by good service... A nice depature from every other restaurant we attended where the tip was already included, and the service was, in some cases, not so good.

After our first meal, we chatted with Chef Ben for a bit and explained that were we going deep sea fishing the next day. Ben jokingly suggested that if we get into any Tuna, that perhaps we would think of him... As luck would have it, I caught a small Black Fin Tuna, which we dropped off on the way back, and Chef Ben crafted it into a fantastic Carpachio for us that night.

Best of luck to Chef Ben & the Exuma Palms !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing time at Exuma Blu Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

My family and I had dinner at Chef Ben's restaurant and not only was his food absolutely amazing he added a special touch by coming out at the end with birthday deserts and drinks! I really enjoyed his style of cooking it was a great mix of the islands classic dishes with other relishes options for a change. Highly recommend going there ! Thanks again chef :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely place to go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went with 17 people who were traveling with us without reservations and they did a great meal, fantastic service (best so far). They have music nights be we just missed it but worth a stop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tanya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blu at Exuma Palms also viewed

George Town, Great Exuma
 
Great Exuma, Out Islands
 
Great Exuma, Out Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing