We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW - Sandals Emerald Bay is a first class resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“WOW - Sandals Emerald Bay is a first class resort”
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We just got back from Sandals Emerald Bay in Exuma and WOW pretty much sums it up. From the minute we arrived, we were treated like VIPs. The check-in process was painless, we were in our room in a matter of minutes, after enjoying a refreshing welcome cocktail in the lobby and being greeted by the General Manager, Florian. We were upgraded to a one-bedroom suite which was a nice surprise. The room was beautiful and the resort was spectacular - the pictures do not do it justice. The focal point is the main pool and it's pretty amazing, size, shape, cabanas, view of the ocean, etc. The staff was great, everyone was friendly, courteous and extremely helpful. The bartender at Il Ciello, Tammy, found out it was my birthday and with the rest of the staff there put together a special birthday dinner for me, my husband and the other couple we were traveling with, that was a nice treat. I can't speak highly enough about our butlers, Grince and Greg, they really went out of their way to make sure our trip was memorable.

My husband and his friend played golf and they thoroughly enjoyed the course. It lived up to everything we saw on the Big Break. Our butler took us sight-seeing on the back nine and the views were unbeliveable.

This resort is true caribbean - it's laid back and a great place to chill and escape life for a while. It's not big on nightlife but that's not what we were looking for. There is plenty to do days and nights, but if your looking for a party place, this isn't it. We wanted to de-stress, relax and rejuvanate and this was definitely the place. We hated to leave and can't wait to go back!

A special thanks to Amy McHugh and Dream Makers Vacation Services, www.dreammakersvaca.com. Amy and her her husband have a top notch company and I can't say enough about them. I highly recommend them to everyone.

I'll sum this up the way I started it - WOW!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LA_Apopka_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,191
    947
    388
    125
    89
See reviews for
98
3,212
11
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed at this resort for our honeymoon. It is incredibly relaxing and laid back. August is the off-season and the resort was only at 50% occupancy when we were there.

The rooms are beautiful and every room has an ocean view. The room bar is well stocked and the butler (!) will bring you anything you'd like for your bar. Sometimes there would be a bath drawn with flower petals, champagne and cheese trays left in the room as a surprise.

The people were lovely, very friendly and attentive.

The food was pretty good at the restaurants. We discovered that you could order lobster the day before and had an amazing surf-n-turf at Il Cielo. One night, we ordered crab cakes and there was none available- the next day Albergo (sp?) offered us a dinner of crab legs made specially for us to make up for it. Sometimes things on the menu were not available as food would get caught up in customs being imported into the Bahamas. I tried to stick with seafood and avoided the more North-American foods (unless at the pub!).

The butler service was a nice touch. We did notice that one butler was more efficient than the other in making plans and organizing aspects of our activities, but both were very quick to respond if we called them on the cell phone. We didn't use their services a whole lot, but they will deliver pizza to you at the pool in the afternoon!

Our trip off the resort was great! We rented a car ($99 including insurance) and drove to the Tropic of Cancer beach (absolutely beautiful- we were the only 2 people there!) and then to Georgetown. We caught a ferry to Stocking Island where we ate a conch salad at Chat-n-Chill. The guy picked the conch out of the ocean and prepared it with local onions, green peppers, habanero, oranges and lime. He even gave us conch to bring to the ocean and feed to the sting-rays, who ate right out of our hands! Beware of the drinks there- a rum and coke is a free pour with a splash of Coke :) Also, people drive to the left on Exuma and we had a right-hand drive car- quite the experience on the small winding roads!

The only hiccup in the trip was the last day. Our flight was leaving at 2:00 and the hotel wanted us transported to the airport by 10:30am. (The airport is only about a 10 minute drive from the resort.) We did manage to get them to move it to 12:00 and signed a waiver saying that it would be our fault if we missed the flight. Our butler kindly organized a later check-out but we ended up getting locked out of our room, because the card stopped working at 11. It did feel like they were sending the guests away too eagerly on the last day. The airport is VERY small and even a 2-hour check-in period was quite long. We just checked in and were through security in less than 5 minutes. A lot of Sandals guests who left at 10:30 spent a lot of time in the small waiting room in the airport.

Overall, it was a lovely trip, and I would go here again, or to another Sandals!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank St_Johns_Girl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We were initially skeptical about the caliber of the hotel but were pleasantly surprised. The grounds were lovely, the beach absolutely magnificent, the food pretty good, and the service overall was pretty good. The added touch of our butlers Adeep and Michael really made our holiday fantastic. They delivered on our individual needs and made sure we were comfortable. Not only were they attentive and intuitive, they compensated for the inadequacies in the resort (I.e. No tennis staff, balls, water, towels etc.). We would certainly recommend this resort to couples looking for quiet relaxation in a beautiful setting. The Internet connection from our room, which we paid extra for was very unreliable. The room itself though was really lovely and clean..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Live2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

As our Honeymoon destination, we could had picked a better place to stay. Everything from staff to food was amazing. We took a chance as this was a fairly new Sandals resort however it did not shy away from being exactly as advertised!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jp_express123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

I think if you give it time this Sandals Resort will acquire all it needs to accomplish the standards that people are accustomed to at the other Sandals resorts.This is our fourth Sandals resort, and I have to say it was BEAUTIFUL. The beach and water is Amazing! We were greeted with Champagne, cool towels and smiling faces.
We went with friends and we all had a great time. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet at Bahama Bay, a special shout out to Marcus for making the french toast and pancakes fresh in the morning when we came in. We had dinner at night in Il Cielo the food was great. We spoke to Jerome and ordered lobster for our farewell dinner and it was a perfect ending to a great vacation. We also did the candlelight dinner for the four of us in the Sandals Tower which was the best place to watch the sunset! Thank you to Pitikin for always checking in to make sure everything was running to perfection! The Spa was amazing, we did the massage and scrub with a wrap. The staff was always accomodating and did all they could to make it a great experience.
What can I say our butlers were the best! Lemisha and Deepak know what to do. Lemisha always suprised us with drinks and snacks on the beach in the morning, cheese platters and Champagne in the afternoon and beautful room decorations to come back to in the evening. Deepak was there as well bringing anything we asked for and was in early on our departure day to say goodbye! The rooms were beautiful, always well stocked and clean the king size bed was extremely comfortable. The only thing to make this better would be a direct flight from New York!! This was a truly relaxing vacation, one we are looking foward to repeating!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jlbwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Several hundred dollars were stolen from my wife while she was at the Sandals Emerald Bay Red Lane spa on the last day of our honeymoon. Since that time, we have been lied to, given the run around, received several passive aggressive phone calls and email replies, and otherwise treated poorly by the Sandals Emerald Bay staff. As a result, there is no way that I would recommend Sandals Emerald Bay and I would hesitate to recommend any Sandals Resorts property. The full story is at [---]

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ericpratum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

This Sandals is having growing pains but not bad enough to stop you from totally enjoying it. They are trying very hard and will one day soon be spectacular. Although we are first timers at a Sandals we are well travelled. We were here for our 30th anniversary and although they could have handled our "day" a little better all in all we had a wonderful time. Kerry and her gang at the Pub were just the best! The nicest part of this resort is that while you are on an island many miles from American soil they have everything you would expect to get at home, i.e. very comfy beds, top shelf drinks, great food and the air conditioning worked really well everywhere. In my opinion the Bohamian people working on this resort are so wonderful and caring that you couldn't help but fall in love with each and everyone of them. It was without a doubt a lovely experience and nice to be at a couples only resort where all the staff spoke and understood English.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Exuma
12.3 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
12.4 mi away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#1 of 1 in Stocking Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Great Exuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
2.9 mi away
Exuma Palms Hotel
Exuma Palms Hotel
#5 of 6 in Great Exuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
11.1 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 2 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort

Property: Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
Address: Queen's Highway, Emerald Bay, EX29142, Great Exuma (Formerly Four Seasons Resort Great Exuma at Emerald Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•NEW!! Jogging Trail on property - 2.6 miles long •Greg Norman designed 7,001 yard golf course with 6 signature oceanside holes•Three fresh water pools including the Caribbean’s largest zero entry pool with a central fire pit•24 hour room service to all rooms and suites•Seven exciting dining options to choose from•Red Lane Spa with sixteen extensive treatment rooms•Personalized off resort excursions arranged by our Island Routes Tour specialists•Sits on 1 mile of the Exuma’s best powdery white sand beaches•6 Har-Tru tennis courts including a sunken stadium court•Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Emerald Bay “Caribbean’s Leading Luxury All-Inclusive”•Awarded #9 spot in the 2012 Readers' Choice Awards "Top 12 Resorts in The Atlantic" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Emerald Bay Hotel Great Exuma
Four Seasons Great Exuma
Great Exuma Four Seasons
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis And Spa Resort Great Exuma, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing