We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation to remember”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Reviewed November 21, 2013

As a Christmas gift to our family our two adult children and their spouses and my husband and myself went to Emerald Bay. It was a wonderful, wonderful vacation! Our children who have traveled extensively said that staying at Sandals Emerald Bay would spoil them forever for vacationing at other resorts.

Beautiful water...it really is emerald in color. Beautiful beach. Service was great.

We will go back to visit again.

Room Tip: if you a night person stay by the big pool if you are quiet person, stay further from the big pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123Espanola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Hello and thank you for your review!
We are so pleased that we were able to surpass all of your expectation during your visit to Sandals Emerald Bay. What a lovely way to make unforgettable memories with your family!
We hope to welcome you back soon for more pampering and fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,064)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,379 - 2,385 of 4,064 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

This sandals is quite small staff are really nice we had a luxury honeymoon suite which was a nice size and was well maintained. We are beach lovers and went to the beach on the first day beware of the sand flies maybe it depends on the time of year but everyone was being affected.We stayed by the pool for the remainder of the holiday. If you want a cabana you need to get up early or they are all taken in the quiet pool or the main pool. The French and Italian resturants are good then you have the drunken duck and buffet restaurant they really could do with one more as you have to book up or you will miss out. The coffee shop is good. We took the island tour trip to see the swimming pigs it cost $750 dollars for two it is an all day trip but long winded if I knew I would have just done the half day tour but the swimming pigs were awesome.We did enjoy the holiday but the communication needs to be addressed. You really do not need a butler.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trowbridge9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Sandals Emerald Bay.
Overall, we are pleased to hear that you did enjoy your visit with us.
We apologize if there were aspects of your stay that fell short of your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will be making the appropriate steps to improve our service and quality.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future for an even better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Sandals EB this past June for a (5) night stay at resort.

This was our third Sandals resort we have visited in the past 8 years; our other stays have included (2) stays @ Royal Bahamian and (1) stay at Royal Plantation.

We utilized the following during the stay: golf; fitness room and spa.

The golf was very nice for a Caribbean golf course. It is very demanding (a high handicap golfer may get frustrated but the views on the back 9 are amazing). When we where there in June, the tee-times where “wide open”. The ladies at the golf shop said that December thru March is there “high season” for golf (temp is great and low humidity).

The spa facility was very nice (the resort was built by Four Seasons Corp before being converted into Sandals; therefore the spa facilities were inline with what you would see @ 4S or Ritz Carlton). The services we received were nice and we’re very similar to other services received at Red Lane Spa’s at Sandals in the past.

The fitness room was in need updating (equipment); the facility itself was very nice and had plenty of free weights. The aerobic equipment (elliptical and Stairmasters were in need of servicing) so we were a little disappointed with that aspect of the resort.

The beach was very pretty but could only utilize water sports 2 of our 5 days while at the resort; we heard similar stories from people that had been at the resort the week before us; my word of advice, if you love water sports (sailing and/or snorkeling), if you get a pretty day you better take advantage of it!!

We enjoyed the resort but it would be our least favorite of the 3 we have visited. The biggest disappoint for us was the difference between “Butler” service suites and “non-butler” suites. We have had both at other resorts and had never seen such a difference as what we saw @ EB (was very much an issue in regards to seating at main pool). If we ever went back, would not go back without BS.

Room Tip: If you domestic (US) beers and higher end liquers you MUST have butler service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elon94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Thank you for your review of Sandals Emerald Bay.
We are pleased that you had an overall enjoyable visit with us. There are many amazing features at the resort and the views are sublime.
We apologize if at any time we fell short of meeting your expectations. As a returning Sandals guest, you are well aware of the high standards that we set for our service and quality. With this in mind, we will be forwarding your concerns to our resort management team for further review and action as needed.
We hope to welcome you back soon at one of our gorgeous properties.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is my 3rd stay with Sandals, 1st @ Emerald Bay. Place is Beautiful, the staff where Great! The only down side is there is REALLY Nothing to do on the property, unless you are into laying back All Day long. Very quiet. The food was Good. Staff at the water sport where excellent. Overall had a Great stay.

Room Tip: Third floor, Great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liza c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Hello and thank you for your review, Liza!
We are thrilled that we were able to exceed you expectations and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Sandals Emerald Bay!
We look forward to welcoming you back for another fantastic vacation at one of our beautiful Sandals properties!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Lovely hotel, surpassed our expectations. Food was really good, no complaints. Rooms were good too, no need for the butlers, but they were polite. Beautiful beach and view, although the ocean was quite rough a few days. Loved the golf course, take your camera! Definitely do the Ocean Safari tour, lots of fun and island hopping, the snorkeling is amazing, far better than the Sandals' dive boat. You go with a great father and son team on a beautiful power boat. That was actually the highlite of our trip. Wow! Got some incredible photos. Exuma has to be one of the most beautiful places in the world. Hope to return and do it all again.

Room Tip: Rooms don't matter that much, you want to be outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chaslw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We are home from a week at Emerald Bay...and have nothing but great things to say about this place. The staff were very friendly and ready to help, the food at the Italian and French was good, and the overall place wonderful. We were travelling as a group of six friends so there was always lots to do,,,golf, wonderful clay tennis courts, and the spa gym.... We had fabulous service from Garth the butler and Vinette in the Spa for a hair cut and style. We would recommend the property to friends who are looking to really chill out, de stress and have some fun.

Room Tip: We loved having a beach front walk out....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domesticdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were first attracted to Sandals with promise of "unlimited" SCUBA along with the "Sandals Luxury Included" pitch. We had a great holiday but the Luxury Included was not as advertised.
Fortunately, this resort has a challenging golf course and with our Butler class room, unlimited golf was included. Just pay the cart fee -- a good value for the quality of the course. However, lucky we checked the club rental ahead and brought our clubs as rental would have been pretty pricey.
This is not really a SCUBA place for SCUBA people. When we took previous vacations to such places, the SCUBA operator would go the great lengths to get you diving. The best example was where the sea was rough in Honduras, the scuba operator took their boat to the other side of the island which was more sheltered and transported divers and equipment over there by van and bus for a couple of days until the sea calmed. Not so at Sandals. It was pretty rough and the solution was to cancel SCUBA 3 days out of 7 and only offer one dive other days except one calm day.
Regarding the "Luxury Included" our expectations were a bit high on account of the promotion. The liquor was and still is promoted as top brands included, including Remy Martin VSOP cognac -- not so, no cognac at all on the resort, and REMI brandy brought to us as if it was cognac. Another strange drinking peculiarity -- when a gin martini ordered, no vermouth, just straight gin shaken with ice -- not our preference, and never seen this before; we just chose not to finish it rather than complain. Same failure to meet expectations on the food -- good but not up to any of the good restaurants we frequent in Toronto, never mind the few very good restaurants we have had the pleasure of in Toronto, Paris, Rome, New Orleans, San Francisco, etc. A decent resort, and perhaps this is all one should expect, but definitely not up to the hype.

All that said, we played golf 3 days and had 3 lovely, safe dives. And we ate well. We always enjoy ourselves on vacation and look on the bright side, for example high winds mean few ankle biting bugs.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you for your review of Sandals Emerald Bay, Ken.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and had a great time playing on our golf course.
However, we disappointed to hear that we fell short of meeting all of your expectations. We appreciate your valuable feedback. We realize that anything less than perfect leaves room for improvement and we will be forwarding your concerns to the relevant departments - including the watersports team.
We hope to welcome you back soon and that we will be able to exceed all of your expectations on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Exuma
12.3 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty
Club Peace & Plenty
#4 of 6 in Great Exuma
171 reviews
12.4 mi away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#2 of 2 in Stocking Island
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Great Exuma
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
563 reviews
11.1 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 4 in George Town
312 reviews
11 mi away
Exuma Beach Resort
Exuma Beach Resort
#5 of 14 in Great Exuma
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort

Address: Queen's Highway, Emerald Bay, EX29142, Great Exuma (Formerly Four Seasons Resort Great Exuma at Emerald Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range: $600 - $1,699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•NEW!! Jogging Trail on property - 2.6 miles long •Greg Norman designed 7,001 yard golf course with 6 signature oceanside holes•Three fresh water pools including the Caribbean’s largest zero entry pool with a central fire pit•24 hour room service to all rooms and suites•Seven exciting dining options to choose from•Red Lane Spa with sixteen extensive treatment rooms•Personalized off resort excursions arranged by our Island Routes Tour specialists•Sits on 1 mile of the Exuma’s best powdery white sand beaches•6 Har-Tru tennis courts including a sunken stadium court•Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Emerald Bay “Caribbean’s Leading Luxury All-Inclusive”•Awarded #9 spot in the 2012 Readers' Choice Awards "Top 12 Resorts in The Atlantic" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Unique Vacations Inc, TravelUp, Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Emerald Bay Hotel Great Exuma
Four Seasons Great Exuma
Great Exuma Four Seasons
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis And Spa Resort Great Exuma, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing