We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful 33rd Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Muskego Wi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Wonderful 33rd Anniversary”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This resort gets better each time that we return. With this management team-GM Jeremy Mutton, David Kerr, Leighton Josephs, Alberga Foreman and Stephen Clarke, you will be treated like royalty. They make sure that every detail is attended to, first class. The room is well-appointed, with beautiful furnishings and view. The food and beverage experience is excellent. The seafood was fresh, cooked to perfection, and the presentation was great. The butlers that were assigned to us, Dion, Devon and Shekura, made sure we were always happy! Mr. Mutton makes this resort top on our list. We look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamminkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sandals Emerald Bay! We are ecstatic to hear that your latest trip continued the wonderful tradition of superb vacation experiences! Each staff member is committed to seeing that each guest feels welcomed and pampered through their stay. We will pass your kind remarks on to the team.
We look forward to your return to our island paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,189
    947
    387
    125
    89
See reviews for
97
3,210
11
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Disclosure: I went here with my wife for the second half of our honeymoon. We spent the first half in excursion-filled Costa Rica. We came to Sandals Emerald Bay to relax after that. If that hadn't been the case, I would have been much more upset with the resort, but since all we wanted was utter relaxation, that is what we got.

This is the most beautiful resort we have ever been to. Ever. White sand that is as fine as powdered sugar. Crystal clear turquoise water that is hip deep 20 yards out. Just amazing. The resort is so beautiful and laid out so well. It is basically a short walk to everything no matter what room level you stay in. The beach is a deep, long stretch that runs for about a mile I believe. One of my biggest problems is that with all that beach, it is utterly deserted. We were there for 6 days and we saw 12 people on the beach at the height of its volume. Never more than that. Everyone goes to the pool. The pool is huge with several attached mini pools and hot tubs. Everyone is in it.

The food is amazing. Our personal favorite is the italian because the lobster tail is cooked and seasoned perfectly. But everything we got during our time at any restaurant is amazing. If you are looking for a lot of seafood varieties though, go to Barefoot by the Sea. Practically everything is seafood, and its all good.

I could gush about the service all day, but honestly it is typical amazing Sandals service. We get no better service anywhere from any other resort.

My only two gripes are the cleanliness and the night life. There is no night life. The 'club' is practically empty every night. The only activity that people go to is the sing-along at the piano bar. That breaks up by 10:30 and after that there is nothing to do. The cleanliness relates to the room. When we first checked in, our patio wasn't swept and there were french fries all over the floor. The bathroom also had an odd odor. We called the front desk and it was taken care of quickly, but still...

All in all, if you want relaxation in paradise, this is the place to be. If you want nightlife at all, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: No nightlife
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaguargenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sandals Emerald Bay. We are pleased that you found the resort and island to be as beautiful as described! We regret to hear that you found the resort not as lively as you had expected. The island of Exuma has more of a laid back feel and provides a peaceful oasis from life's hectic schedules. This tends to also be reflected in our resort and the guest that frequent are usually attracted by the quiet seclusion and breathtaking views.
We hope in the future you will consider one of our other gorgeous properties that have all the luxury features we are known for and the lively, upbeat atmosphere we are sure you will enjoy! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stouffville, ont canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Just got back from another amazing stay at SEB. We love the resort and the wonderful staff there. It all starts with the outstanding general manager Jeremy Mutton. He is what makes this resort so fantastic. He does everything from airport pick up to baggage handling, and I believe that, that is why the rest of the staff is so willing to work so hard.
We had the wonderful team of Sheldon, Adam and Valentino as our butlers and they spoiled us rotten. We never asked for anything but they anticipated and always surprised us with drinks and afternoon treats at the pool. They are wonderful and I really miss them!!
We just love the layout of this resort and the food is also very good. Nothing is too much at this resort. We went on the 007 tour and it was a great day.
We had a wonderful room right on the beach and it was very convenient to the restaurants and pools.
We had the pleasure of meeting Butch Stewart again, he is a very kind man and was interested in our opinions.
The resort is very well taken care of, the staff make sure that everything is clean and well looked after. Never a problem with finding a chair at the pool.
Some of the other outstanding members of this resort are David Kerr, David the hotel manager, Leighton, Warrenique at the main pool bar, Shantell and Chiquita at the Italian restaurant, Carla at the front desk., and Ruth and Sonia at Bahama Bay, as well as all of the girls in the Cafe Paris. Every time we go back to this wonderful resort we are treated like family by all of our friends that we have made over the years.
We just can't say enough wonderful things about this resort you really have to experience it yourself, also the colours of the ocean are breath taking, again something you have to see yourself.
If you are a returning guest don't miss the dinner that they have on Wednesday nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmrStouffville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hello and thank you so much for sharing your fantastic experience at Sandals Emerald Bay! From your review, it is clear that the staff members mean a lot to you! We are so happy to have you be a part of the Sandals extended family and we will pass along your kind remarks to our team!
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Wonderful grounds, gorgeous beach, great food and service. We did concierge instead of Butler - totally fine. We had an oceanview top floor bldg.2 loved it. Yes there are some fleas/flies that nip - take the off to your cabana or beach - it comes in the room. Once we had to wait for service at the Drunken Duck - but it's like 'where are you in a hurry to get to?'. My martini there was way to strong - I don't think most people complain about that. We went Scuba diving with Gary and loved it - it is perfect for me because I am an open water diver, not too experienced diver, my husband is an advanced diver so he just did a lot of underwater photography to keep him occupied. We played the golf course and I almost overheated -it was hot but the grounds were beautiful. At the Italian restaurant Jewels our waitress was great-she said she was third generation hospitality -cool, at the French restaurant (have the duck confit and the fois gras) I believe our waiter was Cedron - super classy service. I must mention to have the jerk spiced tenderloin (I believe they have it at Barefoot for dinner and Bahama Bay when they do a la carte dinner) My husband and I agreed -best steak ever and we are from Calgary -we know!

Room Tip: concierge is an inexpensive upgrade you get a lot of little extras and parties :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cubantourista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review of Sandals Emerald Bay! It is lovely that you had a fantastic time and you got a chance to kick back and really relax. Being able to explore the underwater beauty of Exuma's is such a wonderful adventure and we are happy you did not miss out! The staff will appreciate all of your kind remarks and I will be sure to pass them along to our team!
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I wanted to try Sandals as we had heard many positive things about this chain. We went to Great Exuma and found the resort and the grounds to be beautiful. There was always a breeze to rattle the palms and keep you cool.

We were picked up from the airport in a landrover taxi and treated to champagne welcome upon check in. We then had a quick tour of the lobby and were shown the pool and we were then left to find our room on our own. Two days in, we discovered another pool on our own, at the other end of the resort.

Our room was just ok and the furnishing was older and somewhat tired. Housekeeping did a good job of keeping our quarters squared away and room service was available 24 hours. The best thing on the room service menu was the hamburger.
We were immediately disappointed by the quality of the food on the buffet. It was very poor and was probably in the 2.5 to 3 star catagory. We ate a lot of room service burgers because of this. The food in the pub was of the same quality as the buffet.
We of course were asked about how we were enjoying our stay and we told them that the food was sub-par. They seemed surprised by this and the hospitality manager did his best to make things better by providing my wife and i with special meals (crab for lunch etc), while the masses continued to eat from the trough. It was thoughtful to provide us with upgraded food, but disappointing that the quaility of the food was poor at their flagship resort.(they said it was their flagship resort)
The pizza restaurant was good and I would recommend that.
We took a tour in a taxi to little Exuma and ate at a road side restaurant called Santana's. Deep fried lobster, yellow rice, onions and mac and cheese. With a cold beer, it was the best meal we had on the island. Out Taxi driver and tour guide was Patricia Ring and she was terrific.
My wife and I had stayed at an Iberostar a fews months before and it was a true 5 star experience and with a butler, we paid less, had better service and better food.
The cultural night was interesting and festive and the outdoor gas fires around the pool were a nice touch.
There are really no activities to speak of in Great Exuma. If you want a place to relax that is beautiful with just ok food, this is the place for you. I would not return as the resort did provide value for the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main pool as the pool bar cranks out the tunes
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Sandals Emerald Bay, John. .
Regarding your concerns about the food and dining options, it is surprising to note that some of the food served was not to your expectations. This aspect of our operation is usually considered exceptional and very often received compliments from our guests. We are therefore sorry if you were not similarly impressed. Whiles we are pleased that our staff member was able to assist you in this matter, we were saddened to hear of your initial disappointment.
We appreciate your valuable feedback and as hoteliers we realize there is always room for improvement. I will be notifying the appropriate departments of your remarks - including our good and beverage team.
Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent a week at the resort. The restaurants were phenominal - both the food and service. The staff was very friendly every time we would cross paths. Different great entertainment each evening if you like the night life. We were celebrating our anniversary and they made us a cake and decorated the bed with flowers and towel swans. They also put flower petals on top of water in bathtub. There are two pools, one has activities and music and the other is quiet. The bed was extremely comfortable and the pillows were great too.
On the down side we were promised an ocean view with a patio right out of the unit. While we did have somewhat of a view between trees and across a football length, it wasn't quite as good as we were expecting. The second floor would have been better to see over the resort's buildings. It kind of erks us that we spent more for the ground floor. The patio furniture has not been maintained and it really wasn't inviting to sit on. The patio was small and everytime it rained the cushions on chairs got all wet from the water running down from the above balcony's drains onto the patio and then splashing onto the furniture. Our room was kind of tired looking and the cleaning service was hit or miss. We actually had to request a different room upon arrival because the one they gave us was dirty and smelled and the side window was cracked and the chair looked more used than my 15 year old sofa but they did give us another room and sent us fruit.
I guess if this was our first trip to a tropical resort we would have been happy. However we have gone to resorts in Mexico and the Dominican and spent less money and had the same good food but also had terrific rooms that had the wow factor plus better views. They also had trollies to ferry you around everywhere which was really great when it rained.
We looked at reviews and Youtube videos of the resort before we went and frankly we were kind of disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 724DEStinAtion13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. We are disappointed to learn that whiles you had an overall good experience at our resort, that there were some aspects of your stay that you felt did not quite meet your expectations. We strive to provide our guests with the best but realize that there is always room for improvement. We respect the opinions you have expressed and will be forwarding your concerns to the appropriate key personnel for further discussion.
We hope that in a future stay we will be able to showcase all that our resort has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were met at the airport and were whisked away in a SUV by ourselves and were at the resort with in 15 min. David greeted us with Champagne and within in minutes meet one of our butlers Vaughan who gave us a tour while walking to our room. When we arrived at our Oversized beachfront room it was perfect and the view breathtaking!

Our Butler team Vaughan, Walden and Lugages (sorry if misspelled) were absolutely fantastic from morning till night. Delivering breakfast setting up our cabanas, checking on us at the pool and beach surprising us with drinks snacks, checking our cooler etc. And special touches in our room. If they hadn’t heard from us they would always checkin to see if we needed anything. They really made our stay the most enjoyable ever. I would definitely request all of them again!!!

The management team to name a few Jeremy,Stephen,David, were top notch and very visible throughout the day handing out drinks and watermelon etc. Sharlaine Director of guest services is absolutely awesome! If you book a photo shoot I highly recommend Georgette she's great.

If your there on Friday be sure to check out the Junkanoo party! Our favorite restaurants were II Cielo,La Parisienne,and Barefoot.

Overall the resort and beach are absolutely beautiful and met our expectations. We had a great time and will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laxrocks_8016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hello and thank you for sharing the amazing experience you had at Sandals Emerald Bay and for sharing those beautiful photos with us! What breathtaking views! We are so pleased that our staff made you feel right at home and that the butlers made sure that you had nothing to worry about your entire stay with us!
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Exuma
12.3 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
12.4 mi away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#1 of 1 in Stocking Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Great Exuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
2.9 mi away
Exuma Palms Hotel
Exuma Palms Hotel
#5 of 6 in Great Exuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
11.1 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 2 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort

Property: Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
Address: Queen's Highway, Emerald Bay, EX29142, Great Exuma (Formerly Four Seasons Resort Great Exuma at Emerald Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•NEW!! Jogging Trail on property - 2.6 miles long •Greg Norman designed 7,001 yard golf course with 6 signature oceanside holes•Three fresh water pools including the Caribbean’s largest zero entry pool with a central fire pit•24 hour room service to all rooms and suites•Seven exciting dining options to choose from•Red Lane Spa with sixteen extensive treatment rooms•Personalized off resort excursions arranged by our Island Routes Tour specialists•Sits on 1 mile of the Exuma’s best powdery white sand beaches•6 Har-Tru tennis courts including a sunken stadium court•Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Emerald Bay “Caribbean’s Leading Luxury All-Inclusive”•Awarded #9 spot in the 2012 Readers' Choice Awards "Top 12 Resorts in The Atlantic" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Emerald Bay Hotel Great Exuma
Four Seasons Great Exuma
Great Exuma Four Seasons
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis And Spa Resort Great Exuma, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing