We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic spa experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I visited the spa at Sandals Emerald Bay. This is a first-class, five star spa. We each had a massage with Sylvia Butler. I have had many massages at major resorts and hotels, but none can top the experience I had with Sylvia. She is a very talented massage therapist. After our massages, we were both floating on air!
I had a manicure/pedicure with Sherell McKenzie and she provided excellent service in a nice, relaxing environment.
If you visit Sandals, you MUST take time out to visit this wonderful spa!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wyattsailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for your review!
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your spa visit at Sandals Emerald Bay. It's a fabulous experience and being pampered never felt so good.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,034)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,417 - 2,423 of 4,034 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I took our ten year anniversary trip a few months early and loved Sandals Emerald Bay. The restaurants were great, the bars excellent but nothing compared to the Butler Service.

Deon, Stephen and Shakera were unbelievable with their service and unexpected surprises. Definitely worth the upgrade to Butler Service and, unfortunately, my wife now expects this type of service on all our vacations.

Will definitely go back again!!!

Room Tip: Rooms right on the beach are great and quiet. This was the quietest Sandals resort of the 5 I have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Hello and thank you for your review of Sandals Emerald Bay, Jonathan. We are so pleased to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay at our resort. To have hosted such a special event is always an honor and it is so gratifying to hear that everything exceeded your expectations!
We realize that this experience will be hard to top but we certainly will try on your next visit with us!
Hurry back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

OH MY GOSH.....I have a totally new appreciation of the Bahamas & Sandals resorts. We spent our 20th anniversary at Sandals, Ocho Rios, Jamaica and I can promise you it will NOT take me 20 years to return. Sandals Emerald Bay is the most beautiful place I have ever visited. Never felt so spoiled......butler service is the most amazing service I have ever experienced....Garth, Garrett and Mesha were really unbelievable. I have NEVER had a bath drawn for me & not only drawn but silhouetted with flowers. I truly have never felt so special. Thank you for making my 60th birthday an unbelievable memory. Service in the restaurants was superb - Ashed in the French restaurant was the BEST - requested him each visit after our first experience, if Bradnicka doesn't sing for you while in the Italian restaurant you have missed a blessing - praying for her to win the SANDALS IDOL competition, and loved our bartenders Melizza and Vanrea!

If you want a total relaxing vacation with NO stress and NO schedule you must book at this resort. We already have!!

Stayed: September 2013
3  Thank beachitvic7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Wow! Thank you for such an amazing review of Sandals Emerald Bay! And a very Happy 60th Birthday/40th Anniversary again! We are so honored to have hosted such important events and that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit with us!
You most certainly should be pampered on these life milestones and our Butlers are definitely the best at it! The entire staff is happy to do the little, considerate things the make your trip the most fabulous experience!
We are also looking forward to your return in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Service is excellent. Butler service is a must have!
Cleanliness of the rooms and resort is overall excellent.
Beach is beautiful but not clean and water is not clear as our agent told us it would be.
Food is overall good, lots to choose from.
There are a billion sand flies/bugs that you don't see and leave bites on feet and legs that itch more than mosquitos- very annoying.

Garth the butler is highly recommended.

The pools are beautiful, especially at night.
Would we come back? No
Would we recommend to our friends? No

For the price we paid we were expecting better. After a honeymoon in Bora Bora we wanted something close...it wasn't. The beach is beautiful, and the service is amazing...but it seemed as we were in Cuba rather than the Bahamas.



  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DusaniSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property.

Insects and pests are indigenous to the Caribbean and the tropical climate makes us susceptible to their intrusion. Every effort is made to minimize their presence on property through our continuous pest control program.
There is complimentary bug repellant, either placed in your room or can be provided to you at our front desk. We also have soothing ointments if the bites become irritated and of course our on-property nurse is more than willing to assist you further if required.

We are grateful for feedback, inclusive of TripAdvisor posts, as it allows us the opportunity to identify our strengths and weaknesses. Our response to feedback continues to be in word and deed. We hope that you would afford us an opportunity to demonstrate the same.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We went to Sandals for our 25th Anniversary. Beachfront with butler service. Check in process was terrible. We waited in line then we taken to a restaurant to eat as our room was not ready. When we returned to the lobby, we were told to wait for our butler to come get us. We finally went to the bar by the pool, and they found us there. It took 3 hours to get settled and was a wasted afternoon for us.

We had 3 butlers - 1 was great, 1 was average and 1 really did nothing special for us.

The service in the restaurants was just ok - nothing special.

The room was nice - great view, but the tv was not mounted on the wall, there was no bottle opener or other things we needed at the bar.

The beach is very nice.

Rated very good because it is beautiful and we enjoyed ourselves, but it should be much more based on the money we spent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Churchk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Our service has been the highlight of many reviews on Trip Advisor, which leaves us quite disappointed that your experience was not indicative of the norm. For this, we apologize.

We are surprised to hear that you had a long check in wait and that you were not impressed with all three of your Butlers. I will be forwarding your remarks to our resort management team for further review, as we are committed to providing all of our guest with the excellent service we are known for.
We do request that while on resort you notify us of anything that does not meet your standards. We are always willing to work with you to make sure you walk away feeling like your stay was money well spent.

We hope that you will decide to visit us again for a much better stay in the future. We certainly don't want this to be a deterrent for you returning.

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

What a place,we loved every minute of it,great tiny Vila ,on the beach,beautiful decor ,great service,walden the butler with endless smile! Voughn and lagesh with the non stop tending,Nice restaurants,very peaceful !Lots of food choices ,very well maintained grounds ,and best of all no kids!

Room Tip: Great Vila but long way to walk to restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nirit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you so much for your review of Sandals Emerald Bay, Nirit! We are delighted that you had such a wonderful visit to Exuma and our resort! Our staff members will be so pleased to know that they made such a positive impact on your stay with us and I will be forwarding them your kind remarks!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another amazing trip to paradise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at Emerald Bay Exuma 8/31-9/7 and had a relaxing time. The ocean was great with the waves and we had many walks on the beach and the golf course. The staff was great. A big thank you to Naydene for her help in getting arrangements for us to visit Nasau for a day trip. This is location we will visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tropicgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for your review of Sandals Emerald Bay.
We couldn't agree with you more, this resort is indeed a gem! Not only is it an amazing resort with the most luxurious inclusions but it is set in one of the most beautiful locations in all of The Bahamas. It truly is breathtaking.
It also has the most wonderful team manning it and they are always willing to accommodate our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to paradise soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Exuma
12.3 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty
Club Peace & Plenty
#4 of 6 in Great Exuma
171 reviews
12.4 mi away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#2 of 2 in Stocking Island
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Great Exuma
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
561 reviews
11.1 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 4 in George Town
309 reviews
11.0 mi away
Exuma Beach Resort
Exuma Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in Great Exuma
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort

Address: Queen's Highway, Emerald Bay, EX29142, Great Exuma (Formerly Four Seasons Resort Great Exuma at Emerald Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range: $608 - $1,689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•NEW!! Jogging Trail on property - 2.6 miles long •Greg Norman designed 7,001 yard golf course with 6 signature oceanside holes•Three fresh water pools including the Caribbean’s largest zero entry pool with a central fire pit•24 hour room service to all rooms and suites•Seven exciting dining options to choose from•Red Lane Spa with sixteen extensive treatment rooms•Personalized off resort excursions arranged by our Island Routes Tour specialists•Sits on 1 mile of the Exuma’s best powdery white sand beaches•6 Har-Tru tennis courts including a sunken stadium court•Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Emerald Bay “Caribbean’s Leading Luxury All-Inclusive”•Awarded #9 spot in the 2012 Readers' Choice Awards "Top 12 Resorts in The Atlantic" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Unique Vacations Inc, Booking.com, TravelUp, Prestigia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Emerald Bay Hotel Great Exuma
Four Seasons Great Exuma
Great Exuma Four Seasons
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis And Spa Resort Great Exuma, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing