We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our first trip to Sandals Emerald Bay. It will definitely not be our last. We had such an amazing time that we have both sunken into a depression since we have been home. First let me say that the staff here is the friendliest bunch of people we have ever had the pleasure of meeting. The main pool bar staff are fantastic. Demetrius, Van, and Roshon took excellent care of us all week. Roshon and Demetrius even took the time to bring us drinks to our chairs without us having to ask. Also, I can't say enough about the butler manager Satar. We were not butler guests but had the pleasure of sitting with him at the returning guest dinner. After that he always stopped to say hello and asked how we were doing and if he could get us anything. Finally, Georgette from the photoshop... she was great. She took time to tell us all about her life and family and growing up in the Bahamas. Since we are not able to show our appreciation for the service by tipping them, I felt the need to write something. Every single person was fantastic. If you couldn't tell from my gushing, we had an amazing time and can't wait to return. We got back late Sunday night and were in our travel agents office at 10 am Monday morning talking about booking our next Sandals vacation. We will not vacation anywhere other than Sandals. Can't wait to do it again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,065)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,620 - 2,626 of 4,065 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I were at Sandals Emerald Bay at the beginning of May. This is our 3rd Sandals vacation (Sandals Negril and Sandals Royal Caribbean previous years) and this property out-did them, which was not an easy task!

It takes a bit of time to get to Great Exuma from Colorado but it was well worth it! Much of the extra travel time was made up when we arrived at the airport - customs, baggage and the trip to the resort took a total of thirty minutes max. This is the first time we have opted for butler service and had three great butlers that took care of us during our stay (Valentino, Sheldon and Adam). The butler service was nice and Valentino and Sheldon really went above and beyond (Adam did a nice job as well but we got the feeling he was new to the position and was still getting the hang of things) - we are very much "do it yourself" kind of people so we did not use the butlers as much as we could but it sure was nice to have them available.

The grounds were beautiful, the beach has sand and water unlike any I have seen (if you put baby powder on your feet/legs when they are covered with soft sand it wipes right off). The weather was perfect and we were able to take advantage of diving, snorkeling, and many of the water sports. We never had trouble finding a spot at the beach or by the pools.

Our room was comfortable, peaceful and very clean. We were in the Cocoa Plum walk-out and loved our patio. Bugs were not a problem. A few evenings/early mornings we wore off just to be safe - the only day I noticed getting any bites was the day of the butler convoy on the golf course and I think it is because I was adventuring down the rocks to the ocean.

The food was very good. We had breakfast as room service, at Bahama Bay and at Il Cielo - all were delicious. (One thing we did miss were the steel cut oats that we have had at the Royal Caribbean, if they were at the buffet next visit we wouldn't be sad!). We had dinners and lunches at all the restaurants and everything was very good (the curry lobster at Bahama Bay for dinner was remarkable). The returning guest dinner was the best food we have ever had at a Sandals, every last morsel was delicious! Having the coffee shop on property was something that we really enjoyed and the ladies that worked behind the counter were an absolute delight!

The excursion desk was very helpful - Charisma was fun and great to work with. We took the Ocean Safari tour which is a half day 007. It was a great time and we highly recommend it! We rented a jeep one day and went off to explore the island, what a day! From tip to tip Great Exuma is beautiful, the small hidden beaches are great, the local food was delicious (Tino's is great, right across from the new medical center they are building) and the people were all very kind. If you go to Santana's be sure to go next door to Mom's Bakery, her rum cake was yummy and Mom is so full of love you'll feel blessed to meet her.

I wish we could name everyone that made our trip so memorable. Vinette at the spa was wonderful, Elaine and David (photo shop manager - I may have his name wrong) were both great to talk with. Every employee that we had a chance to visit with left us with a great feeling.

All in all this was the best Sandals vacation we have had yet. Thank you to everyone that helped make our week a memorable one. To those of you on the fence about visiting, go - you will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MooreaTiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was our 12th trip to a Sandals resort and our first to Emerald Bay. We arrived on May 8th.
The airport in George Town is very small, but very pleasant. Once clearing customs, we were greeted by a Sandals representative, who promptly told us, this would be our best Sandals experience to date. He was right!!!! After a short 10 min.ride, we were greeted by group of Sandals employees. The pampering did not stop for the week spent there. We booked at the butler level, with a 1st floor room on the beach. The view was brilliant. You have to see the water for yourself to really understand how blue it is. We have been to Antigua, St.Lucia, Nausau and Jamacia. Nothing compares to the water and the beach at Emerald Bay. We had read reviews about sand fleas,but did not experience any .We had 3 different butlers, depending on the time of day it was.They are on duty from 7:00am-10:00pm.All three were excellent at what they did. It was just the right amount of pampering. They were always a step ahead of your needs. We would recommend the butler level. However, there are plenty of excellent rooms, without a butler. All rooms appeared to have great views of the gardens and the water. If you do a butler room, we would recommend any of the three we had. Their names were Sheldon, Adam & Valentino.They were very professional. We also played 18 holes of golf. Fantastics views of the ocean. We also did 2 massages while we were there. All in all a great place rest, relax and be pampered. We can hardly wait for a return visit.

Room Tip: When we go back, we would stay on the beach again. The building we were in, had 8 separate hotel roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the resort to celebrate our 10th anniversary from 5/11-5/18. Our room was BEAUTIFUL! I can't say that enough. The view of the amazing ocean water/beach was worth the money. We had a nice balcony and the room was quite spacious with large king size bed, seating area, separate bathroom area, stand up shower stall and large bathtub. The room also came with butler service. My husband and I are very independent so we probably didn't use the butler service to its advantage. It was a nice amenity to have for reserving dinner reservations at Il Cielo and La Parissiene. They also secured beach/pool chairs for us each day and brought us drinks and snacks. They will bring you lunch too depending on your plans for the day. It was nice to have the butlers for the seating b/c pool chairs were wiped out very early in the morning. All of the butlers are securing them first thing. On our anniversary night our butler Sanjeesh escorted us to dinner and surprised us with a nice cake for dessert at the end of dinner. We also came back to the room on several occassions to find beautiful bubble baths drawn for us. My only disappointment was we did not get our butler requests for drinks in our room. The resort could not get Captain Morgan products and it was the one thing we really wanted.

The food was ok on the property. I really enjoyed the lobster at La Parissiene, a chicken dish at Il Cielo and the food at Barefoot by the Sea was really good. Dino's was excellent at dinner time as well. They had nice outdoor seating and the menu was greater than just pizza. It was good for a casual evening and you still were able to enjoy the outdoors. My least favorite was Drunken Dunk. The service and food there was not good and when I was given the wrong item there was nothing done to make the situation right. The attitiude was "oh well" sorry we messed up and it's your problem. The Cafe onsite was great for iced coffees and desserts. The girls that worked in the cafe were nice and always wanted you to "take more" The coconut tart is great if you can get your hands on one!

Red Lane Spa was AMAZING. We had a couples massage and it was pure heaven for an hour! The spa on the property is top notch. It is pricey but the service is excellent.

If you have a butler room definitely don't miss the Butler Convoy where you take the golf carts to the back nine of the golf course. The butlers put on a cocktail party and it is a great photo opportunity. The views are breathtaking and it's a fun way to begin your evening before dinner.

Overall the resort is quite stunning but if you are not the type to lounge at the pool and beach for days on end it might not be the right location for you. There is not much on the island but the resort is great.

Room Tip: Try and get a higher floor for amazing views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank g00sebump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

we just returned from a week long vacation @ Emerald Bay & wanted to take a minute to thank all the wonderful people that made our stay what it was, Our Butlers, Bernard & Deepak were superb, although I still wish that Sandals would do a beach uniform for the Butlers or just strictly have beach waiters, it's so hot & to have them trotting around with Black & Whites with heavy shoes that probably fill with sand is a bit much. They never say anything but the discomfort is evident. I used to work at a resort in Atlantic City & had a pool uniform, then an inside one, it really made a difference for me. How about a Sandals Golf Shirt & Khaki Shorts with a belt & sandals for the Beach? Just a suggestion, they present nothing but perfection & professionalism, bottom line, they're behavior, not just the dress, is the reflection on Sandals. I know they were so great to us. Glad to see Christophe in the Italian Restaurant that was delicious, we ate there 3X, Rosca, our server, such an asset to your resort, she was as sweet as the dessert, you can never mind any wait time with her, she's just a doll. Thank you to SATAR, a lovely person, makes everyone feel like they're at home with his hospitality. We did a day trip with Stephen from OFF ISLAND ADVENTURES, it was better than a dream, I've never seen such beauty as the places he found for us, he's extremely knowledgeable about Exuma, if you choose to do an outing, I highly recommend it. Loved the "Chat & Chew"!
All around great time, Sandals looks so much more beautiful than when we first arrived in 2010. It was great to be back & will be again.
One bad thing that has nothing to do with Sandals, United lost our luggage, it was miraculously found when Sandals got involved & delivered 11 PM on the day we arrived, they did the same thing when we returned home, it was lost again. Getting to Exuma shouldn't be so difficult. It's a beautiful place if you can get there hassle free. Thanks Sandals for your excellence! w/love Jim&Annette

Room Tip: Both rooms on both trips 2010 & 2013 were perfect so I can't say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We recently stayed at this resort for 4 nights and loved it. After landing at the airport, the Sandals staff arranged for us and another couple to take a short ride in a cab to the resort. We retained the contact information for this cab driver and used him later to get to the water taxi as he was less expensive than the cabs that Sandals can arrange for you.

Upon arrival we were greeted with champagne while we filled out some paperwork. It was not long before we were on the beach enjoying our first cocktail. The all inclusive feature was great, especially when it came to drinks. It was not really a party type atmosphere, but there were plenty of groups of couples enjoying drinks and great conversation by the pool. Most of the guests at the resort did not know any of the other guests prior to the visit. This lead up to many couples wanting to get together and before we knew it we had made some great friends.

A few tips on the restaurants on property: The buffet was surprisingly good. The Italian restaurant was good with a fantastic dessert crepe. The pub dinner food was good, but the fish and chips at lunch was better. You can get the fish and chips at dinner even though it is not on their menu. The French restaurant had the best food of any of the restaurants, but the service was painfully slow. The jerk chicken and ribs at the beach party are not to be missed.

The staff at this resort are great and try to accommodate your every request. If you are looking for a luxury style stay at a beautiful resort with great people then this is a great option. If you would like to rough it a little more and experience the locals it may feel a little sanitized. We did choose to leave the resort on two occasions to experience the Exuma Cays and would recommend anyone do the same.

Room Tip: If you have stayed at a Sandals previously, make sure you tell them. You may be eligible for an upg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C0mp0ster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time relaxing and enjoying the beautiful island and sandals resort in Exuma. The staff was nicer an any staff we've ever experienced. They went above and beyond to make sure our trip was one to remember. It was a 1/2 day travel from Birmingham, AL which meant we were checked in and relaxing on the beach by 3pm. The resort wasn't crowded and we never had to wait for a table to eat or a chair to lounge by the pool. We loved the layout of the main pool. Our evenings consisted of laid back dining, socializing by the fire pit and laying in the hammock under the stars. It truly is beautiful! The butler service was more than I could have imagined it would be. They literally take care of every need....from surprise snacks by the pool and in the room to our own personal photographer! The general manager was so nice and Satar, the head butler, could always be seen walking around speaking with guests...always with a smile. We loved the friendly staff!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barkley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Exuma
12.3 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty
Club Peace & Plenty
#4 of 6 in Great Exuma
171 reviews
12.4 mi away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#2 of 2 in Stocking Island
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Great Exuma
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
563 reviews
11.1 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 4 in George Town
312 reviews
11 mi away
Exuma Beach Resort
Exuma Beach Resort
#5 of 14 in Great Exuma
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort

Address: Queen's Highway, Emerald Bay, EX29142, Great Exuma (Formerly Four Seasons Resort Great Exuma at Emerald Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range: $601 - $1,698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•NEW!! Jogging Trail on property - 2.6 miles long •Greg Norman designed 7,001 yard golf course with 6 signature oceanside holes•Three fresh water pools including the Caribbean’s largest zero entry pool with a central fire pit•24 hour room service to all rooms and suites•Seven exciting dining options to choose from•Red Lane Spa with sixteen extensive treatment rooms•Personalized off resort excursions arranged by our Island Routes Tour specialists•Sits on 1 mile of the Exuma’s best powdery white sand beaches•6 Har-Tru tennis courts including a sunken stadium court•Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Emerald Bay “Caribbean’s Leading Luxury All-Inclusive”•Awarded #9 spot in the 2012 Readers' Choice Awards "Top 12 Resorts in The Atlantic" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Unique Vacations Inc, Prestigia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Emerald Bay Hotel Great Exuma
Four Seasons Great Exuma
Great Exuma Four Seasons
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis And Spa Resort Great Exuma, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing