We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandals Emerald Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Excellent service from every staff member. Our room was right on the ocean with a great patio where we had our breakfast delivered every morning and a class of wine at the end of each day.
First time with the butler service. Thought we didn't need it - but they had such nice touches - saving your chairs at the pool or beach all set up with towels, flowers, a cooler, making dinner reservations for you, arranged our excursions prior to arriving, bubble bath, favorite beverages always in the fridge!! All those touches made the trip even more special. You have a cell phone so you can call them or they can call you when needed.
The food at the restaurants was a step above even the other Sandals we have stayed at. We did have some windy days that made diving and snorkeling sketchy, but the moment they died down everything was perfect.
The island of exuma is very clean. It is small and there is not a lot of activity other than waterspouts, which is fine for us. Everyone we met were helpful and eager to tell us about their island.
One downfall- when the winds died down, out came the no-see-ums. It was very important to put on bug spray on those days.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the rooms right on the ocean. Rooms were quiet at night- beach is a little lower le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lovetosnorkel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,710 - 2,716 of 4,032 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just returned from our third Sandals vacation - and once again we were not disappointed!
Each resort seems to have its own character, but still maintains the same basic standards throughout - excellent staff, beautiful beach, nice choice of restaurants and plenty to do, if you choose to.
We booked a Coral Reef Oceanfront luxury room, with concierge service. Attached photo is from our patio. Hardly oceanfront, more of an ocean view. We were on the third floor which afforded the view, but am not certain it was worth the upgrade. The Villas are all oceanfront, and have butler service; I would only consider this upgrade for the luxury of having someone go out at 6:30 am to reserve a cabana for us. Yes, like most Caribbean resorts, the early riser gets the best poolside/beachside accommodations
The concierge service was almost invisible. Most calls or requests just went to the front desk. Our request for our favorite brand of Scotch was honored, though it took two days. No additional charge for this.
Two restaurants require reservations - the Italian and the French - do so as soon as you arrive, or you may be disappointed. We procrastinated, and had to settle for a 5:30 PM seating. (Concierge was no help here either.) We later learned that not everyone keeps their reservations, so you may get lucky if you just appear at the restaurant. The Italian restaurant has an interesting dessert bar which shouldn't be missed; you have access to the dessert bar every evening, regardless of where you had dinner.
Barefoot on the Beach offers lobster tails for dinner, and are more than willing to double the order if you'd like. Bahama Bay offers a daily themed buffet lunch which was wonderful. Café de Paris has an impressive menu of coffees, as well as pastries, cookies from 6 AM (for the early risers.)
On the day of departure, had hoped to secure a late checkout (for $100 fee) as our flight wasn't until 5 PM, but the room was already rebooked. We still took full advantage of the day in the sun. Had access to our bags as well as the Spa for showers, etc., and it wasn't a problem at all. Valuables just stayed with us poolside.
Felt completely comfortable and safe here. Emerald Bay guests were a more mature crowd - 40's and up, which was fine with us. Overall, we enjoyed this resort tremendously and would encourage you to visit if you want to relax and be pampered.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Amazing beautiful waters, Nice resort.I did the online check-in and that seemed to be lost when we got there.We were upgraded to a Jr Suite, wow.Beautiful room, great views of the water. We booked our tours right away in case weather caused cancelations, and good thing we did. the 007 thunderball tour was worth every penny! Pictures cannot come clost to showing just how beautiful the many shades of blue the water is. I was very impressed with the snorkeling.
All the resort employees were friendly, and made sure we had a relaxing vacation. This is a small island with less things to do off-resort than other sandals, but that is what we wanted. It was a quiet relaxing week and my wife would go back tomorrow if we could

Room Tip: We booked a palm bay walk out room, we wanted a view of the ocean, we got upgraded to a jr suite in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank geoff s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have recently returned from a one week stay (Jan 19-26) at Sandals Exuma. It was an absolutely perfect vacation. We are seasoned Caribbean travellers (30 years+), who enjoy fine dining, an excellent beach for swimming, dancing and scuba diving. Sandals Exuma is elegant without being pretentious. The service is excellent, at the front desk, at Concierge, bars and restaurants. The friendliness of all staff is noteworthy. We appreciated our room with oceanview and being very close to the beach (we are not "pool people"). Christina, our room attendant, kept the room tidy, clean and well stocked with supplies. They even arranged to have our mini bar stocked with the top shelf liquor of our choice. As other reviewers have noted , the room and bathroom are beautifully decorated with "old world charm", are spacious and the bed is like sleeping on a cloud. We ate at all the restaurants except the English Pub. The food was some of the best we have experienced in our travels. They served top shelf liquor and made martinis to my specifications and the bartender remembered the "formula" (withour asking) for the remainder of the week. ,
The banquet for repeat Sandals guests included entertainment, and an excellent meal. The house band was also excellent. I only wished they would play nightly and for a longer time. We like to eat late, so that by the time we finished dinner, we could only have one dance or two.The ususual game of saving beach chairs with towels was apparent but we had no problems finding a spot on the beach even at 10:30 am (being winter might have had something to do with that) The beach had some of the finest white sand I have seen and the water was clear and its colour undescribable. Being it was Jan, the water was cool but we expected this. We will certainly consider going back to Sandals Exuma. It was one of our best vacations! Thank you Sandals!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 580SunandSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We just returned home after a week at Sandals Emerald Bay. We too were concerned about the reviews we read and what the weather may hold. Management addressed our concerns before we even arrived for our vacation, and Mr. Mutton went above and beyond to assure that we would have a relaxing vacation. He absolutely passed his concern for his guests on to his staff. They were kind, attentive and did all they could to allow us to have a great vacation. The food was wonderful, we really enjoyed the Drunken Duck - lunch, dinner and drinks were all wonderful! Our butler, Valentino was there when we needed him, thoughtful and attentive. Kenwood took care of us at the Piano Bar each evening, and thanks to Kenny our photographer, we have amazing memories to take home with us. Waking up to the most amazing view every morning was the best part of our vacation. We look forward to returning!!! Thank you Mr. Mutton for a wonderful week! Marybeth M. and Gary B.

Room Tip: The Villas on the ocean have just an amazing view! Absolutely wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarybethMernin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Like the other reviews, I thought the property was great. Rooms where better then most resorts I've stayed in (and I've stayed at many). I simply can't agree with the coments about the food. We ate at both the French and Italian and found the food way below par. The Italian was almost unetable and the French almost as bad. I'm NOT a fussy eater but the Osobuco was prepared so poorly after one bite it felt like I was trying to eat my belt. Might have been an off week but none of the food except the breakfast ( thats hard to screw up) was below average. We traveled with two other couples and we all felt the same. The service though from our Butlers was super as was most of the staff. I would find it hard to find better than Sitar the head of the Butler staff, Bernard and Tepac our Butlers. Thanks again to them(they made up for the food). We also found out that if your layover in Nassau is more then 4hrs, the Sandals there will pick you up and you can stay there while you wait (how great is that).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank santarosabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

OK, so your a 5 star ,6star whatever!
Why then do you run out of beer at mid day?
Why is there no mint for my mohitos on some days ?
You display the block of parmesan at the wine and cheese table,BUT sadly there's no parmesan to eat?
Why does the power fail in my room every night and I smell like sulfur after taking a shower?

I loved the well manicured resort, the staff was well meaning and helpful but if sadly the culinary calibre was sub par . It really was about KEEPING UP APPEARANCES

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank angelo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Exuma
12.3 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty
Club Peace & Plenty
#4 of 6 in Great Exuma
171 reviews
12.4 mi away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#2 of 2 in Stocking Island
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Great Exuma
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
561 reviews
11.1 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 4 in George Town
309 reviews
11.0 mi away
Exuma Beach Resort
Exuma Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in Great Exuma
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort

Address: Queen's Highway, Emerald Bay, EX29142, Great Exuma (Formerly Four Seasons Resort Great Exuma at Emerald Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Great Exuma
Price Range: $608 - $1,689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•NEW!! Jogging Trail on property - 2.6 miles long •Greg Norman designed 7,001 yard golf course with 6 signature oceanside holes•Three fresh water pools including the Caribbean’s largest zero entry pool with a central fire pit•24 hour room service to all rooms and suites•Seven exciting dining options to choose from•Red Lane Spa with sixteen extensive treatment rooms•Personalized off resort excursions arranged by our Island Routes Tour specialists•Sits on 1 mile of the Exuma’s best powdery white sand beaches•6 Har-Tru tennis courts including a sunken stadium court•Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Emerald Bay “Caribbean’s Leading Luxury All-Inclusive”•Awarded #9 spot in the 2012 Readers' Choice Awards "Top 12 Resorts in The Atlantic" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Prestigia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Emerald Bay Hotel Great Exuma
Four Seasons Great Exuma
Great Exuma Four Seasons
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis And Spa Resort Great Exuma, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing