We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly an Island Getaway-- NO comparison on Great/Little Exuma”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Regatta Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Regatta Point
Ranked #5 of 11 Great Exuma B&B and Inns
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Truly an Island Getaway-- NO comparison on Great/Little Exuma”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

My husband met me in the Bahamas and we decided to take a little getaway to Great Exuma.

Before the weekend even started, we had terrific customer service. Nancy, the owner, called and emailed days before telling us about the weather conditions and how things might be closed for our stay-- I appreciated her honesty ( bad weather from Hurricane Otto) and we decided to continue to Exuma even though things might be closed.

When we arrived we were MORE than happy with our decision to stay at Regatta Point. Nancy met us at 7am ( try and get into a room at that time with any larger hotel).Nancy even bought us a jug of water from the grocery in case we were thirsty before the grocery opened.

Our room was a very spacious one bedroom, with a living room, dining room, and fully equipped kitchen. The whole apartment was decorated in whitewashed wood with two balconies overlooking Stocking Island. Regatta Point itself is located on a tiny little peninsula of Kidd Cove, so you feel as if you have your own little island retreat in the heart of George Town. Although the water was rough, we saw a fisherman catch a baby shark right on the dock, and the many rocks surrounding the property would be an excellent venture for snorkeling.

George Town is about a 5 minute walk away and the water taxi to Chat n Chill is about a 2 minute walk away. You really couldn't pick a better location. If you rent a car, George Town is almost in the middle of Great and Little Exuma, so you are in an excellent position to explore both islands.

Regatta Point has no TV or internet (that I know of-- didn't bring my laptop)-- but that's the point of an island getaway. I enjoyed the serenity of the place and really enjoyed the security of Betsy, the guard dog ( a very friendly looking golden retriever). Do yourself a favor and skip Sandals-- this is the REAL Exuma!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ilikecupcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gallatin Gateway, Montana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

I was staying on aboat off George Town when my wife arrived for 10 days. Regatta Point looked very nice when I dingied by daily but there was no sign or sign of life. One day, I found Nancy, the owner, and we settled in to a wonderful routine of quiet pleasures. It was very hard to leave.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dougredcnoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missoula montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2010

I visited Great Exuma to help with a neuter/spay clinic and for some R and R. Nancy at Regatta Point was so kind and helpful. Our upstairs room looked out over the gorgeous bay and was very relaxing. It was great to be right in town within walking distance of grocery stores, etc. The rooms were well equipped and service was perfect . It might be helpful to rent a car to explore more beaches around the island. I would go back to Regatta Point in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bahamamama012010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2009

we stayed here... and at the 4 Seasons... and enjoyed Regatta Point better. It isn't the lap of luxury... but the bay taxi has you to Chat & Chill in 10 minutes... and you can walk 5 minutes downtown for meals/drinks...
If you need PAMPERED SERVICE... the 4 Seasons (if it's open...). For a wonderful beach-side experience... Regatta Point can't be beat...

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KenH_CAZC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strandhill, Ireland
Level Contributor
336 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2008

We stayed in Regatta Point for 2 weeks in June, and I can say nothing but good things about the place. We stayed in the upstairs Suite A. The suite was lovely, spacious, airy, clean, and decorated in a cool weathered beach look. 2 lovely balconies to look over a Stocking Island. There's a 3rd shared balcony if you want to sunbathe. The kitchen is good, with plenty of appliances. Once we got used to the applicances, cooking was great. The bathroom/bedroom are nice too, shaded. The main lounge area is great, spacious. There's nearly always a wind blowing into the room from outside which is great.
The location of RP is great as its only a 5 minute walk into Georgetown. So you can walk to the Exuma Markets to shop, or walk around GT to go for dinner some evenings. The water taxi to Chat n' Chill is about 300 metres away too! Or taxi to Hamburger Beach is 5 mins walk. There's a lovely area to chill out on the actual Point, which is surrounded by the sea and a small rocky beach. Again there's nearly always a welcome breeze blowing and chairs, so its a great place to relax with a book or Kalik and wave to all the passing boaters!
We found RP to be great, in a super location - near GT but yet secluded. There isn't a mega beach within walking distance, but the glorious Stocking Island is only a short water taxi away and this makes up for that.
Nancy is very nice also, and helpful. And her pets are great!
We'll definitely be staying here when we go back to Exuma.

  • Liked — Location, views
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank irish_captain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2007

We stayed in Regatta Point many times, at least 4 and I keep forgetting to write a review.
It is a fantastic place, very quiet, peaceful as it could get - there is no phone, internet, tv, radio, games, etc. When you live hectic and busy life, it's the best possible holiday.
On other hand, there is no friendlier hostess than Nancy - she will go extra ten miles for you - which is so-so rare in the current world of hotel business.
It's very close to nature - fish is swimming right off shore, lots of hermit crabs are all over the property and yes, Nancy has two dogs and three cats - and they are all lovely. I read a previous review that the dogs bark - yes, that's why they are dogs!! but they are not malicious bull-dogs but very friendly just like Nancy. It's great for kids to play with dogs, crabs and just watch the nature instead of TV!

Would recommend Regatta Point to honeymooners, anyone with small children and to businessmen in need of R&R.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aftersunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2006

My husband and I went on our honeymoon to Exuma in May 2006, and we stayed at Regatta Point. The first night, Regatta Point was full, so our taxi driver picked us up from the airport and took us to Club Peace and Plenty, and Nancy paid for us to spend the night there. The rooms were average and the facilities quite nice, but we found the people there, especially the restaurant staff, to be very snobby. The next morning, Nancy came and picked us up and took us to Regatta Point, which was only about a five minute walk away. It's located on a little jut of land just past the government, and as far as we're concerned, the only bad part of it is the smell of garbage around the docks when you walk past them into town. Once you're past the docks, however, Regatta Point is a beautiful little escape from the world. Nancy gave us a two bedroom suite - we paid for a one bedroom but she upgraded us because there was no one staying in the larger one. The rooms have decent facilities - you can't expect the Hilton in a small place like Georgetown - but it was very nicely decorated and had nice furnishings and lots of little conveniences, like lawn chairs in the closet, shelves full of books, and towels and linens replaced daily. It doesn't have a TV or radio, but there is so much to do outside, and the evenings are so peaceful, that we didn't really miss it. The kitchen has a slight bug problem (little tiny ant-like things) but they only come out when you leave food out. If the kitchen is clean they stay away.
Nancy was an amazing hostess - yes, her dogs are a bit annoying when they start barking everytime you approach her office (which you have to pass right by to leave or come back) but if you talk soothingly to them and don't startle them, they settle down quickly. I HATE dogs (I was bit by one when I was little) but they are honestly not that bad. I don't believe they would bite anyone (unless you attacked Nancy), although they try hard to make you believe they would when you're approaching them. Anyways, back to Nancy. She offered us use of her car multiple times, to go into town (the bridge was being rebuilt while we were there, so while town is only a 5 minute walk away, we could only access half of it without walking 20 minutes around the small lake) or down the road to the Coconut Cove, which apparently has a good restaurant (we never ate there because we heard it was quite expensive). She rented us a boat for slightly under what Minn's Water Sports charges, and it was nice not to have to walk into town to get the boat, since she has the boats tied up in the cove right in front of the guest house. She waived our deposit since we are Canadian and she doesn't take credit card, so we would have had to send a money order. We paid by traveller's checks at the end of our stay.
There are two banks in Georgetown - RBC and Scotia, which are both Canadian based banks, which was nice for us! We could get cash out at the ATM without paying fees.
Restaurants in Georgetown are very reasonable for lunch, but on the expensive side for supper. The cheapest entree we could find for supper was $17(US/Bahamian), and most are around $30.
So we ended up eating out for lunches and cooking suppers in our kitchenette - Nancy lent us her car to go to the grocery store, but if the bridge wasn't out we could have walked. Our favorite restaurants were the Two Turtles Inn, right across from the straw market, and Sam's Place, down past the bridge on the waterfront in town. Sam's Place has excellent specials - one day we had the red snapper and another we had barbecued chicken, and both meals were excellent, for decent prices ($11/$8).
As far as activities go, besides renting the boat (which I would highly recommend - it's well worth it to go explore the cays and make a stop at Stocking Island to eat at the Chat n' Chill - more on that later), we also rented a canoe from Starfish, and took the ferry across to Stocking Island from Club Peace and Plenty to Hamburger Beach. On Sunday we took the water taxi from the docks by Bahama Houseboats (on the other side of the government docks) to the Chat n' Chill on Stocking Island. They have a pig roast on Sundays, but what we didn't realize is that it's an all-day thing - not just supper - and the pig roast usually runs out by mid-afternoon! Oh well, we enjoyed the beach there, had some good conch fritters from the conch stand, and had fish burgers from the Chat n' Chill for supper, which are excellent. Mmmmm, fish burgers... We ate at the Chat n' Chill three days in a row during our stay - the day we went kayaking, the day we went boating, and the pig roast day. Their menu is limited but their food is excellent, and the people are so friendly. The conch burgers are good too. It's not much more than a beach shack, but it's the place to go here, and we could definitely tell why. On Sundays especially the water taxis go back and forth all day (there's no schedule) and everybody and their dog is at the beach there. The water taxi was $8 return, I think? Not more than that anyways.
The ferry that runs from Club Peace and Plenty to Hamburger Beach is about the same cost, and there is a conch/hamburger stand there that is run by a lady named Dora, and though we never actually ate there, it came highly recommended. If you visit this part of Stocking Island, be sure to walk the trail over to the ocean side of the island - it's beautiful, with the waves hitting the rocks, and the pinkish colored sand.
Anyways, I think that's about all I've got - all I can say is that my husband and I are already wanting to plan another trip, and we will definitely stay at Regatta Point.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank abbynicole27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Great Exuma hotels
0.3 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
1.3 mi away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#4 of 7 in Great Exuma
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
12.6 mi away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Great Exuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
1.5 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 2 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
12.5 mi away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regatta Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regatta Point

Property: Regatta Point
Address: Regatta Point George town | Kidd Cove, Great Exuma
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Great Exuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Regatta Point 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotel.de, HRS and Hotels.com so you can book your Regatta Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regatta Point Hotel Great Exuma
Regatta Point Great Exuma, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing