We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Awesome!!”
Review of Big D's Conch Spot

Big D's Conch Spot
Ranked #15 of 48 Restaurants in Great Exuma
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: To all our valuable customers big D's Conch Spot will be closed as of August 1st until the first week in October sorry for any inconvenience caused.
Northwestern Ohio
Level Contributor
277 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Really Awesome!!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were told by Justin on our travel through the Exumas to try a conch salad. We asked for one here and it was prepared in front of us, and VERY fresh and delicious!! SO GOOD!!! Also had a snapper dinner with fresh potato salad, peas and rice, and mac and cheese... awesome! And we were treated right away to meeting "Big D" and his cute daughters. Dana was our young waitress and his other very young girl, she was quite the poser for a photo.... we loved meeting them! Much fun time and a really cute local place, and fantastic food. I would definitely recommend this to anyone coming in to get a real local feel, lovely spot, and great food!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank nitroliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    75
    26
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“yum! Two thumbs up from the entire family!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stopped at Big D's on our way back from Sand Dollar Beach. The food was amazing! We had grouper fingers, grilled shrimp ( my favorite) and conch. It's was our least expensive and best meal on the island. My only regret is that we didn't make it back for a second visit before leaving.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Spot”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

If you like conch and aren't super concerned with not having white linens on your table, Big D's is the spot! Super good fresh food and it is on the beach. Definitely check it out!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank michael n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Leave the resort and get a local experience and tasty local food”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stopped by Big D's for dinner one night and ended up there again agree nights later. Food is yummy and you get a locals experience. View is terrific- like most places in exuma. Friendly service. Loved the experience of sitting at the bar and watching family feud with the locals. Had the blochen conch (blackened conch). My hubby loved this. Best thing tho- any of the off da grill food- fish is super fresh and comes steaming in wrapped foil juicy with the best veggies (sweet potatoes, sweet onions, white potatoes and bell peppers). Yummy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cari37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best local conche salad with the ocean view”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had the conche salad fresh made in front of us, conche soup was a bit spicy for our taste but still delish, and conche fritters not oily and lots of conche in it, worth the trip and the cost.
The cost is $10 a conche salad reassonable and it tasts amazing. The booze is a bit pricey if you go to have a wine party you will pay $8 a glass of wine, we had each a beer ag $4 each....you can get some souvenirs there as well, i bought my huby a nice necklace there for $7 , they had a small corner with nick nacks...reasonable prices again like market...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank augers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big D's Conch Spot also viewed

 

Been to Big D's Conch Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing